We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent and Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incompetent and Rude Staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

***DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY SOMEPLACE ELSE!***

There are much better places to stay on the same street and same block!

This motel has the most unprofessional and under-qualified staff I have EVER encountered. I am still in utter disbelief.

When we returned at 2:00 this afternoon after a morning excursion, our room had not been cleaned. Okay, not a big deal. I called the front desk and asked for it to be cleaned, and was told that someone would be up. Went out again for about an hour, and returned to find the room still had not been touched. Still okay, but getting concerned because I know housekeeping staff only works until late afternoon in this kind of establishment.

Called to the front desk again, and was again told that someone would be up. Wife called a half hour later to remind them. Still nothing. Left the hotel at 4:00 PM and stopped by the front desk to ask them yet again to clean the room. The front desk clerk looked confused, but said "Okay."

Well, we returned back to the room at 8:00 PM, and guess what. Still not clean! Called the front desk and got transferred to a "manager" who apologized and said someone would be up to clean. We went out, and returned at 10:30 PM, to find one of the beds quickly made, and the other bed had the sheets pulled up, but the blanket was on the floor. There were absolutely NO towels in the room, and NO Kleenex. The bathroom had not been touched.

I called the front desk again, and was told that all the towels were in the dryer, and it would be a few more minutes. About 15 minutes later, someone showed up with bath towels, but no hand towels or washcloths. She asked if everything was ok, and I lost it on her. She was offended that I was upset, and said she did not appreciate MY attitude. She said, "Have a good night," and walked away. I let the door close behind her, baffled by her attitude.

After gaining my composure, I walked down the hall and found her standing by the elevators. She then said she didn't appreciate me slamming the door on her! Now, she was accusing the customer of doing wrong. The hotel staff didn't do anything wrong, it is the customer's fault that my room wasn't cleaned after numerous requests. She said she had nothing else to say, told me her name, and said I could speak to the general manager in the morning (which I certainly will, as I am writing this from my motel room. But, I am not expecting anything will be done).

This is the first and LAST time I will ever stay at a La Quinta establishment. I am not one to complain, but this experience went way overboard. There is nothing about this "motel" that should make anyone want to stay here, unless you prefer mediocrity at best. The Marriott Residence Inn, and the Hampton Inn and Suites are on the same street and comparably priced. The La Quinta is definitely two steps below the other establishments on the same block. Absolutely no reason to stay here!

Room Tip: The Marriott Residence Inn and Hampton Inn and Suites are superior properties for a comparable price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    185
    93
    43
    32
See reviews for
244
140
28
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our second visit to this property. We have family in Salem and this La Quinta is in a great location for all the things we want to do while there. We were upgraded to a suite and found it very pleasant. Even though it is close to the freeway and right behind a Costco it was nice and quiet and I am a very light sleeper. A great variety of food for their complementary breakfast kept us satisfied until lunch.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I really enjoy the La Quinta chain of hotels and try to stay when possible. We came to a conference in Salem and stayed one night at the La Quinta in Salem, which is near the airport and not too far from downtown. The person who checked us in was very helpful and actually read my request to have a quiet room - we were put on top floor away from traffic noise, which is what we wanted. The bed was comfortable and all the amenities worked great. The price was very fair - just make sure you have a discount for AAA or AARP. You will find it worth it. The breakfast is hot with many varieties of fruits, eggs, juices, etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor is very quiet. We stayed in room 409 which worked great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel needs updated. It still has old tube tvs, ac/heat and poor shower fixures.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The initial key did not work, but the staff was helpful in solving the issue. The breakfast was fine. I was on the third floor, and could hear people in the room above me walking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
4.1 km away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
127 reviews
3.2 km away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites
Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing