We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the north facing first floor, but the continental breakfast is both good and a new feature.”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We returned for maybe out 6th or 7th time to the Fireside Motel. They have added a continental breakfast since our last visit, and it was pretty good---home-made coffee cake, fruit, cereal, as well as juice, milk and coffee. This is the first time that we stayed in the north-facing roome---part of the original building---and we noticed a few negative points. The plumbing to the 2nd floor showers is very loud and annoying, and the stairwell is also pretty loud. There also was a lack of air circulation, which you only could alleviate by opening the front, screenless window---which our dog promptly jumped out of!. Granted, we booked last-minute, so we did not get one of our preferred ocean-view rooms, but I recommend avoiding the nort-facing rooms if possible. In any event, the rest of the weekend was perfect! And--better to be in a less than perfect spot than to not be able to visit Yachats!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franksharpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

We definitely appreciate our repeat guests, and thank you Frank for taking the time to review us. Our North facing rooms are an economical choice for travelers wanting to come to Yachats and enjoy the Oregon Coast. Our oceanfront rooms are the most popular accomodations here, with a semi-private balcony to sit and watch the whales and pelicans go by. On your next visit if the North facing rooms are where you stay please feel free to ask us for a window screen. We do have them available for guests when they are needed. We hope to see you again soon Frank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is an affordable motel, next to the much more expensive Overleaf Lodge, which is owned by the same people. We stayed here on 7/18/12, and were pleased with the views and the quality of the room was perfectly good, considering the cost (about $87 a night with AAA discount, for a room with two queen beds).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Fireside Motel offers deluxe rooms with private balconies (some with fireplaces) that have a great view of the coast from your own balcony; watch the waves splash on the rocks and explore the tidepools. Good continental breakfast available in the lobby. Rooms are very clean and spacious. All office staff were very cordial. You can spend twice as much next door at the Overlook, but why bother? Fireside has it all! My husband and I hope to return.

Room Tip: I think a little more money to book a deluxe room is worth it for the superior ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laneybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you laneybelle for your complimentary review of the Fireside Motel. Our oceanfront rooms with a balcony definitely have a beautiful view of the magnificent Pacific ocean. While we certainly agree the "Fireside has it all!", our sister property the Overleaf Lodge is a wonderful place to visit as well. Our two properties are very different from each other. The Overleaf has amenities available the Fireside does not, as well as does not allow pets. Either one of our locations is a great place to spend some time in Yachats. We look forward to your return visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

On our recent Pacific Coast Highway jaunt, we made a point of stopping in Yachats and staying at the Fireside Motel. We had stayed here in 2005 -- twice, because we liked it so much -- and upon our return everything was as great as we remembered.

We splurged (just a bit) on an ocean view room, which has a large picture window and a nice balcony with chairs where one can sit to watch the sun set and/or the ocean crashing against these lovely green rocks. There is access to the rocks for the adventurous, a path that skirts the oceanside and a nice bench should you choose to just sit and enjoy.

Our room was spacious and very clean. It provided a mini-fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. The beds were comfortable and the decor unexceptional. There is no continental breakfast, but there are good places to eat in town. The lobby area also serves as a very charming gift shop and the staff are helpful and friendly.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with a nice picnic area on the landside, should one want to eat al fresco. We will definitely stay at the Fireside once again on our next trip to the Oregon coast!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. Fireside is also pet friendly and although we don't travel with our cats, we...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

I'm glad that the Fireside Motel lived up to your expectations from your stay in 2005. The oceanfront rooms with a balcony are a perfect way to enjoy our sunsets and crashing waves. All of our oceanfront rooms have a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker for our guests convenience. We also have our more economical non-oceanview rooms available for those traveling on a budget. In May we started our continental breakfast, so you may have just missed it on your stay. Thank you for reviewing us, and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at 2q room w a view. For a little more money, the view is worth the money. Very pet friendly. There r some rooms not allowing pets for those who r more sensitive. Breakfast is minimal, way less than your best western or holiday inn. There is a one mile walking trail to downtown yathats if u don't want to drive. Very small town.

Room Tip: The staff is very helpful. Call and they will guide you...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Being retired since 1987 we try and stay at reasonable, places The Fireside is the most expensive for us but is by far the best,..have lived in Moab Ut for 25 years .Probably stayed at the fireside 15 times or so,, We now make it a point every year to stay 5 nights at the fireside.Sunday thru Thurs are the best rate nights..We grew up on the coast of New Hampshire so we look to the week at Fireside the day we leave from previous year,
All reviews are right .The staff is the best we have had anywhere.
We usually have the end up room with king bed and fireplace,
Only comment I might make is a screen door would be nice..We leave the door open at night to hear the constant and great surf even at low tide..No bug problem either..

We arrive Sept 9 th this year..can't wait..

L& L Senter moab UT..

Room Tip: pay the little extra and get an oceanfront room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choochooMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for the wonderful compliment L&L Senter! We always look forward to seeing our regular guests, and hopefully we will have some nice weather for your upcoming stay. I will make sure to share these comments with our staff, and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I loved this hotel. I was traveling back to Portland on a work trip and desperate for a hotel that would fit my budget. Every hotel nearby was way too expensive and right before I gave up to move on to the next town I decided to stop in and see what the rates were. This hotel is almost invisible by the way, next to the mammoth hotels that surround it. Anyway, as it turned out they had a room right on the ocean that wouldn't bust my wallet! The room was decently clean and had its own patio with chairs to sit and watch the waves crash in. The room did have some drawbacks though, like paper thin walls and only moderately comfortable beds. Other than that, I was pretty pleased. When I got up in the morning and sat out on the patio, there was a couple whales splashing around just off shore. What a treat that was for someone who has never seen a whale in the wild before. Another plus was the nice hotel shop that had a mix of pretty unique things to browse through and purchase. I only wish I had more time to stay. If I ever get back to the west coast of OR again, I will make sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.4 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
549 reviews
4.2 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
34.7 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
39.6 km away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,028 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $115 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing