We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Beach Motel”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Hard to beat the location of this place. It is right on the edge of the coast, which is full of huge rock that the waves smash against putting on quite a show. The motel itself is older but very well maintained. There is nothing fancy about it, but our room had two comfortable queen beds, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a flat screen TV along with a table and some chairs. One unique feature that I really liked was their "air conditioning", which consisted of small, ~8" x ~12", windows on the front and back of the room which allowed cool ocean breezes to flow in along with the soothing sounds of the surf. There were quite a few dogs staying in other units, but that presented no issue whatsoever. There was supposed to be wifi in our room, but it was not working. The staff seemed very attentive and probably would have done something about it, but I did not realize that they even offered wifi so i did not mention it. The grounds were spacious and quite nicely kept so it makes for a pleasant place to stay.Our room was a little less than $100 per night, and for that price I would definitely go back. Although our room was not quite as nice as one in a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn (it lacked tile floors and had formica vanity tops), I still am giving it a "very good" rating because it has some character and is very clean and functional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

When we arrived we were told that the room we had was people travling with animals, needless to say were expecting the room to smell like animals. We were pleasantly surprised that the room had no animal ordor. The room was small but it was comfortable and clean. No matter what room you have, you walk out your door and the water is there. We didn't have a view, but there are plenty of places to sit and/or walk. The only thing we didn't like, was that there were no clear signs for the walking paths and we did get a little lost trying to make our way to the town. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamhappy2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A lower -priced alternative nestled between 2 large resorts but sharing the same terrific beach paths, sunsets, etc. Oceanfront room is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nice2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Fireside is one of the best motels on the Oregon coast, Clean, convenient, pet-friendly, reasonable rates, right on the beach, well off the highway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterwatsonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My daughter and I, along with our 3 year old Golden Retriever, stayed here for two nights over the Memorial weekend and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was clean, the staff and service was very friendly and helpful and and our dog was welcome everywhere. This was our first time staying in a pet friendly hotel and my main concern would be that we would smell previous 'tenants' doggie odors, but we did not detect anything and our room was very clean and they provided a 'pet pack' with towels and a sheet upon arrival (even though we don't let our dog on the furniture). Because they have a rule that dogs cannot be left unattended in rooms, we heard absolutely no barking from other dogs during our entire stay -- ever (although there were many people staying with their dogs). Although we didn't get a room that had an ocean view from our our window, we were still right on the ocean and only had to step outside our room and it was right there and we could hear it at night, which was very nice. There is a wonderful walking path all along the beach in both directions up and down the beach and wonderful benches placed all along the path. I wish the town of Yachats itself was more 'sidewalk friendly' -- it doesn't lend itself to walking without worrying a bit about traffic on 101, but it's a cute little village and close enough to Newport (or Florence) that we had options for day trips or dinner aside from Yachats itself. The Fireside was a very good choice for us, especially for the rate we paid and we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissajane09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This was probably our favorite hotel during a week-long trip of the Oregon coast. Our oceanfront room offered a great view of the crashing surf on the rocks, and we spent lots of time in the comfortable chairs looking out of the large picture window. The room was quite spacious and clean, and the fireplace was a nice touch. The DVD player was a little old (and would give off a high pitched whine at times, but it would generally go away if we turned it on), but otherwise the room was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkuchemprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This hotel is right on the beach in Yachats. We had a very nice oceanfront room with a small balcony. The staff was incredibly friendly so do not believe some of the older comments about surly office folks. Everyone was very nice and went out of their way to help us find restaurants and help us with other trip plans. The hotel is older but that is part of it's charm. We will definitely be back here to stay. No more surly folks at the Adobe for us!

Room Tip: I think the ocefront view is worth having!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bark51862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.4 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
549 reviews
4.2 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
34.7 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
39.6 km away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,029 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $115 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing