We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We've stayed in Seaside many times, and decided to try Best Western Ocean View in December 2011 - during a horrendous rain/wind storm. Our 5th floor ocean front room was great for storm watching, the gas fireplace made it nice and cozy. We loved the ocean view jacuzzi tub. Salvatore's Italian Restaurant located in the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bibbi_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was a great hotel right on the beach. Stayed here with my husband and 2 kids age 11 and 9. Wasn't sure how the murphy bed would work but it was really nice. A real matress on a solid bed that folded down over the couch area. Just had to remove the couch coushins and then pull it down. Still plenty of space to sit as there was a large table with 4 chairs and the balcony chairs. Had a great view of the beach and a great play space in the large room for the kids. Our room was on the 3rd floor with fireplace and kitchen. Pool was small but nice and the kids enjoyed it. Easy access to the beach with secure door. need room key. Open walkways in hotel . We enjoyed walking the Promenade which is directly on the edge of beach.

Room Tip: Stay above the second floor to get a nicer balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onetravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are BW rewards members, so on our trek south, thought we'd try the Ocean View Resort in Seaside Oregon. When we got to the hotel to ask if there were rooms available for that night, the only desk clerk was engaged in a lengthy chat. We were not acknowledged at all. When the chat was finally over, there was a line up forming. The female desk clerk finally greeted us with a bored "Yes?" In answer to our inquiries there were rooms availlable, at a pricey $250, but no, we couldn't see one because they weren't made up yet and we might steal something a previous guest had left behind. Is this the type of guests they have? Ones that steal? Decided we didn't want to have anything to do with this place and left.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner53, Owner at Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

We are very sorry about this however, we have had plenty of rooms available all Winter and no rooms are priced at $250/night. Is it possible that you have reviewed the wrong hotel? I am sure if you called the hotel to speak to the General Manager he could help you. We care a great deal about our guests and certainly would never be rude or indignant to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Anyone who has read my review of the Best western in Corvallis will know I am not too fond of that one or its staff, but decided to give the Brand another try as all locations are different. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least.

I booked this hotel through Price-line so wasn't sure what to expect even though you can review the hotel in advance. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful, accommodations were very nice, and even a non ocean view room still had a view from the patio. The beds were decent although after the 3rd night it started to slope outward like another reviewer on here stated but was still acceptable.

Location is great. Easy access to all thing Seaside and right on the beach. There was some obvious remodeling being done but didn't bother us where we were located. I did notice a room service tray that sat in the hall for 2 days before it finally got picked up, but whose complaining, they have room service!!

I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again if in Seaside! Thank you to the staff who were helpful and had a great sense of humor!

Room Tip: Non ocean view room on 2nd floor faced other buildings and a an alley/road but still had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and my two corgi dogs spent four nights between Christmas and New Years at the Ocean View Resort, and we were pleased by every aspect. We got the prepaid rate by booking well in advance, and got excellent value.

The hotel is positioned on Seaside's Promenade. This is a 12-foot-wide concrete sidewalk that separates the town from the beach. There is a low dune between the prom and the beach proper, and this means that people in lower-floor, ocean-front rooms don't really get the benefit of a sea view unless they stand. The beach is very wide, so the distance from the hotel to the surf is probably more than 200 yards. I cannot claim to be impressed by the Prom - there are few businesses along it, other than hotels. I'd rather walk along the beach or the touristy main drag called Broadway. Dogs are permitted off-leash on the beach, but nowhere else. In the off-season, this is a great dog beach. The hotel has an ideal location. Broadway is a short walk, and Safeway, Rite-Aid and an outlet mall are a short drive away.

The hotel has five stories, and dogs are permitted on the lower two. If you have a dog and an oceanfront room, you should ask for the second floor for the view. First floor rooms have no direct access to the Prom, and pedestrians can look right in.

Since there are few pet-friendly hotels in the area, it seemed that every room on the lower floors had a dog or two. This was not a problem, but you'll want to be careful opening your door since there were often dogs in the hallway.

They do make you sign a form promising to keep your pets off the furniture and not to leave them alone in the room. The fee is $20 per pet per night, but I managed to talk that down when I called to book because we had two dogs for four nights - $160!

Our Ocean-Front Pet-Friendly room was very nice. The tv was about 36", wide-screen, but I could not find hi-def programming (I didn't look hard). There was a DVD/VCR with only standard-def output. The fixed queen-sized bed was soft and comfortable, although the edges seemed lower than the middle. There was also a Murphy bed, but we did not open it.

We had a two-burner stove, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. A packet of Boyd's coffee was provided each day, but my coffee-drinking wife did not care for it. (I think she prefers stronger coffee.) The refrigerator was loud (hence 4 stars, not 5), but opening the balcony door fixed that because the surf was louder.

One of the bedside table lamps was not connected because the cord could not reach a socket. The front desk provided an extension cord when I asked.

The weather was no good for sitting on the balcony, but the hotel did provide two plastic chairs for the balcony.

There was a very nice fireplace. It had a half-hour timer that you need to keep resetting. A wind storm (70 mph!) blew out the pilot light, but a maintenance man put that right minutes after we called.

The tub/shower was just okay. Not really a tub for taking a nice bath.

The hotel restaurant had a limited selection of Italian entrees, but they were very tasty and well-presented. Our room was so nice that we did not bother with the lounge.

I was very happy with every aspect of service at the hotel. The desk, restaurant, maintenance and cleaning staff were all polite, helpful and friendly.

I loathe Seaside in the summer, but in the off-season it is very nice. If I return, I definitely will stay in the Ocean View Resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

With no reservation, The Manager Hooked us up with a Great Room . We were traveling down the coast for a family reunion in Lincoln city, stopped here and glad we did. Service of the Manager was outstanding. It's all about The People in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Went with a group of old friends who were reuniting over holiday visits. We only had 1 night but this hotel provided a nice oasis. We got in after dark and it was cold so spent time in our very spacious room(s), got great dinner recommendations only a few blocks away that would have totally been walkable from the hotel had we realized, and then a great pool area with a wonderful hot tub.

The staff were all very helpful and accommodating and let us check out late so that we could enjoy the beautiful day in town and have some brunch.

Overall it was quite, clean and right on the beach/boardwalk, no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
14.1 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,324 reviews
0.5 km away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
1,088 reviews
0.3 km away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,454 reviews
2.6 km away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort

Address: 414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138-6042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#5 Business Hotel in Seaside
#6 Family Hotel in Seaside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $107 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort in Seaside, Oregon is located on the beautiful Pacific Ocean directly in front of one of the best beaches on the West Coast. The resort delivers first class and comfortable ocean front accommodations in a variety of suite and room types (newly renovated), and terrific on-line specials on the scenic and historic North Oregon Coast. Seaside is the last stop on the Lewis & Clark trail and the area offers rich history in an incredible, natural beauty. Astoria, only 12 miles north, is the oldest city west of the Mississippi rich in Maritime history. Cannon Beach, just five miles south is the "Carmel of the Oregon Coast" with shops, art galleries and includes the famous Haystack Rock. Seaside boasts a variety of activities from beach combing, hiking, golf, boating, fishing, zip line and of course, the famous Broadway street and turnaround. For family fun and lot's to do, Seaside and the Best Western PLus Ocean View Resort are the perfect pair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean View Hotel Seaside
Best Western Seaside
Seaside Best Western
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort Seaside, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing