We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adobe Resort(Yachats)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alsi Resort(Waldport)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Cove Inn(Yachats)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
642
329
60
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
329
60
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastocean frontgift shoporegon coastsheets and towelson the rocksoceanfront roomhard boiled eggsgas fireplacewalking pathcrashing wavesgreat viewallow petswhales spoutingpicture windowtide poolsrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

The main office closed early. It was obvious they were waiting on us to arrive so they could close down. They called us multiple times to "make sure we were coming" which felt like being rushed. Then they turned off the lights, locked the doors, and sped away from the office about 30 minutes before it was supposed to close.
The hotel has no air conditioning at all. This might be acceptable if you're on the 2nd story facing the ocean, but if you're on the ground floor facing the parking lot, it's not exactly as "quaint" as they try to make it seem.
The shower either dropped in pressure or ran out of hot water (I can't remember which), which was just icing on the cake.
If I had paid chain hotel prices on the side of some random interstate I would have been disappointed, but it was extremely disappointing for an ocean front hotel costing easily twice as much as an average hotel that has far better amenities and service.

Room Tip: Get ocean front room for breezes since there is no air conditioning, or avoid hotel completely.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OleManWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCL62, Owner at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Future Guest,

Our front office closes at 10:00, but this often extends to 10:15 or later if we have a guest showing up after 10:00. We never close before 10:00. Between 9:00 and 9:30 we will call guests who have not arrived to find out when they will arrive. If it will be much later than 10:00 we make arrangements with the guest to get the key from the front office, regardless of when they arrive. We have a manager-on-duty when the front office is closed. We never pressure a guest to ‘rush’ to get to us, rather we call them to make them feel comfortable that they can get to their room regardless of the time that they arrive just in case the lobby is closed. We find that most guests appreciate this call.
Concerning air conditioning, we do not have it. I do not know of an oceanfront hotel/motel along the central Oregon coast that does have air conditioning – none do in Yachats. The summer temperature rarely exceeds 75 degrees and on the rare occasions that it does, there typically is a 15 mile-per-hour northwest wind by 6:00 in the evening to cool things down. If it happens to be one of those very rare warm stagnant days, we will immediately get guests a fan upon request.
We are here to make sure you have a great oceanfront experience. On those infrequent occasions where we fall short, please talk with one of our front desk staff members or a manager and we will make sure to provide whatever you need to compliment this beautiful scenic location!

Sincerely,
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We've been to Fireside several times for the great oceanfront view. I would strongly recommend that they put some privacy screening between the decks. It seems this would be inexpensive and could be done without affecting the nice view of the ocean. As it is now you and your neighbor have direct views into each others rooms.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a better view and more privacy from folks walking the 804 trail.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tlnadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of The Fireside Motel. I'm pleased that you were happy with the value of your room, and the stunning ocean views! We will absolutely take your suggestion into consideration, and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed only one night at the Fireside Motel, but we wish we would've had more time. The coast there is beautiful and the Fireside is a fantastic place to call home while exploring the coast. We went in July but would love to go back in the off season to see the dramatic coast from the comfort of our cozy room. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fristin816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

I couldn't agree more: this stretch of the central Oregon coast is exceptionally dramatic and beautiful! We look forward to seeing you again in the off-season. Yachats is a great place to visit at any time of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

After a very long difficult travel day, we arrived about six hours past our bedtime. The sweet manager left our key for us in the lockbox. Check in/check out was a breeze.
We walked in to a clean, spacious room and opened the curtains to a beautiful moonlit surf. We could finally relax. We were in the bald Eagle room, and there was plenty of room, and the king sized bed was very comfortable. The linens were soft, and the pillows were just right. The fridge was plenty big for our stay, and the coffee pot was convenient. We had plenty of room in the bathroom and dressing room, and we were left plenty of nice towels. We enjoyed leaving the small windows on either end of the room to feel the breeze all day and night. The balcony was roomy and there were comfortable chairs to sit in. The hotel has a wonderful walking trail in back, along with benches to sit and watch the surf. There is a continental breakfast that is a little sparse, but that was okay with us, as we went out for breakfast. The gift shop has some nice souvenirs. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us! I'm glad we could offer you a comfortable and relaxing place to rest your head after a long day of traveling. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor users, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2017

It's the location that can't be beat, but the room was comfortable and clean, as well. So, in my opinion, that's all a person needs.
The staff was helpful and friendly and the gift shop has a good selection of "I need that" items.
I awoke in the middle of the night, and saw three fishing vessels lined up on the horizon with a sky full of easily visible stars overhead. Can't beat that!

Room Tip: Oceanview if possible
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bkbkSanAntonio_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

One of my favorite perks of working at The Fireside Motel/Overleaf Lodge and Spa is getting a "front row seat" to what's going on out there in the great Pacific! I enjoy seeing the fishing and crabbing boats at night, too. I hope you were also able to see some gray whales on your trip! If not, maybe next time. Thank you for sharing your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We're proud to be the place you call home in Yachats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews