We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Glendorn
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bradford)
US$76
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$122
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
165
23
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
23
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingskeet shootingbig housedorn familyoutdoor activitiestrap shootingjeep tourtroutdining experiencetook advantagerustic elegancecourse dinneroverlook cabinhigh endbalcony roompool tablethe main dining room
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 210 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Let me set up this review first: I am a regular reviewer on TripAdvisor and travel extensively all over the world. I know world class when I see it. the purpose of this particular trip was to spend time with my 39 year old son who is off to Afghanistan in September, so we wanted real father/son bonding time as he will be away for a while. Back in March, I had been fly fishing at the Rio Manso Lodge in Patagonia at the recommendation of the folks at Orvis. That had been so wonderful that I turned to them again for a recommendation for this trip. That is how I found the Lodge at Glendorn.

This is a very special place. It is a good 1 3/4 hour drive from the Buffalo Airport (they provide a driver to meet you) and you find yourself just about at the end of the world (well, it's not the end of the world but you can see it from there!). This is a magnificent property with just about any outdoor activity you could ever desire (see their list). Our raison d'etre was about fly fishing and boy, what an exciting time we had. There are two guides: Shane Appleby and Charlie Rini...Shane has been at Glendorn for more than ten years, and Charlie is a more recent arrival. These guys know their stuff. They got us onto rainbows and browns that were big, bold and brassy...my guess in the general range of 3 - 5 pounds. My son needed some coaching and both Shane and Charlie provided excellent instruction that made Jason's experience truly magnificent. We were there from August 20 - 24th when no one in his right mind would be fly fishing seriously but we were and we did. My hat's off to Shane and Charlie for making our vacation truly memorable...they were just great!

A couple of other thoughts: the dining experience was fantastic...top flight dinners with truly varied menus. Reflecting on one other reviewer's comments, our menus DID have prices on them and, just as an aside, the breakfasts (which are huge) are free. We did find one hidden fee, if you will, for two bottles of wine which we had not requested but they took those off without a single comment. Otherwise, the bill was clear and quite specific.

Accommodations are great. We had Jill's Cabin which was huge and quite comfortable. All the amenities you could possibly ever want are provided and if you can't find it, you probably don't need it. The only thing that was a bit of a bummer was that the "WIFI" is very problematic so if you really need it, you have to take that into consideration. Phone calls on your cell phones can also be difficult but all calls that you make from the room landlines are free, wherever you choose to call.

Glendorn is not inexpensive but if you want a very high-end experience with staff who know how to service their guests thoroughly and with professionalism and expertise, you really should give this Lodge a serious look. We KNOW how to fly fish but they have many folks who come there without a clue who leave knowing how to do so. Jason and I have zillion pictures to remember the stay "forever," but more to the point, WE WILL RETURN!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Hello Mr. R.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. We certainly enjoyed hosting you and your son. I will be sure to share your comments with all the staff. Given our location, in a glen, surrounded by the national forest, we do not have the highest band-width capabilities for Wi-Fi or cell phones. We do have Wi-Fi in the main lodge and other public areas on the property and put in cell phone boosters to receive calls around the main lodge. I am sorry if this was not explained to you but am glad you mentioned that each accommodation has complimentary direct dial telephones. Thank you again for staying with us, thank you to your son for his service to our country, and we look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards, Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We just came back from our annual family trip. 4 nights at Glendorn with 12 of us ranging from 31/2-75. I cannot rave enough about the entire experience from our accommodations to the food the service the activities and amenities. There was nothing that that we asked for that was too much for the staff to make happen for us.
Thank you to all at Glendorn for making our family get away so memorable for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalbert916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear Jalbert916,
Thank you for your posting your comments regarding your family's celebratory stay. We certainly enjoyed your visit and we will share your comments with the staff. Seeing your family doing all the activities from fly fishing to hiking to canoeing together, is what Glendorn is all about. Adventure & Family is in our Nature. We look forward to welcoming your back. With kind regards, Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

staying there is fantastic. we had the jill's lodge which is huge. we travelled with our two little girls.they loved to stay in the surrounding nature and to kanoe on the small lake. and the best for them was the free icecream parlor... next time we have to stay longer as it is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hirnograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear Hirnograph,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit. We certainly appreciate it and will share with the staff. Your daughters were adorable and glad they enjoyed the outdoors as well as the Ice Cream Parlor. We look forward to your next visit and you will have to stay longer. With kind regards, Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

The is a high-end "rural resort." The level of service is incredibly high. It's great for those who love the outdoors and relaxation. There's fishing, skeet shooting, hiking, biking, kayaking, paddle boarding, outdoor games, etc, etc. AND there are gourmet meals. This place is very expensive but, if this is your thing, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo_Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay at Glendorn. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed all the activities we offered. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed the meals. This is our favorite time of year when we can use the vegetables from the chef's garden. Garden to table at it's best. We will look forward to your return visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Glendorn is a beautiful, quiet oasis nestled in the hills of northwestern Pennsylvania. It has a main lodge where meals are served and several separate cabins spread throughout the property. Our family of six adults stayed in one of the newest cabins, the Loft. Each couple had a spacious bedroom and well appointed bathroom. We had a full kitchen, a log-burning fireplace, a comfortable living area, a wet bar, as well as a pool table, screened porch, and two separate loft areas for watching T.V. or playing cards. The Loft is also pet friendly so that family pets can be part of the vacation. We dined at the Lodge for two nights of our three night stay and the meals were memorably delicious. The staff takes the utmost care to make sure that your every need is met. There are many activities for the whole family. We took advantage of the hiking trails, the paddle boards and boats, the kayaks, the trail bikes, the swimming pool, golf and had massages at the spa. It was truly one of the nicest family vacations we have ever had

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnH407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hello AnH407,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Glendorn experience with others. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the Loft. Each cabin at Glendorn is unique and the Loft is a preferred cabin for families, just as you noted. I am so glad to hear you did all the outdoor activities we offer and also enjoyed the meals. We have a terrific staff and I will be sure to share your comments with them. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

With kind regards,

Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews