We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PDX institution”

Cassidy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassidy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #864 of 4,251 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW 14th
Transit: MAX stops at SW 10th and at SW 18th
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great PDX institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Oregon has annoying liquor laws, and a lot of places stop serving booze far, far earlier than the 2 a.m. cutoff.

Thank goodness for Cassidy's, which does a reasonable last call. And real food late at night -- not just fried bar stuff. Try the pork chops.

When we're in PDX for New Year's Eve, my family has a longstanding tradition of a post-midnight drink at Cassidy's.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlaneurHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Awesome Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Recently a large group of friends and family went to Cassidy's to celebrate a 40th birthday. I was surprised to see the restaurant basically empty at 6:00 on a Saturday night, which could be due to it's location, it's a few blocks from the busy part of downtown Portland. The food was outstanding, my smoked salmon risotto was cooked perfectly as was my husbands chicken marsala. Our waitress was very friendly, and did not have a problem with splitting the tickets, which was nice since we had fourteen people in our party. We stopped in the bar on our way out and the waitress was happy to take our picture, all in all a great place. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2luvtotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great dinner for a large party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We just celebrated a birthday with 16 people at Cassidy's before heading to the Crystal Ballroom for a show. The menu had a great selection plus a few specials that night, not on the menu. Everyone said they loved their dinners. The server was prompt, kept the drinks flowing, and she even rang up separate checks for all of us. It is not easy to find restaurants nearby the Crystal that could accommodate all of us, and Cassidy's was a great choice. We practically had the place to ourselves - which was perfect - since we tend to be a loud and energetic bunch. The bar looks vintage, and the decor seems a bit antique. Very cosy, not pretentious or trying hard to be hipster or chic like a lot of the local restaurants. After dinner, we hopped next door to Scooters - they had big cheap drinks and Jell-O shots! A great way to kick off the night!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drohecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Angel, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

and not too far away from the ART. A limited menu, which is good, makes choosing easier. I had a fabulous steak and my dining companion had the chicken. Both were delicious. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unprofessional/amateur staff, bland food, and complete with views of the local residents of the rehab...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Overpriced, unprofessional/amateur staff, bland food, and complete with views of the local residents of the rehab clinic across the street taking a smoke break. In a word, no.

Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cassidy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cassidy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing