We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location and comfotable apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Bedroom
View from outside on the path
View from patio
Back of house in Spring.
Patio
The path
Iris in Spring
Spring rhoadies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue B
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and comfotable apartment”
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was in a great location, ten minutes walk away from great local cafes (amazing bakery) and restaurants. There was a cosy sitting room, bedroom and bathroom, with a small kitchen to make breakfast. The outdoor sitting area looked on to great gardens. It was a lovely peaceful spot (steep walk up a hill to reach). We loved the $5 day bus tram pass that took us into the city centre and around- so much better than driving. The owner was super friendly with great ideas for where to eat. We loved Verde Cocina. There was a good shower and it was a lovely place to stay outside the city centre. It felt safe walking around at night (the city centre less so). We'd strongly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdana130
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet retreat”
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have just completed our one-month stay in the apartment owned by Carol and Arnie. We have had a wonderful time again in Portland after a five-year absence. The apartment check-in was smooth, directions are clear. We appreciated the detailed check-in instructions sent to us via e-mail before we arrived. The apartment is uphill from and a short drive down to the bus stops for transportation downtown and other areas around Portland. There is a wonderful view of the valley to the south of Portland from their front porch. There are benches and chairs from which to enjoy that view and the view of their lovely, spacious garden. Flowers in bloom every where you look. Carol and Arnie made us feel at home, and we so enjoyed their hospitality. They gave us suggestions of places to eat and places to visit, both in Portland and short day trips away by auto. The apartment is comfortable, and the WIFI great. There is a very nice walk-in shower in the bathroom. For those wanting to do serious cooking, the kitchen is small, but workable. The walkway from the driveway to the apartment would be challenging for anyone with a cane or a wheelchair, and as noted in the advertisement the apartment is not for pets or children. For one or two adults who want a quiet time away and yet close to the sights and sounds of the city, this is the place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janisv18
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, delightful owners and great small apartment.”
Reviewed June 24, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The location of this apartment was fantastic! It was so easy to get to everything we wanted to see and do. The downtown area was about ten minutes away. The ocean was less than 2 hours and the mountains about 1.5 hours. Definitely a perfect place to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilliska
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
“Our stay in Lovely Hillsdale Apartment”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights after our road trip up the coast. This was the best most relaxing place we could have stayed in Portland. We loved the quietness, beautiful gardens and the apartment had everything we needed. Thank you again Carol for the use of your wonderful apartment. Can’t wait to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Portland”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This place was amazing! Very comfortable and they really though of everything! Beautiful view and very private.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domoster
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment close to everything”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the apartment for the eclipse and was there for 2 weeks. The apartment is part of the main house but feels very secluded. The house is situated in a leafy part of Portland on a hill and there are some nice views from the garden. A short but bracing walk down the hill takes you to small shopping area, which has an excellent Co-op shop, a very good bakery/café, eateries and a pub. There is even a library. From the shopping area there are regular buses into Portland but you can walk it in under an hour.
The apartment has no A/C but being up a hill never seemed to get too warm, there always seemed to be a cooling breeze. The kitchen is small but has all you need if you want to eat in, even things like tea bags and cling film.
I really enjoyed my stay there and made all the nicer by Carol and Arnie who live in the big house and are excellent hosts.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
We really enjoyed getting to know you and following your eclipse journey. Thanks for sharing info for future guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is quiet and secluded. Easy to get into Portland by bus, or drive, with parking at the apartment. The facilities are all one wants, clean and modern. There is a great Co-op in walking distance, although a 2 minute drive saves the walk back up hill, where we bought fresh vegetables and supplies. A really lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing