We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always relaxing and comfortable”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Another visit to the Mark Spencer and another very relaxing, comfortable stay. They've just completed more up-grades to the entrance; the service remains great as always.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_visitr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
There are newer reviews for Mark Spencer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted to spend a couple of nights in Portland near the Pearl district so we could explore a part of the city we'd heard about but never visited.

The hotel is just across the street from the district and a block or so from Powell's Book Store so it is ideally located.

The rooms are large and have kitchenettes. They are a bit dated but kept quite clean and besides you want a bit of the character of the neighborhood. The are NOT well sound proofed however so you have to hope your neighbors are quiet. W could almost make out the conversations next door and the people were not talking loudly.

The rates are great for the neighborhood and the hotel fits right in in terms of character. Well worth a visit and our probable hotel of choice the next time we go to Portland.

Room Tip: The hotel is built in a "u" so request a room that has a view other than other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here two nights recently and absolutely loved it.

Unless you are the type of person who actually makes regular use of the 5* type services that expensive hotels offer (for a price!), you will most likely find this your ideal sort of hotel.

Firstly the rates are such good value $99 a night in a huge king/queen room, with separate dressing room, and additional kitchenette area. Bed was very comfortable, and the room very quiet - no issues with noise from neighbouring rooms. It was also spotlessly clean, as were all the hotel communal areas.
The hotel is really centrally located right on the edge of the much-vaunted "Pearl district", yet it's also quite a quiet location so there is little noise from the street at night.

Check in and out was a breeze, and as others have mentioned, the staff are extremely service oriented & very happy to help you out. They do a great job.

Things that we really loved were the small touches - free tea & coffee in the lobby pretty much 24/7, and it's decent stuff too! Fresh cookies and biscuits daily from 4-5pm (again, nice ones!). Wine and cheese tasting daily from 5-6pm... Again, nice stuff. There's also a reasonable fitness centre in the lower floor, and a laundry room.
Breakfast was good, buffet style continental with the usual choice of bagels and cereal etc.
The parking is good value too, and accessible from the hotel lobby.

I think it can be easy for a midrange hotel to let things slip - service, cleanliness, food etc -, and your experience quickly becomes a very average one that the cheaper price no longer makes up for, however I have to say that Mark Spencer hotel does not have this problem and indeed has got it SPOT ON in every regard here.

Superb value, but also a superb place to stay.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The staff at the front check in/our are some of the nicest, friendliest and gracious I have encountered. They are so willing to help out any way they can.

The hotel is old and needs lots of work. We stayed in one of the one bedroom suites. It was a large one bedroom with a kitchen. The king sized bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. The bathroom was clean, but it has the type of sink that comes out of the wall with no counter space. The tub is small and fixtures are old, but they work well enough. It has a hair dryer and shampoo/conditioner/bodywash containers attached to the tub wall.

They have a basic continental breakfast but a wonderful coffee machine that makes coffee, lattes, cappuccinos etc... freshly ground also. Red and white wine at the evening wine reception.

It really is one of the most inexpensive downtown locations, so it's a good trade off if you just want a place to stay while you are exploring downtown. We were able to walk to almost every district from this hotel, including tons of great shops and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank NMacKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Mark Spencer is a rare hotel that conveys a distinct and positive sense of place. This starts with it's optimal urban location in the Pearl district, in easy walking distance to various neat attractions. I've been a guest multiple times this past month, as I passed through Portland for business. Every evening, they host a wine tasting reception for guests. You can consider this a happy hour or apertif moment. It is a remarkable touch because it is warm and welcoming; a chance to relax and talk to other guests, as well as the friendly staff of the hotel. There are other small amenities - neat details - that paint a clear picture of a hotel operation that is thoroughly thought out and well executed. I like what they are cultivating. There is a nice sense of place here. I wouldn't call it homey, but instead it is a place that leaves you feeling good about your time in Portland. The Mark Spencer is not an orthodox luxury hotel. It is not ostentatious, overflowing with of a bunch of oversized soft surfaces. It is not resort like. Instead, it is a vintage hotel, specifically updated in moderation, to accomodate the active contemporary guest..I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The junior suites are awesome, totally worth the small extra layout, if available.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agsmith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I got a surprise when I walked into the room and found a separate bedroom and a kitchenette. It was nice to have the bathroom away from the bedroom too. Since I was sharing with a tour buddy and not someone I knew it was great to have the separate sitting room so I could skype home while she slept. Loved the free Wi Fi in my room. There was a happy hour with knibblies and wine and juice. No restaurant but Jakes very classy crab house was just around the corner.
Breakfast was nice. I don't usually do a big breakfast but what I saw looked good. Nice cosy lounge next to the foyer with newspapers etc and a great coffee machine. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a window that opens. They handled our group well. Check in and check out was very smooth. Desk staff were helpful. I complained that I couldn't get the clock in my room to work only after I left because I couldn't be bothered having someone come up to fix it. I got a lovely email from the assistant manager apologising so I am sure that won't be a problem next time.
Fabulous location near a bus stop. Within walking distance of nice restaurants and the fabric and button shop our group visited. Our bus could stop right at the door to drop us off and pick us up.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValofBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Mark Spencer is convenienty located to whatever you may want to do in Portland. The service is great, the location good and like Avis, they really try harder. From the wine at Happy Hour to tea, coffee and cookies in the late afternoon -- even the "breakfast" is marginally accepatable. The staff was so nice and service oriented and the good far outweighs the ok. And the big ok is the rooms are just average to below average -- or as we say in my house -- just ok... Our room was butt up against a building next door on the second floor. There was little light in the room and we had to look up to see what the weather was. Although very comfortable, the room is like staying in a cell block -- which is what we dubbed our room. The beds are comfortable and the down comforter was much appreciated on cold Portland nights. The living room has a kichenette with a dumpy couch, a chair that leaned back into the wall and the bathroom was small and unimaginative. But everything else was so good that I hate to say bad things.

Bottom line: If you are looking for something that is value priced in a great location with a very accommodating staff and you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, The Mark Spencer is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,392 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,232 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $205 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing