We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the dock”

Mark's on the Channel
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Scappoose
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Beautifully Situated on the waters of the Multnomah Channel South of Scappoose, Oregon - Mark's is a worthy destination for those seeking a restaurant which features a menu using local ingredients; scratch preparation means; and a whole-foods approach to menu creation. With views of the surrounding mountains, bobbing boats and ample wildlife Mark's creates a memorable dining experience. Mark's menus, service and amenities will please. Arrive...Relax...Enjoy!
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Leisurely paced lunch with another couple.
Menu is appealing. Decided on the fish cake appie and the 3 cakes were very good. My hubby had a bowl of clam chowder which was good...not the best I've ever tasted but good. Prices are modest. Not a great place for little kids as the chairs are right on the edge of the deck with no railing.
Server was very good.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2017

We visited this restaurant with another couple. We had lunch at around 12:15. There were about 10 other people seated in the outdoor area. We had a table about 6 feet from the edge of the out door deck. It was very pleasant afternoon. Our server's name was Sharon. She was very friendly and an excellent server. She stopped by frequently to fill the water glasses and check to see if we needed anything.

For menu items we selected the clam chowder, fish cakes, and one of the hamburger items. I should have wrote the name of the burger down but didn't, however, if all of the burgers are as good as this one you don't have to worry. The burger came with French fries and they could have been cooked a bit longer because they were a bit raw on the inside. The clam chowder was excellent along with the fish cakes.

The prices were very reasonable for lunch items.

The service was great.

There were no children there but I am sure families are welcome. With kids though you would have to keep an eye on them because there are no rails around the outside deck. Just on slip if they were close to the edge and they would be in the water.

Plenty of parking.

The restaurant was nice and clean. All the tables were neat and tidy.

The restroom were very clean.

A really nice dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Decided to take a drive down to Mark's on the Channel for an late lunch/early dinner. We had a wonderful waiter and the service was excellent. Had the best Bloody Mary's first of all. Then one of us had some of the best oyster stew he has ever had and the other had one of the best salads full of beets and great vegetables. It was so nice to sit outdoors in the sun with the breeze coming off the river. Highly recommend this little place of heaven.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caron5948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

Four of us for lunch.Very nice setting on the water.
Cannot evaluate the food because we all agreed to leave when we saw the exorbitant
lunch prices for such a casual cafe.I realize there may be a premium for a nice view
but all menu selection prices seemed simply too high so we chose to go elsewhere.
Very few customers were present which is not a good sign.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksonthechannel, Manager at Mark's on the Channel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Thank you for the visit and the review.

We're disappointed that you felt our menu options were too pricey for you to stay and dine with us. We try to provide food for all budgets, and we think that our prices are commensurate to what we serve and to the location it is being served.

You are right that it is difficult to provide an amenity such as ours at our location in a seasonal nature at reasonable prices. But I would also like to take this opportunity to point out that we are a scratch kitchen employing highly trained chefs, and that all of our products are sourced with consideration to quality. You will never see large, generic restaurant suppliers such as Sysco in our parking lot, and this is a source of pride for us. If our prices are a few dollars higher than other local restaurants, it is due to a myriad of forces that go into operating this business.

Finally, all restaurants experience down times. Due to our location off major highways, and vulnerable to weather events out of our control, we experience slow traffic even during typical restaurant peak hours. We urge patrons to take this into consideration before insinuating that few customers are somehow related to the quality of what we are serving here.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, and we hope for an opportunity to serve you again (for the first time) in the future!

Josh,
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Had lunch at Mark's with my niece and her four children, the eldest of which is 6 years old. Was disappointed that they were out of oysters on the day we were there, but the burger was certainly delicious. All in all, a family -- and dog -- friendly place, where you have the choice of sitting inside or outside on the dock, which is right on the Columbia Channel.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mark's on the Channel also viewed

 

Been to Mark's on the Channel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing