We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH~”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reedsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We were very excited to go to LOON LAKE and see what it had to offer and to stay and make plans for future events. Destination Adventure!! So here was our "LOON VACATION" experiance (Pretend Chevy Chase is here).It is 7 miles up the road off the highway which was very winding it spots.We got to the camp site first which I understand now is the BLM one and it was nice! Nice beach, swimming area, picturesque. We were told the Lodge was further up the road so about another mile or so we got to the lodge signage. Looked ...ok but the lodge is on a cliff high above the lake. I noticed they have a sign up that states NO GAS..ok. but coming from the east as we did you are stuck if you didnt fill up at the Elkton gas station (who was not very friendly) There are no other gas stations unless you drive the 13+ miles to Reedsport.
The travel guide shows it to have a restaurant.. and there wasnt. We were told it is a deli now to which was closed. This was a Saturday..Mid day. The 'store' area was stuffy and warm inside.It was 90 degrees out.
We then were told there were motel rooms on the other side of the mobile home sitting by the lodge.There are 4 rooms that looked ok, high on the cliff above the lake,not sure if they have a view of the lake or not.To get to the "marina" and cabins etc we had to go further down the road,we get there and there is NO WHERE to park, to look around.The campsites were Hot/Dry and barren.No privacy and small. I realize Oregon has a 'drought' ,but even if it didnt these were NOT inviting. Across the street were the 'cabins' and yurts and RV Parking also to which have public showers and toilets. We went into the restroom and it was disgusting and not clean and stunk. I would not even stay at the cabins or yurts EVER. They are too close to @ other and no privacy.Trees etc..We spoke to 'Jim' who was one that works the marina and he was grumpy and not friendly, He stated he was the managers husband. We inquired about renting the houseboat as we saw 2 of them, He told us only one was for rent and the other one was out of commision as there is a legal battle over it.(nice) In the travel book it stated that the Houseboat rents out for $295 @ night Having been on houseboats before we knew what to expect, until we saw this one.... it is old... NO SHOWER... oh wait... there is a plastic hose nozzle set up on the back deck for all to see if you wanted to use it to rinse off, You would have to use the showers across the road if you stayed. Moor at night to a bouy in the lake not shore mooring and to the dock @ day to shower...hmmm..
The brochure stated a slide and microwave and coffeepot. NO SLIDE AND NO MICROWAVE coffeepot with no carafe. Spiders were on the chairs on the deck. I honestly would not pay $50 for this!! Bad Review!!

Room Tip: Lakehouse rental looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in our property. Loon Lake is a very beautiful lake and the location of the lodge and motel rooms provide a panoramic view of the water and forest from their position on the hillside. We make every effort to keep the travel guides and websites where we advertise up do date however some are only published annually. Our former houseboat did have a slide and we did have a restaurant in past years, so perhaps you were reading an older publication. Also since we close our property Oct 31 through March 31st, some services are limited after labor until the Oct closure date. Although the cabins are side by side, once inside you will discover that they are arranged to be private and are quite quiet. We take our guest services very seriously and I have reviewed your concerns with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

I have a few friends that live in Coos Bay, not far from this campsite, so when our friends suggested we (visiting from So Cal) go camping in Oregon, we were stoked! Lake activities while camping in the beautiful nature, that is Oregon? Heck yeah! We had a group of 10 rent a couple of campsites to fit our tents. The campgrounds were comfortable and had everything we needed. This lodge is cool because it’s close to the lake. At the lake, we enjoyed jet skiing, kayaking, and some of us went paddle boarding and kneeboarding. They have so many different kinds of rentals that you can find something fun to do no matter what your interest. We ended our afternoons with our usual volleyball tournaments at the sand court lakeside. I’m addicted to my phone, and appreciated that they had wifi. Friends had commented how easy it was to sign up online, and that’s great because I know a lot of these places have nice websites but don’t have the option to reserve online. Thanks Matt and Jenn for the invite to spend the weekend with you guys. I speak for all when I say Everyone in the group had a blast!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robpeterson423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Thank you for your favorable review. We appreciate hearing when our guest have a great camping experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My family and I camp quite frequently at different places sharing new experiencesm I have never paid 30 a night for a dirt campsite with absolutely terrible service and unfriendly people. My daughter was told to shut up because she ordered ice cream to fast. We were chastised for having more than 4 people in a site that is $30 per night. I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wrd97402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We apologize for any unfriendly service shown by any of our staff. Because of the water shortage in the area we are doing our best to conserve and strictly adhering to the occupancy rates as stated on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Here is a post I should have done a few months ago...
We love staying close to the lake. This was a perfect lodge to stay in as we were able to enjoy the serene surroundings and be close to a pretty lake where we were do so many things. We rented a pontoon boat one of the days and enjoyed going around the lake. I was surprised how large it was. My son in law is the athletic type so he joined another rented boat and went out water skiing, too difficult for my grandchildren. But they did like being out on the water and my husband and I enjoyed watching them from the dock with my daughter and son in law on jet skiis. We brought with us a few fishing poles and the kids were able to catch little perch. We stayed in one of their larger cabins and they did not disappoint. The cabin was surprisingly larger than expected and they had everything in the cabin to make it feel like “home.” After days spent outside and at the lake, it was a good feeling to come back to the cabin to relax and enjoy our evenings together as a family. When we were in our cabin, we could hardly hear anything else going on outside. The entire resort was peaceful and everyone respected each other. Terri and every resort staff we met were so helpful and wanted to ensure we had a comfortable stay. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Thank you for your review, We hope that you and your family come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just got back from our trip there. The staff was extremely rude! Renting boats and paddle boards seemed like a hassle to.the staff. They did not want to help people. Our campsite was not labeled so no one could find it. Half of our party left cause they could not find us and there was no service. You have to wear wrist bands the whole time. It was just a horrible trip over all. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank piersonracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We are sorry that your camping experience did not meet your expectations. We are asking our guests to wear wristbands because of the closure at the nearby BLM campsite due to their lack of potable water. It is necessary to conserve water and the wrist bands help us to identify when people are using our facilities even though they are not paying for services. We take our guest services seriously and your concerns were reviewed with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a big family camping trip... All tent campers. We stayed in Roadside Group Site (supposedly "highly desirable, great for families") but it is literally right on the highway (as is the other group site, but it's up the cliff vs. down). We had small children and we couldn't relax the entire time. Also much smaller than we were told, we had to be very creative to fit tents.

They are obviously in high competition with the BLM state park down the street as they made it clear (in the 30 minute introduction) that we ALL (infants included) had to wear wristbands and have secret codes for the bathrooms so to keep intruders out.

The beach area is ridiculous. Maybe 75 ft long, packed during the day. Thank goodness we had a boat and accessed the beach area on the BLM State campground across the lake. It's a mile before you enter the 'resort' and only $5 to drive in for the day-- do it!! Was the best money spent to salvage this trip.

It may be better of you own an RV, they were closer to the water and showers but still crammed into a gravel parking lot- not our thing. Don't be deceived. This picturesque paradise is a trailer park disguised by a nice Lodge area and a few nice Jet Skis you can rent off a tiny, old dock.

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our property. Because the BLM is closed during the week and conserving water when it is open, we have asked our guests to wear wrist bands so we can identify those who are using water (showers and laundry), although they are not our guests. When the BLM campground returns to full service, we will no longer ask our guests to wear wristbands. Although our beach is small, for our guests convenience, we do rent many types of watercraft for fun on the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean bathrooms and a bit of a funky atmosphere. We were in the back part of the rv camp right next to a cabin. Cool temps made for a quiet stay. Didn't realize it was 9 miles up a very windy road, but it was fine. Next time would request a spot nearer the lake with a little more "camping" atmosphere. The big riggers spent most of the time inside their rigs. Pretty lake.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank BendORJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reedsport hotels
25.5 km away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
26.2 km away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 5 in Reedsport
85 reviews
25.6 km away
Economy Inn Reedsport
Economy Inn Reedsport
#3 of 5 in Reedsport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Reedsport
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort

Address: 9011 Loon Lake Rd, Reedsport, OR 97467-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Reedsport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Reedsport
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take and "Escapation" where Escape meets Vacation at Loon Lake Lodge and RV Resort located just minutes from the coastal city of Reedsport, Oregon. Choose your vacation lodging from our cabins, motel, yurts, waterfront vacation home or a scenic camping site, with some located on the lake shore. Our RV sites offer full-hookups, satellite TV and Wi-fi, and sit on one mile of Loon Lake frontage The on-site Marina has many types of boat, including ski, pontoon and houseboat, and Sea Doo rentals. Loon Lake Lodge - Make Your Own Family Fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lake Lodge & Rv Hotel Reedsport
Loon Lake Lodge And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing