We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience at a fair price.”
Review of El Gaucho

El Gaucho
Ranked #98 of 4,863 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets
Description: Named as "the definitive steakhouse in the country," El Gaucho Portland's award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef(R) Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef(R) brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly. El Gaucho is the Northwest's steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We were shown to our table where our waiter welcomed us warmly. Austin was terrific and made us feel like old time customers. We splurged and had chateaubriand for two and cherries jubilee which was flamed tableside. We always had full water glasses and the bar was nicely equipped. It was a wonderful dinner that needs to be experienced by all.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank adp-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018

have a hard time getting past the surcharge on menus. if it were not for the history of the orginal El Gaucho in Seattle might bot go as often Food is good to excellent depending on the trip prices are expensive and the surcharge adds even more. Still go occasionally just not as much

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank compuslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I am not sure why this place has such a good reputation I would have to completely disagree

Very efficient at booking and getting you seated once you arrive but then it all goes downhill ordered the crabcakes no idea what they were some sort of green something or other inside of them dry crispy just terrible

My spinach salad was OK actually better than OK but when the meals arrived at shop one bite of my steak skewer And it was so salty I had to actually spit it out my wife’s steak which was supposed to have crab on it came completely drenched in some sort of white béarnaise sauce or something you couldn’t even see the steak it just looks awful she tried to get as much up off of it as she could but once it’s ruined it’s ruined

My other friend also grabbed a skewer and I asked him if it was just salty and he said yes it’s just terrible so we sent them back and then I noticed our last guest is just looking at what was supposed to be the scallops they were some sort of breadcrumbs covered goo
Very unappetizing and went uneaten

I very rarely if ever send food back but to send three things back out at four at what is an outrageously priced restaurant is pretty bad the prices are just disgusting I don’t know what else to say I’m certainly not cheap and I eat and very expensive restaurants all over but $58 for a salmon and $135 for a châteaubriand is beyond the expensive side and I’m talking this is 2030% more than what you would pay in New York

I could go on and on but it was pretty bad my bill only ended up being $472 we did have 160 bottle of wine which probably should have cost more about 100 but like I said everything is completely overpriced here Including the 20% tip that they very nicely put on for you not that the staff didn’t deserve it they did their best but they need to go and have a talk with the guy in the kitchen he does make a good mud pie though I have to admit always try to end on a positive note but this place is definitely more than not recommended you to have to be crazy to spend that kind of money here

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank derekbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Food was ok, service - ok, the place is clean, toilets - clean. Price through the roof! Will never go there again.
One big prob. for me was mandatory 20% tip. Tipping has always been voluntary. When tipping becomes mandatory, it is a tax.
I am out, never again, because of high price and mandatory tip. BTW, my steak was undercooked. Service was slow. They can can keep their steak.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank OOCCAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Thank goodness for the luscious salad bar!
Not a big meat eater and it was a little salty for my taste but, my carnivore sons were in heaven!
4 adults, a 10 yr old and a baby... all we could eat (and the guys ate a lot) and the bill was $280 + a large tip for excellent service.
A little pricey but, the 3 guys loved it after walking the streets of Portland all day so, it was very much worth it if you have big eaters.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lela1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing