We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View doesn't make up for the thin walls and plumbing”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I'm writing this as I just finished listening to the Tv of the people in the room upstairs and now the shower is going and the plumbing is loud! Floors creaky.
It's very uncomfortable staying here, sound wise. Bed are comfy, nice towels....ask the person upstairs how the shower was.
The receptionist didn't smile, just said ID please, here are the rules.....I get people have bad days but if customer service is your job at least be friendly.
I've stayed here in the winter and it was ok because of the view, except it had a moldy smell. This room smelled strongly of cleaning solution. Which is good it's clean, bad it's a harsh ,unpleasent smell. This room has been upgraded with nice pictures on the walls. The door doesn't fit in the frame right and I think it would be nice to add a chains or an additional lock to the door for security especially on the first floor.
I love Yachats and this property sits on a gorgeous spot. I won't stay here again though....it's 11pm it just got quiet upstairs....night.

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We read every single review and take the opinions of our guests very seriously. We try very hard to make your stay memorably wonderful but understand that we occasionally fall short. When we do not meet or exceed your expectations, we prefer to hear from you while on property so that we can make up for whatever shortcomings you may experience.

We constantly are working to keep our oceanfront property at a high standard. Our maintenance team works daily to fix, improve, and upgrade our facilities. We've had many guests complement our recent upgrades, including new beds, new flooring, new paint, and total renovations in some rooms as needed.

Staying in a fully booked motel of any kind can sometimes mean that you may hear other guests. Our front desk staff wants to know if this happens. We always appreciate the opportunity to make your stay more relaxing and peaceful. We appreciate your understanding in these types of situations.

Speaking of our front desk staff, The Fireside Motel staff is generally very friendly, warm, and welcoming (please see other reviews). I apologize that this was not your experience. Your review will be shared with the staff in an effort to improve our customer service further.

We truly hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Yachats and that your future stays in this wonderful oceanfront village are memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

The main office closed early. It was obvious they were waiting on us to arrive so they could close down. They called us multiple times to "make sure we were coming" which felt like being rushed. Then they turned off the lights, locked the doors, and sped away from the office about 30 minutes before it was supposed to close.
The hotel has no air conditioning at all. This might be acceptable if you're on the 2nd story facing the ocean, but if you're on the ground floor facing the parking lot, it's not exactly as "quaint" as they try to make it seem.
The shower either dropped in pressure or ran out of hot water (I can't remember which), which was just icing on the cake.
If I had paid chain hotel prices on the side of some random interstate I would have been disappointed, but it was extremely disappointing for an ocean front hotel costing easily twice as much as an average hotel that has far better amenities and service.

Room Tip: Get ocean front room for breezes since there is no air conditioning, or avoid hotel completely.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OleManWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCL62, Owner at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Future Guest,

Our front office closes at 10:00, but this often extends to 10:15 or later if we have a guest showing up after 10:00. We never close before 10:00. Between 9:00 and 9:30 we will call guests who have not arrived to find out when they will arrive. If it will be much later than 10:00 we make arrangements with the guest to get the key from the front office, regardless of when they arrive. We have a manager-on-duty when the front office is closed. We never pressure a guest to ‘rush’ to get to us, rather we call them to make them feel comfortable that they can get to their room regardless of the time that they arrive just in case the lobby is closed. We find that most guests appreciate this call.
Concerning air conditioning, we do not have it. I do not know of an oceanfront hotel/motel along the central Oregon coast that does have air conditioning – none do in Yachats. The summer temperature rarely exceeds 75 degrees and on the rare occasions that it does, there typically is a 15 mile-per-hour northwest wind by 6:00 in the evening to cool things down. If it happens to be one of those very rare warm stagnant days, we will immediately get guests a fan upon request.
We are here to make sure you have a great oceanfront experience. On those infrequent occasions where we fall short, please talk with one of our front desk staff members or a manager and we will make sure to provide whatever you need to compliment this beautiful scenic location!

Sincerely,
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We've been to Fireside several times for the great oceanfront view. I would strongly recommend that they put some privacy screening between the decks. It seems this would be inexpensive and could be done without affecting the nice view of the ocean. As it is now you and your neighbor have direct views into each others rooms.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a better view and more privacy from folks walking the 804 trail.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tlnadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Fireside Motel. I'm pleased that you were happy with the value of your room, and the stunning ocean views! We will absolutely take your suggestion into consideration, and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed only one night at the Fireside Motel, but we wish we would've had more time. The coast there is beautiful and the Fireside is a fantastic place to call home while exploring the coast. We went in July but would love to go back in the off season to see the dramatic coast from the comfort of our cozy room. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fristin816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I couldn't agree more: this stretch of the central Oregon coast is exceptionally dramatic and beautiful! We look forward to seeing you again in the off-season. Yachats is a great place to visit at any time of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

After a very long difficult travel day, we arrived about six hours past our bedtime. The sweet manager left our key for us in the lockbox. Check in/check out was a breeze.
We walked in to a clean, spacious room and opened the curtains to a beautiful moonlit surf. We could finally relax. We were in the bald Eagle room, and there was plenty of room, and the king sized bed was very comfortable. The linens were soft, and the pillows were just right. The fridge was plenty big for our stay, and the coffee pot was convenient. We had plenty of room in the bathroom and dressing room, and we were left plenty of nice towels. We enjoyed leaving the small windows on either end of the room to feel the breeze all day and night. The balcony was roomy and there were comfortable chairs to sit in. The hotel has a wonderful walking trail in back, along with benches to sit and watch the surf. There is a continental breakfast that is a little sparse, but that was okay with us, as we went out for breakfast. The gift shop has some nice souvenirs. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us! I'm glad we could offer you a comfortable and relaxing place to rest your head after a long day of traveling. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor users, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

It's the location that can't be beat, but the room was comfortable and clean, as well. So, in my opinion, that's all a person needs.
The staff was helpful and friendly and the gift shop has a good selection of "I need that" items.
I awoke in the middle of the night, and saw three fishing vessels lined up on the horizon with a sky full of easily visible stars overhead. Can't beat that!

Room Tip: Oceanview if possible
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bkbkSanAntonio_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

One of my favorite perks of working at The Fireside Motel/Overleaf Lodge and Spa is getting a "front row seat" to what's going on out there in the great Pacific! I enjoy seeing the fishing and crabbing boats at night, too. I hope you were also able to see some gray whales on your trip! If not, maybe next time. Thank you for sharing your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We're proud to be the place you call home in Yachats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Even though we didn't have an ocean-view room, we could happily see the ocean from our second floor room (#16) on the side. The room was large with all of the usual amenities. The bed was a bit squishy but some people like that. Breakfast was okay. Lots of fresh fruit which we appreciated and the usual selection of cold cereals and way-too-sweet instant oatmeals. The staff was very nice. The beach trail was right outside our door which we loved. We'd definitely stay there again...if we could be assured of being on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: If you can't get an ocean view, get an upstairs room near the west end.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fireside Motel with other TripAdvisor users! We appreciate your feedback very much. I'm thrilled to read that you were happy with your room, the continental breakfast, the staff service, and the 804 walking trail. Give us a call when you're ready to book your next stay with us, and feel free to ask for room 16 again! As always, we'll do our very best to accommodate you in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.4 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
550 reviews
4.2 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
34.7 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
39.6 km away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,030 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $116 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing