We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the business traveler”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bloomsburg
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the business traveler”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed here twice. As a business traveler, price, cleanliness and convenience are huge issues these days. The Bloomsburg EconoLodge offers a fair price, a free continental breakfast, a fitness center, and, most importantly, free wi-fi internet access (a feature as critical nowadays as having sheets on the bed). A very convenient location close to a variety of restaurants and shopping, with easy on-off access to the interstate. Staff is very friendly and professional; the rooms, while certainly not the Four Seasons, are comfortable, well-maintained and above average for properties in this price range. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
18
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had to evacuate for the hurricane... As we were in line heard others who had stayed before on why were the prices higher now... They advertise wifi and you have to go to lobby for that not in your room.... Called tech support several times as they suggested but know one seemed to care to help us. Room was very smelly and lots of bugs flying around...
This will never be a $100.00 a might hotel. Very low end....

Room Tip: Go else where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoGM143, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay.

I am sorry that you did not take the opportunity to move your room closer to our guaranteed wireless hot spot in the lobby as we offered per our conversation. We do not guarantee wireless Internet in our guest rooms though many guests report that they are able to access this in their rooms.

Let me assure you that our award winning property is inspected daily. Conditions as described would be completely unacceptable at our facility. Should an incident like yours be reported at the time of stay, a detailed investigation would take place as well as reasonable and appropriate action taken.

Should you ever return to the area under less stressful conditions, we would like the opportunity to show you how much we care about our guests and our property. Ask for the General Manager when making reservations so that I am able to work with you directly.

Again, thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bloomsburg hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Bloomsburg for a weekend because we were attending a wedding, and we were given a group rate of $89/night. I feel cheated having paid that much to stay in such a dump. I would not pay half of that to stay there again.
The staff were decent. They were not outgoing, but they did their jobs and were never rude. They were not the main issue.
The hotel itself was worn and outdated. It smelled terribly of mold and in certain spots, urine. The public areas were the worst, but thankfully, the room was a bit of an improvement. It was actually clean, but the stench of mold was still present.
Furthermore, the location seemed to be somewhat seedy. It was located next to a rundown mall, and it did not look like an area I would want to be walking around in after dark.
Looking back, I wish I had spent the extra $30 to stay somewhere nicer. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForgetYourTroubles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We booked our diesel motorsports group there and the staff was very helpful- the rooms were very clean!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowtnadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Beds and room were not luxurious but were quite acceptable for the price. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi, fitness center and a well-stocked breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed for one night during a cross country trek. Very friendly desk staff. Extremely convenient...just off I-80. Our room had 2 double beds. Not the most comfortable beds, but I've had worse. Room came equiped with TV (free Showtime); refrigerator; coffee maker; radio alarm clock and phone, but no hair dryer. Desk staff was happy to lend me a hair dryer though. Room was very clean as was the bedding. Bathroom also nice and clean. The room had a slight musty smell when we first arrived, but once we turned on the air conditioner, the smell was gone. I'm guessing that humidity plays a big part in slight musty smells. We've stayed in a number of hotels/motels that have this same problem. The lobby is small, but sufficient enough to house several tables and a large TV. Free continental breakfast consisting of cereal, begals, toast, muffins, oranges, apples, juice, coffee, tea, oatmeal and hard boiled eggs. (No meats). The property sits adjacent to a shopping mall (JC Penny, Sears, etc). Across the street is a Perkins' pancake house and Cracker Barrel Restaurant. Within walking distance, (just a few feet), is a cute restaurant called "Steak and Lube". Also within walking distance: KFC, Wendy's, Burger King. The motel offers a 10% discount card, upon check-in, for Perkins and Steak & Lube. This Econo Lodge also has a very small exercise room equipped with a 1 treadmill, 1 stationary bicycle and 1 stair stepper. The exercise room is clean and neat. It also has a TV. There is a community laundry room with one washer and one dryer. Laundry detergent can be purchased at the front desk. My only problem with this motel is the layout. Rooms are only accessible from inside the hallway. You have to either enter through the lobby or a series of side doors, then walk down the hallway. There is a second floor, as well. If you have trouble walking, this could be a slight problem for you. As I've mentioned previously in this site...this is NOT the Ritz Carlton! This is an Econo Lodge (part of the Choice Hotels chain). You DO get a great value for your money, but don't expect chocolates on your pillow! Also...Free Parking and Free Wi Fi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n2newz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoGM143, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Though it has been almost a month since your comment, I wanted to take a moment to say thank you very much for the many kind words you published about our property. We truly pride ourselves in customer service and our 100% cleanliness gaurnatee and it pleases me that you found these valuable during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Very nice Econolodge. Price is low, unlike alot of similar chains in the region that have jacked up their prices to take advantage of the oil/gas workers in the area.

The bed was a little hard and the rooms feel really small. No flat panel TVs, which seem to be the norm nowadays, but the appliance in the room isn't terrible.


No micro fridge, but since we were only up for the evening it is not a deal breaker.

Colleague complained about road noise from the highway as he was in a room directly opposite said road. Otherwise, a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbaicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomsburg
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#5 of 8 in Bloomsburg
263 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
12.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomsburg
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 8 in Bloomsburg
604 reviews
11.9 km away
Budget Host Patriot Inn
Budget Host Patriot Inn
#6 of 8 in Bloomsburg
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 189 Columbia Mall Dr, Bloomsburg, PA 17815-8316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bloomsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bloomsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award Winning property is centrally located at the hub of Buckhorn with easy on/off access to Interstate 80 at Exit 232. We are just minutes away from the Bloomsburg University, Bloomsburg Fairgrounds, Trap shoot, Knoebels, Covered Bridges, Bloomsburg Hospital, Geisinger Medical Center and Berwick Hospitals. Our establishment is convenient to many fast food and family style eateries within walking distance and a short drive. Econo Lodge guests exclusively receives a 10% discount for any meals at Perkins Family restaurant and our on site Quaker Steak & Lube (restaurant / bar. For your shopping ease, we are situated beside the Columbia Mall and near Super Wal-Mart, Lowe’s, Home Depot, and Travel Centers of America with a vast variety of specialty shops in the historic Downtown Bloomsburg. Our Staff prides itself on 100% Cleanliness Satisfaction and personalized Guest Services. Parking is free with ample room for Trucks and Buses. Group rates are available. Our "Green" property gladly accepts pets (call for details) and offers a Deluxe Continental Breakfast daily. Make Econo Lodge your CHOICE hotel as your home away from home while in the Bloomsburg, PA area! We are here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Bloomsburg
Econo Lodge Bloomsburg
Bloomsburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing