We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make delicious homemade pita bread”

Karam Lebanese & Syrian Cuisine
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“They make delicious homemade pita bread”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We thought we'd try some Middle Eastern food for a change on one of our trips to Portland. This one was highly rated on Tripadvisor and was in walking distance of the hotel (Monaco). And it was as good as everyone says it was. Yummy food, nice atmosphere and good service. The homemade pita bread really stood out. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service!”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I ate at Karam Lebanese Cuisine on a visit to Portland and thought it was fantastic. We enjoy Lebanese food and found this to be one of the better examples that we have tried. The food seemed very authentic and was prepared by the family that owns the restaurant. The Owners, Wadie and Majdolin were so warm and friendly and took time to talk about their restaurant, how they prepare the food and why it is important for them to maintain that authenticity. We wish they would open one in Long Beach.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere, and service!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A co-worker and I were in Portland for business and after tracking down two other Middle Eastern restaurants that were closed, we stumbled upon Karam Lebanese Cuisine in downtown Portland. Lucky for us!

We stopped for lunch and the place was nearly packed, but we didn't have to wait for a table. The customer service was superb, as were the falafels, fresh warm pita bread made from scratch, and tawouk with perfectly seasoned hummus. The average price for a lunch entree was $7 - $9, but it was well worth every penny. I found myself lingering for some time over lunch to enjoy conversation with my colleague and the warm, artful decor.

A word of warning...we spent quite a bit of time traversing adjacent one way roads trying to find street parking or space in a lot. We finally gave up, mostly because parking in the lots for 1-2 hours ran around $8-$10 and we couldn't find street parking. I'd recommend heading into one of the parking towers nearby. We found a spot easily, it only cost $3 to park for a couple of hours, and we enjoyed the block and a half walk, chatting and window shopping.

Please note that their hours of operation are Monday through Saturday from 11 am to 9 pm, closed Sunday.

Kudos to the chef and staff for making this one of the best restaurants in Portland!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoSmallPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favorite Lebanese”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Been going here regularly for years. It can get a little crowded at times but I've never had to wait more that 5 or 10 minutes tops. I've tried most of the dishes on the menu and never been disappointed. One thing you'd never guess is that they have the best hand-cut french fries. I get them almost every time we go. Drinks are average - it is not known for imaginative cocktails so stick with beer, wine or simple classic mixed drinks. Service is great. The food outstanding. Atmosphere is nice too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home cooked, fresh, tasty, and authentic...Look no further!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you want to enjoy great Lebanese food while visiting the fabulous city of Portland, look no further! This place is a must on any visit to Rose City. Located between SW 3rd and SW 4th on SW Stark is Karam (which means appropriately, Welcome!). The food is always fresh, tasty and authentic (growing up in a Lebanese home with great cooks, I have pretty high standard for my Lebanese food). We chose the chicken shwarma with rce and the lamb couscous dinners, with suffed grape leaves and baleelah (cooked chick pea dip, different from hummus) as appetizers. We also substituted our house salad for the best tabouleh around. Vegetarians will have many choices too, as will fish lovers. A wonderful husband and wife team own and operate this restaurant and aim to please every time. A full liquor bar, wonderful Lebanese and domestic wines and beer alongbwith fabulous homemade desserts make this a perfect place to enjoy any evening out in PDX...also open for breakfast and lunch too. Don't miss Karam Lebannese Restaurant...you'll be sorry you did.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vjo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karam Lebanese & Syrian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing