We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip Hotel With Good Prices, Great Location, and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kreskin2207
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel With Good Prices, Great Location, and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here recently during the week and basically had the place to myself. We were on a floor with, I think two-three other rooms, which made the shared bathroom situation a non-issue. The shared bathroom, by the way, is huge. The bathroom is as large as the hotel room! We got a super rate for a room that had three beds, I want to say it was just a bit over $100. To sleep three people in separate beds in the center of a major city with great restaurants and bars steps away for this price is s-t-e-a-l. The staff was also super nice every time we interacted with them - even at 5Am the morning of our checkout. This place will definitely be my go-to when I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    170
    68
    33
    28
See reviews for
47
177
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel has a cool vibe. No doubt about that. And the location is ideal. But it's far from cheap (we paid $165/night for a very basic room), not quiet (garbage/recycling trucks under the single-pane window every morning at 6:30), and has a weirdly scolding tone for a place in this price range. For example, in addition to the usual reminders about re-using towels to save water and energy, there's a plaque in the elevator that says, "If you'd taken the stairs, you'd be there already." Maybe, but for $165 a night, maybe a guilt-free elevator isn't such a luxury? In addition to the street noise, which is intense, the door to the bathroom is a hung sliding door, which offers no noise privacy, and the sink is in the middle of the room. The TV is very small and mounted on the wall in such a way that you really couldn't watch it from the bed. To me, this feels like a budget hotel at double the budget price. If the room were under $100, I'd say, "Fair enough." But for these prices, I'd expect double-glazed windows (which would save a lot more energy than guilt-tripping guests into re-using towels), and a bathroom door that offered some privacy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front, due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BilgewaterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Ace has taken an old "flop house" in the Pearl District and converted it in to an affordable, up to date, minimal boutique hotel. The design concept respects the history and character of the old building while adding modern amenities. There is a restaurant on the ground floor with good food and group seating. You will enjoy this hotel is you are young, or young at heart. You will not enjoy this hotel is you are like the woman I saw with lots of jewelry and 6 suitcases trying to get herself up the elevator alone.

Room Tip: This hotel will not be for you if you want comfort rather than hip-ness, lots of flower arrangements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watershadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The room was small, the bed felt like a futon, my laptop had a bigger screen than the TV, and the lobby appeared completely rundown especially with all the riff raff the coffee shop brought into the lobby. The front desk was extremely slow and inefficient, the only good thing about this hotel is the general proximity to everything. For the same amount of money you could stay at the Kimpton's place which I certainly will on my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdogg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My first trip to Portland would not have been complete without a visit to The Ace Hotel. I read all the reviews and had some friends share their experiences with me, it was all I expected and more! I had a room with a private bathroom and beautiful tub on the front side of the hotel. Noise was not an issue for me but I can see how some people who are more sensitive to noise might be bothered. The room was clean, cute and very comfortable as was the lobby and common areas. Overall a fantastic experience, I cant wait for my next visit. I recommend The Ace Hotel to adventurous traveler, you will love it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaliWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
305shorty
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hotel is definitely not your typical hotel, which is what my boyfriend and I were looking for. But at the same time it is over priced for the tiny rooms and bathrooms...or should I even call them bathrooms? The shower was in the middle of the room and the actual toilet in a separate "water closet" type thing. I wasn't a big fan of that because I would like some privacy when I am using the toilet and occasionally also when I'm in the shower!! I loved that there was a coffee shop and a lounge/bar right next door but I was slightly disappointed by the Ace overall. I think the cleanliness is what bothered me the most.... There were definitely some "questionable" stains on the large green pillow that kind of acted as a headboard. We weren't too big of fans of that and removed the oversized pillow immediately!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodriguez_305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Be warned...this is not a normal hotel! It's a statement of 25-30 something hipness and although I had a fine stay at the Ace Hotel, if you expect a standard hotel experience, you'll be extremely disappointed.
The rooms are designed to be downward-chic styled to appeal to the young crowd. My room had a spartan bed in the center of the room surrounded by a sink and the shower. The toilet was near the entrance. The walls were painted gray with a poetic saying painted in black script across the wall above a long spartan board serving as a table. I didn't mind it at all but was desperate for a small fridge and coffee machine. Too pedestrian and uncool, I guess.
The old building has been renovated to be clean, but isn't soundproof and groans and creaks are heard at any time, day or night. Downstairs, the lobby has a huge central table surrounded by a sectional couch occupied for most of the day by hip young people with their Macbooks and dour looks on their faces. The great Stumptown coffee is served through a portal to the shop next door.
I've been once before and the service was cool and indifferent. This time, service was pleasant and deficiencies (non-working shower, etc.) were attended to quickly.
Parking is at an outdoor lot about 1/2 block from the Hotel. It's safe and convenient although I wasn't sure the first time I stayed.
The hotel is right adjacent to The Pearl district and about 1/2 block from Powell Books, a spectacular destination.
In summary, the hotel is true quirky Portland. If you want a regular stay, try elsewhere, but if you're young and hip, this is the place. Oh, it's not particularly cheap for being spartan.

Room Tip: Best to stay facing the back of the hotel away from the noise of the street. Also beware that some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_ex29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing