We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We really couldn't have been happier with our stay at The Fireside. Looking for a place on the Central Oregon Coast, we chose this one based on Trip Advisor reviews and it paid off. We stayed in room 38, on the second floor, facing the ocean. The view is amazing and the sound of the ocean throughout the stay was perfect. You are literally just steps from the ocean side trail behind the motel that goes for around a mile. There's lots of rocks to walk around on as well on the beach. The service is also excellent and the rooms are enormous. There is a small balcony as well that you can sit and watch the waves roll in. We don't have anything but positive things to say about the Fireside. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: It's a must to choose an oceanfront room, preferably on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to read that you had such a memorable and positive experience with us! The Fireside is located on an extraordinarily beautiful stretch of the central Oregon coast. I'm glad you took advantage of the 804 walking trail and your oceanfront balcony. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

I have stayed here a couple of times now and really enjoy the place. They are very pet friendly which is a huge plus for anyone who loves having their four legged family members with them. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I have only stayed in rooms with a view and the view is just wonderful. You are right close to a walking path and can access tide pools during low tide. There is no a restaurant on the property but the rooms have a fridge, small coffee pot and microwave. It's a great place to stay if you need or want some coast time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Fireside Motel. We're happy that you're a returning guest! We're very proud to be your coastal getaway spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Beautiful spot on the Oregon Coast! Rooms were clean and nice. You could hear the ocean from your room. Breakfast wasn't much but there are plenty of other restaurants in town. We had problems with the DVD player, it worked but played in black & white. Also the beds were very soft, we need more support for our backs, but all in all this was a nice central spot to see a lot of beautiful sights. As other travelers have mentioned the pluming is very loud.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

It's great to read that you enjoyed the sounds and sights of the mighty Pacific from The Fireside Motel! In the future, please do let us know how we may assist you with any issues, or anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Really nice comfortable bed in a good sized room. No beach access here unless you are very capable of climbing rocks--beautiful though. There is a path along the ocean with lovely views. The hotel has bean bag toss game and horseshoes. Continental breakfast is minimal, with very weak coffee. Room was clean except for tile in shower, gross, needs a good cleaning. Note: Be aware that picture of red cozy building is not the hotel area. It is a regular 2 story strip hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank TravelbugGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your Fireside Motel experience on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad you enjoyed your comfortable bed and the unbeatable ocean views. Guests may walk the 804 trail for about 1/4 mile North to get to 7 miles of flat sandy beach (going all the way to Waldport). The red building pictured is The Overleaf Event Center. It's a great place to rent for a party or other special event! We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Yachats was a perfect stopping point on our trip along the coast and the Fireside motel did not disappoint. Our room was very large with a view of the ocean. You are just steps from the coast with a nice walking path and benches to stroll or sit and watch the waves crash on the rocks. We were minutes from Cape Perpetua including Thor's Well and Devil's Churn. Overall, it's a great motel in a great location on the coast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! There are so many wonderful things to see and do inside and around the charming city of Yachats. Thank you for choosing The Fireside Motel as your Oregon coast getaway destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I'm writing this as I just finished listening to the Tv of the people in the room upstairs and now the shower is going and the plumbing is loud! Floors creaky.
It's very uncomfortable staying here, sound wise. Bed are comfy, nice towels....ask the person upstairs how the shower was.
The receptionist didn't smile, just said ID please, here are the rules.....I get people have bad days but if customer service is your job at least be friendly.
I've stayed here in the winter and it was ok because of the view, except it had a moldy smell. This room smelled strongly of cleaning solution. Which is good it's clean, bad it's a harsh ,unpleasent smell. This room has been upgraded with nice pictures on the walls. The door doesn't fit in the frame right and I think it would be nice to add a chains or an additional lock to the door for security especially on the first floor.
I love Yachats and this property sits on a gorgeous spot. I won't stay here again though....it's 11pm it just got quiet upstairs....night.

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We read every single review and take the opinions of our guests very seriously. We try very hard to make your stay memorably wonderful but understand that we occasionally fall short. When we do not meet or exceed your expectations, we prefer to hear from you while on property so that we can make up for whatever shortcomings you may experience.

We constantly are working to keep our oceanfront property at a high standard. Our maintenance team works daily to fix, improve, and upgrade our facilities. We've had many guests complement our recent upgrades, including new beds, new flooring, new paint, and total renovations in some rooms as needed.

Staying in a fully booked motel of any kind can sometimes mean that you may hear other guests. Our front desk staff wants to know if this happens. We always appreciate the opportunity to make your stay more relaxing and peaceful. We appreciate your understanding in these types of situations.

Speaking of our front desk staff, The Fireside Motel staff is generally very friendly, warm, and welcoming (please see other reviews). I apologize that this was not your experience. Your review will be shared with the staff in an effort to improve our customer service further.

We truly hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Yachats and that your future stays in this wonderful oceanfront village are memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The main office closed early. It was obvious they were waiting on us to arrive so they could close down. They called us multiple times to "make sure we were coming" which felt like being rushed. Then they turned off the lights, locked the doors, and sped away from the office about 30 minutes before it was supposed to close.
The hotel has no air conditioning at all. This might be acceptable if you're on the 2nd story facing the ocean, but if you're on the ground floor facing the parking lot, it's not exactly as "quaint" as they try to make it seem.
The shower either dropped in pressure or ran out of hot water (I can't remember which), which was just icing on the cake.
If I had paid chain hotel prices on the side of some random interstate I would have been disappointed, but it was extremely disappointing for an ocean front hotel costing easily twice as much as an average hotel that has far better amenities and service.

Room Tip: Get ocean front room for breezes since there is no air conditioning, or avoid hotel completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OleManWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCL62, Owner at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Future Guest,

Our front office closes at 10:00, but this often extends to 10:15 or later if we have a guest showing up after 10:00. We never close before 10:00. Between 9:00 and 9:30 we will call guests who have not arrived to find out when they will arrive. If it will be much later than 10:00 we make arrangements with the guest to get the key from the front office, regardless of when they arrive. We have a manager-on-duty when the front office is closed. We never pressure a guest to ‘rush’ to get to us, rather we call them to make them feel comfortable that they can get to their room regardless of the time that they arrive just in case the lobby is closed. We find that most guests appreciate this call.
Concerning air conditioning, we do not have it. I do not know of an oceanfront hotel/motel along the central Oregon coast that does have air conditioning – none do in Yachats. The summer temperature rarely exceeds 75 degrees and on the rare occasions that it does, there typically is a 15 mile-per-hour northwest wind by 6:00 in the evening to cool things down. If it happens to be one of those very rare warm stagnant days, we will immediately get guests a fan upon request.
We are here to make sure you have a great oceanfront experience. On those infrequent occasions where we fall short, please talk with one of our front desk staff members or a manager and we will make sure to provide whatever you need to compliment this beautiful scenic location!

Sincerely,
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
4.2 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.4 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
560 reviews
1.5 km away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.5 km away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
656 reviews
34.3 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $119 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing