We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
187
23
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
23
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fly fishing skeet shooting big house outdoor activities dorn family the main house horseback riding jeep tour fire pit trap shooting trout took advantage dining experience overlook cabin course dinner first rate fine dining
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 232 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

I just returned from four nights at Glendorn, celebrating my first wedding anniversary with my husband. Glendorn was a delightful place to be as the leaves turn and the air turns crisp, and the bar’s signature cocktail, an “Autumn Delight”, was truly delightful. We stayed in Dale’s Cabin, which is lovely and is conveniently located across the lawn and the brook from the main lodge. This cabin has a great mix of outdoor and indoor space and has two fireplaces. It’s very spacious and is nicely decorated. You can melt into the sofa in front of the fire after dinner or for an afternoon nap. There are nice touches such as fresh flowers and lots of homemade cookies. My only suggestion is that the bathroom could be updated. Note that the references to the lack of wi-fi are true and service is not available on most of the property.

The food at Glendorn is really incredible – every meal, every day. The pub menu, offered between 5:30pm and 6:30pm, is a nice option if you don’t want the full four-course dinner. We were also told that you can select al-la-carte from the four course menu, which was not readily apparent to us. The steak is delicious, as was the salmon and cod, and desserts are a must. Carol in the dining room and Jennifer at the bar are both wonderful and have great attitudes.

The activities also rank high. We had a wonderful 80-minute massage and steam shower at the spa. The skeet shooting with George was a great learning experience for these first-timers. He was knowledgeable and put safety first. We took the ½ day fly fishing excursion with Charles, which was truly incredible and probably our favorite activity. Charles was very patient and a great teacher. We had a lot of fun and caught and released about 7 trout. It was a crisp autumn day with sunny blue skies – couldn’t have been more picturesque. We also took two hikes on their groomed and well marked trails. We wandered down to Bondieu Lake one afternoon and ate lunch (a backpack lunch so nicely prepared by the kitchen team), laid on the dock and soaked in the sun. We had the whole lake to ourselves for two peaceful hours. While there were other guests at Glendorn, you never feel crowded or as if there is not even space for your own peace and quiet.

We went off property into Bradford one afternoon and visited the Zippo museum. It was good to do something different for a few hours, but you could definitely spend all of your time at Glendorn and not be bored.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimeeandgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigePotter, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear aimeeandgabe,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge at Glendorn! We are so honored that you chose us as a celebratory destination for your first wedding anniversary. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful feedback and remarks for our vast and historically rich property. We also thank you for taking the time to mention our staff by name and recognize their service to you as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to help you celebrate more memorable occasions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Our overall experience at Glendorn was beyond exceptional....starting with the reservation process, through to departure! The accommodations, service, and food
were exemplary. It was a wonderful experience, both from my perspective as a travel
professional, as well as a guest. My husband and I, along with another couple, were
celebrating our 53rd anniversary.The attention to detail, to make this a special memory,
was wonderful!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michelem1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We were delighted that you selected us to celebrate your 53rd anniversary. Congratulations again! As an industry insider, I am pleased to hear we surpassed your expectations. We will share your comments with the staff. Looking forward to your return visit! Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We went to the Lodge at Glendorn for a midweek get-away and absolutely loved the place. We stayed in the Dorn Suite and it was exceptional. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure your stay is memorable. We had great instructors for the trap shooting and fly fishing which was so much fun. It is really a special property and we will definitely be returning!

Room tip: Luxurious cabins as well but I personally prefer the main building and will try the beautiful Green Suite on our next visit.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and we will share your comments with our staff. The Dorn Suite is a guest favorite with the two wood-burning fireplaces and spacious living room. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you. Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Let me set up this review first: I am a regular reviewer on TripAdvisor and travel extensively all over the world. I know world class when I see it. the purpose of this particular trip was to spend time with my 39 year old son who is off to Afghanistan in September, so we wanted real father/son bonding time as he will be away for a while. Back in March, I had been fly fishing at the Rio Manso Lodge in Patagonia at the recommendation of the folks at Orvis. That had been so wonderful that I turned to them again for a recommendation for this trip. That is how I found the Lodge at Glendorn.

This is a very special place. It is a good 1 3/4 hour drive from the Buffalo Airport (they provide a driver to meet you) and you find yourself just about at the end of the world (well, it's not the end of the world but you can see it from there!). This is a magnificent property with just about any outdoor activity you could ever desire (see their list). Our raison d'etre was about fly fishing and boy, what an exciting time we had. There are two guides: Shane Appleby and Charlie Rini...Shane has been at Glendorn for more than ten years, and Charlie is a more recent arrival. These guys know their stuff. They got us onto rainbows and browns that were big, bold and brassy...my guess in the general range of 3 - 5 pounds. My son needed some coaching and both Shane and Charlie provided excellent instruction that made Jason's experience truly magnificent. We were there from August 20 - 24th when no one in his right mind would be fly fishing seriously but we were and we did. My hat's off to Shane and Charlie for making our vacation truly memorable...they were just great!

A couple of other thoughts: the dining experience was fantastic...top flight dinners with truly varied menus. Reflecting on one other reviewer's comments, our menus DID have prices on them and, just as an aside, the breakfasts (which are huge) are free. We did find one hidden fee, if you will, for two bottles of wine which we had not requested but they took those off without a single comment. Otherwise, the bill was clear and quite specific.

Accommodations are great. We had Jill's Cabin which was huge and quite comfortable. All the amenities you could possibly ever want are provided and if you can't find it, you probably don't need it. The only thing that was a bit of a bummer was that the "WIFI" is very problematic so if you really need it, you have to take that into consideration. Phone calls on your cell phones can also be difficult but all calls that you make from the room landlines are free, wherever you choose to call.

Glendorn is not inexpensive but if you want a very high-end experience with staff who know how to service their guests thoroughly and with professionalism and expertise, you really should give this Lodge a serious look. We KNOW how to fly fish but they have many folks who come there without a clue who leave knowing how to do so. Jason and I have zillion pictures to remember the stay "forever," but more to the point, WE WILL RETURN!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Hello Mr. R.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. We certainly enjoyed hosting you and your son. I will be sure to share your comments with all the staff. Given our location, in a glen, surrounded by the national forest, we do not have the highest band-width capabilities for Wi-Fi or cell phones. We do have Wi-Fi in the main lodge and other public areas on the property and put in cell phone boosters to receive calls around the main lodge. I am sorry if this was not explained to you but am glad you mentioned that each accommodation has complimentary direct dial telephones. Thank you again for staying with us, thank you to your son for his service to our country, and we look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards, Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We just came back from our annual family trip. 4 nights at Glendorn with 12 of us ranging from 31/2-75. I cannot rave enough about the entire experience from our accommodations to the food the service the activities and amenities. There was nothing that that we asked for that was too much for the staff to make happen for us.
Thank you to all at Glendorn for making our family get away so memorable for everyone.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalbert916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanAbrashoff, General Manager at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear Jalbert916,
Thank you for your posting your comments regarding your family's celebratory stay. We certainly enjoyed your visit and we will share your comments with the staff. Seeing your family doing all the activities from fly fishing to hiking to canoeing together, is what Glendorn is all about. Adventure & Family is in our Nature. We look forward to welcoming your back. With kind regards, Dan Abrashoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews