We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reedsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We reserved 3 nights at a campsite and left after the first day. I wish I had read more carefully the reviews on here before we went.

The campsite itself was okay, although due to fire danger no campfires were allowed. Not the resort's fault, but this should have been stated on their website so those with reservations could plan accordingly - fortunately, we brought a camp stove, but others who planned on cooking their food over the fire would have had a real problem since the resort is 9 miles off of the main road plus another 13 miles to Reedsport.

Other disappointments included the lack of access to the lake from the campsite that we were assigned - we ended up walking the quarter mile to the marina (good thing we didn't drive since there was almost no parking for those that didn't have spots down there.) Lots of noise in the campground even after the posted quiet hours. Outhouses were disgusting.

Pros: The staff were friendly and the store was well stocked. Store bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a spot down by the marina (if this is even possible - we were not given the choice.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariefm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy C, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. the fire conditions change sometimes by the hour, so most folks call to ask about the current restrictions. We are pleased that you found the staff to be friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

I get to go camping with friends and family here once a year and it is such a fun experience. My friends and I are always jumping off the docks and partaking in many different water sports on the lake! There is no phone service but taking a break here is worth it. Sure, its not the cleanest place ever but is any campsite spotless? I stay in tents on a large group site so I can't speak for any of the cabins but where we stay is great. We get to go boating and the beach is SUPER close from any cabin or site. There is docks you can rent, jet ski rentals, a shallow beach for small kids, a snack shack and volleyball court (on the sand)! I spent a week here and I was never bored. It's a great place for everyone to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy C, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are SO pleased that you had such a fun time at our Resort. We hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I live up here and this is the worst the park has ever looked. You should have told the guests to bring there own lawnmowers this weekend. Pretty sad when they have to wade through 2 feet of grass in the campsite to get to the fire pits.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 22Brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy C, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

With all of the rain this year, we have had some challenges at the
Resort. However, we are working diligently to catch up with tasks that would normally be completed by now. Stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Deer come right up to the lodge. The lake is beautiful. You can rent boats. We stayed in the motel. We had a view of the lake from our deck. The food we had at the lodge was very good. Love the fact there is RV camping as well as tent camping.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Hello Beverly,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at beautiful Loon Lake. Thank you for taking the time to rate us 5 stars.

We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Loon Lake is just beautiful. Our camp site was just steps away from the water. We woke up hearing the loons first thing in the morning. The campground itself was well maintained, although the bathrooms and showers were filthy. We were only there a night so we didn't get a chance to rent paddle boats or play on the lake, but I wouldn't mind going back for it.

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful lake and the campground. We will investigate why the bathrooms were not maintained at our cleanliness standards. We do look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a cozy cabin in the RV park celebrating our 30th anniversary just after the Labor Day weekend because of all the amenities they offered. The first day it rained so we couldn't play on the lake. Our last full day there the weather was beautiful but because they weren't busy enough they closed the lodge and marina store before 2pm (posted hours til 5pm)and all opportunity to rent anything to go out on the lake without warning. We asked to reserve paddle boards ahead and were told they were first come first serve. Drove a long way to get there. Very disappointed they didn't feel we deserved the same level of service as they gave other campers just a few days before. Won't be going back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hello Wendy, We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. As the season slows staff does take some short breaks at the store and marina when there aren't customers, however, we do remain open for posted hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The cabin had everything you could want just didn't like the grounds or the beach area. It was small and yucky. We just drove to the BLM part of Loon Lake and that beach area was gorgeous. It's a short drive so if you do want to stay in a cabin instead of tent cabin stay there but drive to the BLM part you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank toese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcroce, General Manager at Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello and thank you for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed the cabin. We are sorry that the beach area did not meet your expectations and we are working to improve that area. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reedsport hotels
25.5 km away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
26.2 km away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 5 in Reedsport
85 reviews
25.6 km away
Economy Inn Reedsport
Economy Inn Reedsport
#3 of 5 in Reedsport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
Umpqua River Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Reedsport
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lake Lodge & RV Resort

Address: 9011 Loon Lake Rd, Reedsport, OR 97467-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Reedsport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Reedsport
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take and "Escapation" where Escape meets Vacation at Loon Lake Lodge and RV Resort located just minutes from the coastal city of Reedsport, Oregon. Choose your vacation lodging from our cabins, motel, yurts, waterfront vacation home or a scenic camping site, with some located on the lake shore. Our RV sites offer full-hookups, satellite TV and Wi-fi, and sit on one mile of Loon Lake frontage The on-site Marina has many types of boat, including ski, pontoon and houseboat, and Sea Doo rentals. Loon Lake Lodge - Make Your Own Family Fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lake Lodge & Rv Hotel Reedsport
Loon Lake Lodge And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing