We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored and Relaxed”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I unexpectedly got the weekend off, so I looked for a last minute Coast getaway. Chose Yachats for it's off the beaten path beauty and called the Fireside asking if it was my lucky day. They had 1 room available N. facing (no ocean view) but its a mere walk around the building to see it, so I reserved it and headed out. I asked if someone cancelled I'd love a room with a view, she said she'd make notes. When I arrived a very unhappy woman was threatening a bad review on tripadvisor due to no balcony. They apologized profusely and said they would be more than happy to move her but the hotel was completely booked. She decided to leave. Shannon, who was checking me in, had made notes and also remembered I had asked about an ocean view room. Instant upgrade and a very reasonable cost, especially if you consider the Overleaf sister property right next door. They also gave me recommendations for dinner, coffee and breakfast the next day. All were great referrals. And once I saw the room I immediately went back to thank them again. The rooms are quite nice, light, bright, clean and very well appointed. Plenty of storage, a separate vanity area so someone can use the bathroom or shower without holding anyone up. Temperature very easy to maintain, a window to open for fresh air. Can't beat the views, and the most wonderful walking trails all along the Coast line. You just want to keep going to see whats around the next corner. Very very pet friendly, lots of dogs. A fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and two sinks!

Room Tip: I had room 7, it was ground level on the corner with a picture window facing the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

My sister and I splurged on an oceanfront room with two queen beds on the second floor. I could see the ocean from my bed! I've never stayed anywhere that close to the ocean. The beds were firm and supportive, which I really liked. Our room was clean and comfortable with a gas fireplace. There was a door from our room to a porch where we could sit and watch the ocean. Spendy, but very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redcanyonwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

A perfect place to relax-- well off the highway, oceanfront, nothing fancy but everything we wanted and needed. My main requirement was an oceanfront room. I enjoyed walking along the coastal path that goes right by the motel and just sitting on our little porch watching the surf. Even managed to get photos of starfish on the rocks at low tide. Would love to go back, especially for winter storm-watching-- I'd choose a room with a fireplace for that. The gift shop was superb--I brought home a really nice artist-made coffee mug with a wave design to remind me of our stay. A nice touch-- free coffee all day in the lobby/gift shop area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We reserved a room on the second floor looking out over the ocean that was maybe 40 yards away. It was cold in May and the room fireplace was great. The room was clean, comfortable, and looked fairly new. Had to travel into town for breakfast.

Room Tip: Fireplace room in the cold part of the year is good. Get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Fireside was perfect for our trip. While a little pricey (though much more reasonable than the Overleaf), the accommodations and view were well worth it. We had a spacious room with comfy beds and a balcony with an amazing view of the surf. The rocks behind the hotel have crevices that collect the water which then explodes into the air - saltwater "pyrotechnics"! Fireside also has attentive, warm staff who helped us with our wireless internet connections and made great recommendations for restaurants. Definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms, some with pets allowed. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbara1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife's favorite spot in Oregon is Yachats, and when we go for a weekend, we try to stay at the dog-friendly Fireside Motel. The staff is courtious, and always make our stay enjoyable. Always our first choice!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franksharpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Fireside has been a coastal favorite for me since childhood. The rates are reasonable, especially for a hotel located right on the shoreline. Moneysaving tip: If you're on a tight budget, get one of the northside rooms. Your window does not look out over the ocean in that case, but you've only a 60-second walk to get there. The Fireside does not have extravagant accommodations, but they're clean, comfortable, & look out over stunning scenery. The Yachats 804 coastal trail will be just outside your door, & the Fireside's gift shop is a delight. I have always experienced the hotel staff as friendly & helpful. It's a scenic walk from the hotel to the nearby Adobe resort or Yachats proper for a bite to eat.

Room Tip: See moneysaving tip above re: staying in a northside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moenkopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.4 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
556 reviews
4.2 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
34.7 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
223 reviews
1.0 km away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
105 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $116 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing