We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and lots to do”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reedsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort
Reviewed 18 July 2015

This isn't a luxury place but it is a fun place to stay. There is so much to do. Boating options, hiking, swimming, fishing, resort store for ice cream after dinner, I could go on. We rented a boat for 1/2 day one day, did the house boat another 1/2 day and finally jet ski's the last day. The equipment is a little used but its fun, worked like a charm as one would expect. We did reserve ahead of time so there wouldn't be an issue, would have done the ski boat again but it was reserved the other days we were there.

We knee boarded and water skied, the water quality seemed good. We went down to the state park at the other end of the lake and stay for a bit.

Note the road is windy and narrow to get up there, bigger rigs will want to go slow.

Don't come here because you expect luxury but do come here for a good family time with lots to do.

Room Tip: Close to the lake seemed better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank robisinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2015

We stayed here in the lower marina RV park for 4 days a week ago. What a pleasant surprise this was, not the fanciest but perfect family lake fun. My son in law had issues with his boat and one of the employees came and helped him diagnose it out of the goodness of his heart. Great service, great beach for the kids, great dock spaces, and sites big enough for a 38' double slide motor home. To top it off it was just 2 hours from home. There was no cell service here but the wifi was good enough to keep us intouch with those we needed to stay in touch with. What more can you ask for.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

The Lake is very nice with lots of lily pads everywhere . We took up our camper and canoe. The rv park is dirt with dried up sort of grass and small trees so there's no privacy. If they took care of the park it would be a lot nicer and gravel the roads so you don't get dirty with people going by with their cars and campers. You can have dogs there and everybody did!. Nice for kids and there's rentals there also to get out into the lake. The bathrooms and showers were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We had a group of six sites that camped for 5 days. This is the 4th year that we have done this. Let's just say Thank Goodness we had boats. 2 of the days we were there the beach was shut down for dredging and new sand. One other day we were without water for most the day. Jim one of the employees has a severe Barney Fife complex and went out of his way to make our stay miserable, while in the same day breaking huge safety rules himself. Several members of our group complained to the Manager and had the manager turn her back on them and walk away. All we were asking for was a slight discount since they obviously werent ready for prime season. We as a group will not be back. Too bad because this used to be a prime place.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank RsqDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We were very excited to go to LOON LAKE and see what it had to offer and to stay and make plans for future events. Destination Adventure!! So here was our "LOON VACATION" experiance (Pretend Chevy Chase is here).It is 7 miles up the road off the highway which was very winding it spots.We got to the camp site first which I understand now is the BLM one and it was nice! Nice beach, swimming area, picturesque. We were told the Lodge was further up the road so about another mile or so we got to the lodge signage. Looked ...ok but the lodge is on a cliff high above the lake. I noticed they have a sign up that states NO GAS..ok. but coming from the east as we did you are stuck if you didnt fill up at the Elkton gas station (who was not very friendly) There are no other gas stations unless you drive the 13+ miles to Reedsport.
The travel guide shows it to have a restaurant.. and there wasnt. We were told it is a deli now to which was closed. This was a Saturday..Mid day. The 'store' area was stuffy and warm inside.It was 90 degrees out.
We then were told there were motel rooms on the other side of the mobile home sitting by the lodge.There are 4 rooms that looked ok, high on the cliff above the lake,not sure if they have a view of the lake or not.To get to the "marina" and cabins etc we had to go further down the road,we get there and there is NO WHERE to park, to look around.The campsites were Hot/Dry and barren.No privacy and small. I realize Oregon has a 'drought' ,but even if it didnt these were NOT inviting. Across the street were the 'cabins' and yurts and RV Parking also to which have public showers and toilets. We went into the restroom and it was disgusting and not clean and stunk. I would not even stay at the cabins or yurts EVER. They are too close to @ other and no privacy.Trees etc..We spoke to 'Jim' who was one that works the marina and he was grumpy and not friendly, He stated he was the managers husband. We inquired about renting the houseboat as we saw 2 of them, He told us only one was for rent and the other one was out of commision as there is a legal battle over it.(nice) In the travel book it stated that the Houseboat rents out for $295 @ night Having been on houseboats before we knew what to expect, until we saw this one.... it is old... NO SHOWER... oh wait... there is a plastic hose nozzle set up on the back deck for all to see if you wanted to use it to rinse off, You would have to use the showers across the road if you stayed. Moor at night to a bouy in the lake not shore mooring and to the dock @ day to shower...hmmm..
The brochure stated a slide and microwave and coffeepot. NO SLIDE AND NO MICROWAVE coffeepot with no carafe. Spiders were on the chairs on the deck. I honestly would not pay $50 for this!! Bad Review!!

Room Tip: Lakehouse rental looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We are sorry that you were disappointed in our property. Loon Lake is a very beautiful lake and the location of the lodge and motel rooms provide a panoramic view of the water and forest from their position on the hillside. We make every effort to keep the travel guides and websites where we advertise up do date however some are only published annually. Our former houseboat did have a slide and we did have a restaurant in past years, so perhaps you were reading an older publication. Also since we close our property Oct 31 through March 31st, some services are limited after labor until the Oct closure date. Although the cabins are side by side, once inside you will discover that they are arranged to be private and are quite quiet. We take our guest services very seriously and I have reviewed your concerns with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I have a few friends that live in Coos Bay, not far from this campsite, so when our friends suggested we (visiting from So Cal) go camping in Oregon, we were stoked! Lake activities while camping in the beautiful nature, that is Oregon? Heck yeah! We had a group of 10 rent a couple of campsites to fit our tents. The campgrounds were comfortable and had everything we needed. This lodge is cool because it’s close to the lake. At the lake, we enjoyed jet skiing, kayaking, and some of us went paddle boarding and kneeboarding. They have so many different kinds of rentals that you can find something fun to do no matter what your interest. We ended our afternoons with our usual volleyball tournaments at the sand court lakeside. I’m addicted to my phone, and appreciated that they had wifi. Friends had commented how easy it was to sign up online, and that’s great because I know a lot of these places have nice websites but don’t have the option to reserve online. Thanks Matt and Jenn for the invite to spend the weekend with you guys. I speak for all when I say Everyone in the group had a blast!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robpeterson423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Thank you for your favorable review. We appreciate hearing when our guest have a great camping experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My family and I camp quite frequently at different places sharing new experiencesm I have never paid 30 a night for a dirt campsite with absolutely terrible service and unfriendly people. My daughter was told to shut up because she ordered ice cream to fast. We were chastised for having more than 4 people in a site that is $30 per night. I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wrd97402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We apologize for any unfriendly service shown by any of our staff. Because of the water shortage in the area we are doing our best to conserve and strictly adhering to the occupancy rates as stated on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reedsport hotels
25.5 km away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
26.2 km away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 5 in Reedsport
85 reviews
25.6 km away
Economy Inn Reedsport
Economy Inn Reedsport
#3 of 5 in Reedsport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Reedsport
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort

Address: 9011 Loon Lake Rd, Reedsport, OR 97467-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Reedsport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Reedsport
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take and "Escapation" where Escape meets Vacation at Loon Lake Lodge and RV Resort located just minutes from the coastal city of Reedsport, Oregon. Choose your vacation lodging from our cabins, motel, yurts, waterfront vacation home or a scenic camping site, with some located on the lake shore. Our RV sites offer full-hookups, satellite TV and Wi-fi, and sit on one mile of Loon Lake frontage The on-site Marina has many types of boat, including ski, pontoon and houseboat, and Sea Doo rentals. Loon Lake Lodge - Make Your Own Family Fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lake Lodge & Rv Hotel Reedsport
Loon Lake Lodge And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing