We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

LaQuintas are usually where I end up staying just because I know they accept pets. I'm glad I decided to branch out on my weekend getaway to Portland. The front desk was really great and the room was very clean.Good bed and charming little kitchen. I thought the pet hospitality was wonderful-dog cookies, dog bed, dog magazine. Wow! Oh and free wine(for me not the dog). Well not really free since you do have to pay an extra $20 to use their parking garage, I guess at least I didn't have to deal with the hassle or worry of leaving it on the street. I really enjoyed my 1 night stay I wish it was longer. You may want to consider ear plugs however, the walls are thin and no good if your neighbor is loud.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Mark Spencer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

This place is located right in the Pearl District so it puts your right in the action. The room was clean and comfortable but truly the decor is very dated. It is what keeps Portland WEIRD!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGinParadise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was my second stay in the historic hotel. The rooms are nice, beds comfortable, everything clean. The front staff is exceptionally cordial and helpful. They gave me great restaurant recommendations, took care of my outgoing mail, and arranged for my transport. The latte/chai tea/hot cocoa machine in the lobby is available around the clock, and produces some pretty good drinks. I enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. Fairly standard fare: yogurt, danishes, bagels 'n cream cheese, toast 'n jam, cold cereal, milk, orange juice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our third visit to the hotel. We come for a four day stay once a year and do some shopping in Portland.
We like the Mark Spencer because they have larger rooms available that are set up like small apartments. They have a seperate living-room, kitchen and bedroom. A breakfast is included as well as appies and wine in the afternoon.
The staff have always been so helpful with any or our questions and concerns, and we recognize one or two of them each year we're there.
I've recommended the Mark Spencer to all of our friends and there is nowhere else that we'd consider staying.
We'll be back next year, thank you guys!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I spent the night at the Mark Spencer Hotel in Portland last Friday night and it was an enjoyable stay. When I'd booked the room a few weeks earlier I'd requested a quiet room on the highest floor possible and upon check-in the front desk staff, without having to be prompted, gave us a room on the top floor at the end of the hallway which was...perfect!

The room itself was comfortable and retro-hip with a full kitchen that had a push-button stove-top that looked to be straight out of 1962. The bed was comfortable, the heat/AC quiet and efficient, and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the full-size closet. The shower had a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser which reduces the environmental impact nicely.

With an efficient and pleasant staff and clean quiet accomodations under its roof and all of Portland at its doorstep, I'd recommend the Mark Spencer hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eighty8da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place is cool.Located within walking distance to everything.
Quiet,great beds.The best thing is you can negotiate your room rate..
Pfftt where else can you do that.?
Staff was great...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a delightful surprise! My girlfriend and I checked in at the hotel only to find no record of a reservation change that I had made. But...no problem! We were given an upgraded room, the only one available, and it was very comfortable. The service remained at that level for our stay. Everyone did more than expected to make us feel welcome and to meet our needs. We enjoyed the tea and cookies, wine, and the "more than continental" breakfast as well. But what made the Spencer our hotel in Portland for future visits? The location...Kenny and Zuke's delicatessen is across the street on the corner (see review), the Powell's bookstore around the corner, and the River Walk a long but very doable walk "just down the block". Thanks to the Spencer staff we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,231 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#19 of 144 in Portland
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $202 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing