We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic, cozy cottage in a lush garden”
other travellers have booked this property
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Welcome!  The stairs to your door are on the left. The vintage kitchen is easy to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Welcome!  The stairs to your door are on the left.
The vintage kitchen is easy to use.
The dining room table, the heart of the home.
It is comfy, casual. Real and bright.
The Rosie Room bed is wider than a double.
The Rosie Room has it's own door and porch.
The Captain's Bed is wider and longer than a twin.  Kids and friends like to sleep head to toe.
The double shower bathroom has a heated pebble floor
The hot tub beneath the timber bamboo.
Gate of clay at the threshold to the terraces.
Sculptural surprizes will find you
Places to sit alone or together
The Ladder between Heaven and Earth made from a fallen fir tree.
meandering paths meander here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay P
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Idyllic, cozy cottage in a lush garden”
Reviewed August 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

How did I get so lucky as to choose this special property for a family vacation.
My Granddaughter chose Portland but somehow I found the perfect rental for our stay. Well, serendipity is one of my favorite words, We began and ended our days in this cottage that vibrates with warmth.. The cottage reflects the owner's eclectic personal taste and is a treat for the eye. There were four of us and we each seemed to find our own personal space. There are two bedrooms and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room. My granddaughter chose the bed in a window and found it just right for her. The kitchen is fully equipped and there was coffee, bread, fruit and much more in the refrigerator and cupboards.

We all agreed that we were in a special place and wanted to stay longer. My daughter-in-law said we had found some enchanted cottage. My only regret is that we were unable to meet the owners as they were out of town during our visit . I can only imagine how welcoming and unique they are to have created this refuge of tranquility.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Oh Thank You for your very kind words Jan! I too regret not having had the chance to meet you. I'm so happy that it all worked well for a fun and comfortable family reunion. Oh, when Jake got back he said you win the prize for lightest footprint ever! All the best, Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAndAwa...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Place in Portland”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If we could rate Farmhouse Cottage higher than 5/5, we would! It has a beautiful character and feel to the cottage, and the garden setting is superb. The beds were quirky, but comfortable, and exactly as described. Everything to make you feel at home has been supplied, including coffee and condiments.
The house is in a very quiet treed neighbourhood, with a small forest to walk in at the end of the road, and a gourmet supermarket to shop in just a few streets away.
But it is the owners that really made our visit memorable. We were visiting Oregon from Australia to view the total solar eclipse, and were unsure exactly where to best view it from. Sally and Jake very kindly invited us to join their family and friends at Schreiner's Iris Gardens, near Salem. They were so hospitable and inclusive of us, and made an amazing event even more amazing and enjoyable. Thank you so much from all of our family for giving us such happy memories of our visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Oh thank you Ulrike for your kind words, we're so glad to have had that special time with you all. Happy trails as your adventures continue! S & J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRank18
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage Hideaway”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family enjoyed 4 nights at this lovely cottage, it is under the main house but feels completely private and surrounded by a nice garden and abundant trees. It was pretty ideal to be in a quiet neighborhood but also very short drive to downtown (about 10 minutes) and other areas of Portland, we loved coming back to our retreat after a day in the city. Our hosts were very nice and helpful, and we especially liked our visits with Joe the dog! Hope to return someday soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate6...
1 review
“Luv it”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Highly recommend, very clean and neat. A great haven to relax after touring Portland, would not hesitate to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Z
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in beatuiful setting”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a beautiful place to stay for my wife and I and out two children. The courtesy of a hotel (towels, supplies, etc) and the friendliness of a home, we felt like friends not renters.
Ed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: I was jetlagged, and would have liked to have had curtains in the main room.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks Tom for your kind words. We're so glad you chose to stay here.
All the best,
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseung
Louisville, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, comfort and everything we needed”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have never stayed in a rental that was so welcoming and well-furnished. The setting includes a beautiful garden, a friendly dog (and homeowners), a great neighborhood with fun nearby walking trails. The house itself has plenty of room, cozy furnishing and made for a great week in Portland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Even though it was vacation, the kitchen was fun to cook in. The overall setting of the whole property made it special.
Liked least: Best for sleeping two
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Oh Thank You T & B for these kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you and I hope we can again!
Warm regards
S & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were amazed by this immaculate, charming 5 room cottage.”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was stocked with novels, art books, fresh fruit, coffee beans... the list goes on and on. You feel the love that went into the creation of this magical setting. The first thing I did each morning was part the curtains next to my bed to watch a robin tend to its nest. Then I strolled through the tiered garden sipping delicious coffee admiring the "stairway to heaven," romantic sculptures, and blooming flowers. I constantly made new discoveries and felt spiritually transformed. Moreover, if your entire family can't come back with you, single bedrooms are available for rent. Thank you Sally and Ray for sharing your very special home!
See ya next time,
Pearl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: dominating mood of peace and harmony
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing