We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Price, GREAT view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overleaf Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reasonable Price, GREAT view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I visited Overleaf with my wife and 10 friends (plus a 7-month old baby) during our recent trip to the Oregon Coast, and I have nothing but praise to say about the place.

The staff at Overleaf were courteous, friendly, and warm. From the moment we stepped to the reception's desk, we were greeted nicely. Without even asking, a crib was provided for my friend's baby, which was very considerate (she had to sleep on a couch the night before so the baby could sleep with his dad).

The view was spectacular. We took three rooms (106, 206, 207) and all had the most spectacular ocean view. With large windows, we could open the window and hear the mighty waves hitting the shore.

The hot tub service was great. Sitting with your friends watching the sunset - what more could you ask for? (Did I mention that this service comes free of charge?) At times we laughed too loudly and were approached by gentle spa staff to remind us to keep our noises down.

We had minor issue with a toilet that was not fixed, but the hotel promptly refunded 50% of our stay, which was beyond what we had expected. If there was one minor complaint that I have, I feel the mattress was way too soft for my liking.

Overall, it was a great experience. I would definitely return to Overleaf again if I travel to Yachats or that area.

Room Tip: 106, 206, 207 all have spectacular oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
It certainly sounds like your group had a great time here at the Overleaf Ed L, which is exactly what we love to hear. I may be slightly biased, but I have to agree our view is spectacular. I am so glad that you fully utilized the spa as many of our guests do not take advantage of the spa to enjoy the ocean front view from the hot pools, the exercise room (with a view) and the steam rooms/saunas all of which are complimentary when staying at the Overleaf. I would like to apologize about the issue with the toilet, however, I’m happy we were able to rectify the situation to your liking. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
541-330-1286
drew@overleaflodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    204
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
265
789
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed with three other people in whale watcher room with an ocean view. Overall it was a great experience. The view was uninstructed and the ocean waves were magnificent. The hotel was clean and the room is very spacious. However, our toilet was not functional and we told the maintenance guy to fix t in the afternoon before we went out for dinner. When we came back, the toilet was still not fixed and the reception desk was closed..there was no emergency phone line and we were stuck with the public restroom which one of the toilets were non functional as well. I complained to front desk and they gave us a 50% discount since it was really only half of the service was provided. Other than that incident everything else was quite satisfactory..breakfast was great with great selection..ht tub and spa service was excellent too. I would still recommend this hotel if you are in the area on Oregon coast. Just make sure ur needs are satisfies before Te reception desk close at 10pm.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TH123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent visit to the Overleaf.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had an 'Inglenook' room on the 3rd floor. Great view and a fireplace!
The microwave and TV were dated but they worked. The room has a small refrigerator also. Make sure to bring plates, etc if you want to reheat anything. To go containers will melt.
The breakfast consisted of fruit, English muffins, multi-grain oatmeal which was really good, yummy yogurt and granola, baked apple french toast casserole one morning and potato casserole the next, wonderful blueberry scones etc. All very good.
The bed was ok, the shower was great. Great pressure and enough hot water.
Staff was nice and helpful.
We did not indulge in the spa piece but enjoyed our stay nonetheless.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For the best view I would choose 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABeck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've been to the Overleaf Lodge and Spa a couple of times now, and it's one of our favorite places to relax and renew ourselves. The rooms are very nice, but it's the spa that brings us back. They literally pamper you at the spa. There is a men's and women's spa area, which includes a sauna and steam room, and they are great. There is also a soaking pool with jets, and a hot tub, co-gender, so bring your swiming suits. Both are very nice, overlooking the ocean. I had the hot stone massage, and it was awesome. Soooo relaxing. The breakfast, included with the room rate, is so very good. Quiche, fresh fresh fruit, filling old fashioned oats, it's so much more than just the regular continental breakfast you get at most places, which saved us a ton of money, as we had a BIG breakfast, and snacked in the evening in the room. It's a wonderful place to stay. However, there are some very good restaurants in Yachats as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbSalem_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a reasonably nice place but two things stand out that would keep us from returning. First, the room was advertised as ocean front view. Yes we could see the ocean but the main view from inside our room and off the small balcony was of the buildings down the coast and the ocean at an angle. The main view of the ocean was blocked by the building. Indeed, there was a rather small area inside the room from which you could see any ocean. Second, I think of a spa as a quiet place for reflection and relaxation. A rather boisterous group of young adults(?) thought otherwise and used the facility as if they were in a high school gym shower. Neither the spa manager nor the front desk clerk, to whom I voiced my concerns, seemed overly interested. As this was to be a special one day getaway, we didn't have the experience from the Lodge or Spa we thought we had booked.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Our primary goal at the Overleaf Lodge is to exceed our guest’s expectations. While we do that for a vast majority of our guests, we missed on two accounts with Daniel C. We have expressed our sincerest apologies to Daniel and will hopefully be able to make up for the issues mentioned.
The room Daniel was in is angled to the ocean with a southwest perspective and perfect for winter time sunsets, but also partially looks down the coast line. We understand that some of our guests prefer a more direct orientation to the oceanfront. Any of the rooms ending in a 1 through 13 or 18 (e.g. 301, 103, 306, 212 or 218) would meet expectations for direct oceanfront. If there is anything you do not like about your room, please let the front desk know immediately and in most cases we can move you to a different room or otherwise take care of the issue.
As far as the spa experience is concerned, it appears that not only were the other guests acting inappropriately, our staff did not adequately address the matter. This has been addressed with our staff and will not happen again. I am sure that many guests would testify to the fact that oftentimes they are alone in the hot tubs and are able to enjoy peaceful relaxation with the only distraction being the ocean surf immediately below.
Drew Roslund, Owner’s representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glide, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Overleaf in the Restless Waters 180 degree view room for Valentine's Day. What an amazing view! We have stayed at the Overleaf before and it never fails to exceed our expectations. All the staff at both the lodge and spa are very friendly and helpful! I got a relaxion massage from MaryBeth that was without a doubt the best I have ever had, pure bliss. Sitting in the relaxion pool at the spa watching the waves crash in is not to be missed. The breakfast is great with a lot of healthy options. It is such a peaceful place to getaway and relax. You can just stay in your room, enjoying the amazing views the hotel has to offer and unwind or walk the trails and visit the tidepools. This to us is a must not miss place to stay while traveling on the Oregon coast!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Restless Waters Room with the 180 view, amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fordgirl_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

To begin....what a setting! If the hotel was much closer to the Pacific Ocean it would be in it! We were on the top floor so were able to sit on our balcony watching the sunset: then have our morning cup of tea watching (and listening to) the crashing waves. magic!
Now to our room.......huge, beautifully decorated and clean - two queen beds; kitchen facilities; dining table; spacious bathroom and in the sitting area ......a gas fire.
Breakfast was buffet style.....nice variety. As we walked around the hotel we found staff to be very friendly.
A two night stay is a must to fully appreciate the area ( and the hotel!). Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Oregon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acrosstheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.5 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.1 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
35.5 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
37.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.1 km away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing