We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and funky, food is ok...”
Review of Saucebox

Saucebox
Reserve with OpenTable
Saucebox is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #473 of 4,291 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SW Pine
Description: Established in 1995, Saucebox has maintained its reputation in the city as the place for the finest Pan-Asian and Pacific Island cuisine. The menu pulls from a wealth of bold and authentic flavors. Fruit infusions, elixirs and our notable "liquor laboratory" are also specialties of the house.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dark and funky, food is ok...”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went with my husband and some friends. Very dark, like hard to see your food dark. Seemed a cool, funky place, very busy. Heard good things about the place, so maybe I was expecting too much but wasn't that impressed with the food, thought it was ok... Ordered sushi and the waitress recommended pork meatballs as well, I didn't think they were great at all. Hubby was equally unimpressed with his chicken dish. Someone in our party ordered the ribs, which they said were good. Ordered a cocktail which was a spicy version of a dirty martini, so bad I couldn't finish it. Overall good vibe, ok food. Great place for happy hour but wouldn't pay full price again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    79
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Ribs, need I say more?”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We've only eaten in the bar, with loud but energetic music. I get the ribs everytime becuz they are melt in your mouth delish! Last time, hubby got some pork cheek hot pot and was a little frightened, but he loved it - but loved my ribs better and kept stealing them.

Helpful?
Thank Kristi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great location on broadway with a "wow" staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

excelant food prep and great scratch made drinks especially the Patron gimlets....other patrons are friendly and well healed...male host at the door very helpful and friendly

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgewilliam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & Great Music!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Make sure to have the Fried Brussel Sprouts in Broth. Amazing Food & Drinks!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank oregonblt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beware the thud of the bass!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Went for happy hour (cool menu...decent food) and had a so-so experience. Our waitress seemed in a rush to turn the table over, which was off-putting. But the real downer was the thud-thud-thud of electro bass, which made it hard to converse. We went at five o'clock and weren't expecting a club atmosphere. And this is weird, but the bathrooms were disconcerting: there was a gang-sink in the middle of two doorless bathrooms -- just like at my younger son's elementary school. Just odd.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halchorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saucebox also viewed

 

Been to Saucebox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing