We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillcrest Inn
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Big advantage over the large hotels: Hillcrest is so friendly and treats you to DVD's, popcorn, beach toys, beach blankets and towels, and even a cart to carry it all to the beach! They have a grassy courtyard with grills and picnic tables. Thanks for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agrestak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello!

Thank you for letting us be part of your vacation. We love sharing Seaside with our new "Hillcrest Inn Family" and hope to see you again the next time you visit Seaside.
Thank you for yur sweet comments and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Happy Travels,
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed in the "Sweet Retreat" room at the Hillcrest Inn and were very happy with our stay. There are two separate rooms, one for sleeping, and the other for watching movies. There are a bunch of classic DVDs in the office that are free to borrow so we watched Spider-Man :) There is also a nice little view of the ocean from the room. The location is perfect because it's less than a 5 minute walk to the beach one way, and to Seaside's main strip the other way.

Ruth went above and beyond to make us feel at home during our stay. She is one of the most generous people I have ever met, and inspired me to be a better person. One night we were going to have a fire on the beach, she offered us wine glasses so we didn't have to drink out of the bottle. She also lent us her BBQ lighter so we could start our fire easier. As we walked out of the office I dropped the bundle of fire wood we bought, so she went and grabbed me her personal wood-bundle bag. Truly amazing.

I will definitely be recommending the Hillcrest Inn to all of my friends who visit the Oregon Coast :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor_McElwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello, Taylor & Taylor

Thank you for your very sweet and kind comments. We are happy when our "Hillcrest Family" feels at home and welcomed. We are thrilled you enjoyed Seaside and that our location worked well for your visit. We hope to see you the next time you visit Seaside and wish you many happy travels.

Best regards, Ruth

P.s. It's the wonderful guests (like you) that make our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Comfortable accommodations a short walk from the beach. Sauna, picnic tables & grills outside, friendly hosts. Wonderful place for a family vacation. Easy to walk anywhere in town & to boardwalk. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Freespirit134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello, Freespirit134

Thank you for your kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We love it when our guests feel at home and hope we get to see you again at your Seaside home.
Our location is often commented on by our visitors and we are happy to be a few steps away from the beach and other attractions in Seaside.

Happy Travels and thank you again,

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The Hillcrest Inn is an average quality property in an ideal location with wonderful staff at an exceptional price. Given the high prices of most rooms in Seaside during the summer, the Hillcrest Inn will remain the standard choice for my wife and me whenever we visit the town. The rooms are a bit dowdy but are roomy and clean and are in the process of being updated. The staff are kind and helpful to their guests and quietly help less fortunate people in the area.

Room Tip: We tried a room with a spa once and decided that it tended to get in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCoupleNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your kind and sweet remarks. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you noticed our updates. Our location is often remarked upon and we are always pleased when we are able to share our love of Oregon and Seaside.

We wish you many happy travels and hope to see you again.

Best regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Minor mishap my first night, not the room I had booked. Ruth was very accommodating and got me in the room the very next day. Not a complaint what so ever. I enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and the bonfires. Ruth gave me some wood, fire starter and the use of a dolly to lug it all to the beach. I day tripped to Portland and Cannon Beach. Was great to come back to this little place.

Next time I would love to book one of the little cottages.

See you again and thank you

Melyssa
Cedar
Olive

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Hello, Melyssa

Thank you for your kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We also thank you for working with us to ensure all our guests have a comfortable stay. We hope we get to show you the comforts of our cottages the next time you are in Seaside. Many of our guests do enjoy our location and we would love to suggest more fun day trips for you from the Hillcrest Inn. Thank you again and it's Hillcrest family like you that makes our days great!

Best regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We've stayed here 3 times, most recently May 19-21st, 2017. They've updated #105 cottage which is the one we've stayed in before. We love Ruth and staff-they are so friendly and provide anything you need. The room has an a/c, fireplace and is very homey. The office has snacks everyday-popcorn, hot chocolate, coffee, pastries, cookies, oatmeal, hot water for tea. They let you borrow DVD's at no charge.
The 2 queen beds were very comfortable (big deal for me as a traveler). They have a large outdoor area to bbq, play games, or sit and relax. They also allow dogs in #105.

You can call or book online with them without having to go through a 3rd party and they don't extra cleaning or booking fees. Their rates are always lower than anyone in Seaside.

One of their best features is that you can walk to the beach in 2 minutes, and they are only 2 minutes from the boardwalk, Dooger's, Pig N Pancake, Norma's (best clam chowder and crab legs) and all of the shops.

Room Tip: We always stay in #105-it's on the end and they've recently updated it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portlandcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Hello, Portlandcitygirl

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our homespun hospitality and location make it easy to visit Seaside and we love when our Hillcrest families returns. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The Hillcrest Inn worked very well for our family of 5.

As we were traveling from Switzerland, the fact that they had all of the beach toys with a wagon to bring them to the beach was a BIG PLUS!

The beach is a short walk and as the kids had never been to the Pacific, they loved it.

The rooms are not super fancy, but they were clean and had a kitchenette which was ideal for breakfast.

The owners did a great job of advising us on restaurants and things to do (Doogers was a great suggestion)

Seaside is definitely the poorer relation to Cannon Beach - but it is much more affordable too! You can always drive to Cannon Beach to enjoy the beach there - that is what we did!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denali92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S, Guest Relations Manager at Hillcrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hello, Denali92

Thank you for kind comments and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our family friendly location works well for many of our guests along with with our accommodations that fit most family needs.
We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Oregon Coast.

Thank you again and happy travels!

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.7 km away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
344 reviews
0.2 km away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,454 reviews
1.7 km away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#21 of 27 in Seaside
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.4 km away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Address: 118 N Columbia St, Seaside, OR 97138-5932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#7 Family Hotel in Seaside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $89 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Inn recaptures the nostalgic charm of the Oregon Coast. Located only a half block from the beach, 2 blocks from downtown and the Convention Center and yet situated in a serene garden-like setting. In addition to cottages with fully equipped kitchens, there are mini-suites with partial kitchens, spa rooms and immaculate traditional rooms. There is a sauna and bbq on site for guests use. The 5-bedroom Hilldcrest House, perfect for reunions and group events, can sleep up to 16 people and is located immediately next door to the Hillcrest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Seaside
Hillcrest Motel Seaside
Hillcrest Inn Seaside, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing