We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottages are dated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canadensis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martinville Streamside Cottages
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Cottages are dated”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My husband I vacation here in Aug 2010. I looked at the website at the cottages
and they looked very nice - very deceiving. The decor was not the same as they have on the website. We stayed in the Laurel and the cabin smelled like a dead mouse.
The water in the cabin was horrible - they pump it out of the stream and it has a horrible smell and taste. It was awful to take a shower. Of course
we bought bottled water...Nice deck and stream. The maid service was great...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skepler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollymartin123, Owner at Martinville Streamside Cottages, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
we do not pump our water from the stream that would be not only illegal but so not good for our guests. You have to understand that our water has a lot of iron not bad for anyone. Please understand that we have installed a water treatment system and we hope that will please our guests in the future If anyone has a complaint we would like that they talk to the management at our resort not Tripadvisor as this one negitive complaint can hurt our family and our reaort that we take so much pride in and have been in business for over 30 years without bad reviews from this site. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We called in advance to inform them we were going to arrive late. When we arrived, the place was so dark, one of us tripped on the stairs going up to our room. The room itself had spider webs in the corners. When I pulled down the bed sheets, bugs came out, not in droves, but there were enough to notice. There were no towels or soap in the bathroom and the toilet was dirty. The shaky air conditioner made a terrible noise that was so loud, it made any attempt to sleep while it was running impossible. Sleeping was a challenge anyway. People outside were having a late night party and their voices carried. Plus the place is right next to a busy highway, so the sound of cars interupts the country feel. When we complained, we were given sheets, taken from someone else’s room and told that even though someone may have smoked in our non smoking room, the management couldn’t control what guests do. They offered to shampoo the carpet in the morning. For the price they charge, it is definately not worth it.The only good thing is the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollymartin123, Owner at Martinville Streamside Cottages, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Yes we have the most unique setting in the Poconos. We try to please every guest that comes to our resort. We are a family business and have been here for over 30 years(not including our grandmother and grandfather who established the business) If there is a complaint we try to correct as soon as we can. This review truly makes our family sad as we have such a great network of repeat visitors and wish to extend our hospitality to any new guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canadensis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canadensis
16.6 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,413 reviews
1.4 km away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,155 reviews
2.5 km away
The Frogtown Inn
The Frogtown Inn
#3 of 3 in Canadensis
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
11.5 km away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,494 reviews
4.1 km away
The Brookview Manor
The Brookview Manor
#1 of 3 in Canadensis
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinville Streamside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinville Streamside Cottages

Property: Martinville Streamside Cottages
Address: Box 323, Route 390 North, Canadensis, PA 18325-0323
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Canadensis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canadensis
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Martinville Streamside Cottages Hotel Canadensis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing