We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster cool, but you'll pay for it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hipster cool, but you'll pay for it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The coffee shop next door means the place is full of free wifi junkie hipsters trying to get access while clogging up the lobby lounges. they need to improve this!
Plus the hotel basically will try to gauge for every additional thing, so come prepared with an open wallet. very expensive for the space you get, but the old Victoria bath was nice and on the hold enjoyed our stay.
Good location in the pearl district and the Deli a few doors down was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biptutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    166
    68
    32
    28
See reviews for
47
175
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ace when visiting my brother in Portland. There's nothing worse than feeling like you've thrown your money out the window. Portland has a ton of lovely and affordable accommodations but we chose the Ace, one of the more expensive hotels in the area, knowing its reputation here in New York. We were quite disappointed from the moment we walked in when the concierge could hardly be troubled to welcome us to the hotel and get us checked in. The rooms are quite basic and even consider a toilet to be an added amenity worth charging for. This was not what we paid for.

The only reason I'm keeping my rating at "average" is because the common spaces at the hotel are quite welcoming and the smell of Stumptown coffee greets you at the door. The hotel is also well-located, right near Powell's books. We also discovered their continental breakfast on our last day which would have really lightened up our stay had we tried this sooner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perstef
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I am 42, I would never describe myself as too cool for school although I do feel I am somewhat fashion forward. I've read that people find this spot too cool for them, but I did not feel this way at all. We went for the "Stick it to the Man" nov-dec special which gets you a discount on your room and 10% off at a large list of shops in Portland. We were greeted by a friendly staff, check-in took less than 10 minutes and off we went to our third floor street side room that had two beds and tons of light. It was more than adequate for two gals in town for some shopping and food.

Location - right next to the Pearl, 11 blocks from NW 23rd (shopping and food), a short walk to downtown, and 2 blocks from some of the most insane street food vendors you will ever see in the United States!! We could see Powell's bookstore from our window. And there is a movie theatre around the corner. Yeah, pretty much all you would want. Oh, and right there, connected to the hotel are Stumptown coffee and Clyde Commons (restaurant bar).

I feel this Ace Hotel far exceeds its lesser version in Seattle. I will stay here again when I come back in a couple of months.

Room Tip: The noise up from the street side is not anything to worry about, but if you're worried they pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Ace Hotel Portland is in a great location, within walking distance of lots of restaurants and sites. It wasn't very fancy, but was clean and comfotable, and very cool. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but my room and a private bathroom (some rooms do not). The sink in the bedroom is a little odd, but I didn't mind. I found all the employees to be welcoming and friendly. Go to Clyde Common for a drink, and get good coffee right downstairs at Stumptown.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private bathroom if that is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ace on the first night of our honeymoon and loved it. Super fun environment. Love the photo booth in the lobby. We stayed here in July 2010, not November, btw.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akemmisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonora
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Yes, the Ace could work on some being less cool and more hospitable.... this is the hospitality business. I loved my shared-bath room and slept well. The whole experience was reminiscent of European travels in the 70's, except that a shared-bath room was cheap then, not cool. I look forward to staying here again when i am in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresitalamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Cool hotel. Great setting but you better be OK with noise inside and out. Sadly most employees too cool to care about taking care of you. No, we don't deliver coffee (even though there's a card from Stumptown in the room that says we do) and Oh yeah, I SAID I'd call you a cab but didn't. Asked for Fed Ex box to be delivered to my room and was then told they gave it to someone else. Rude is not cool. Basic training and courtesy would've been nice for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WAHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#11 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing