We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Champion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in a beautiful newly-remodeled room to celebrate our 5th anniversary. My favorite feature was the balcony that overlooked the lovely park/garden. We sat out there for hours! The seafood buffet featured just about every dish you can think of. The breakfast buffet was the best I've ever seen, and included with our stay. The grounds were just gorgeous. We were there during the Rib & Wing Festival, which made it more crowded, but we enjoyed having the live entertainment and opportunity to purchase chicken & ribs for lunch! There were plenty of activities to pick from. Bring lots of $$$$ as everything is pretty expensive there. Overall, it was a great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Changed a lot and for the better! There is a center for the children but we did not take our kids. We went back to redo our honeymoon. The scenery was beautiful from on top of the ski slopes. You need to get involved in the activities they offer. They are supposed to have a wonderful Octoberfest every year too. They offer specials for that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easterbunny2955265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I went here for a mother/daughter sleepover and got the "Trillium Spa Package". We got a bedroom in the hotel on the first floor with 2 queen beds. It had old furniture (but adequate) --- i.e. rustic. The bathroom was updated, but average. Since it was pouring down raining, we had to eat in the hotel (Timbers Cafe) --- it was an OK meal. The breakfast buffet was nice --- fruit bar, pastries, omelet chef, scrambled eggs, sausage (including turkey sausage), bacon, potatoes, sausage gravy & biscuits, etc... The Trillium Spa has been there for 2 years and is beautiful --- very classy. The black mud wrap and massage were amazing. The manicure and pedicure, although very comfortable, were not the best that I've had. My nail polish peeled the next day . Maybe it was the person whom I got. The spa has a relaxation room with ice water, herbal teas, fresh fruit, and nuts --- I could have stayed there all day on the chaise lounges. If I had 2 small children, I would HIGHLY recommend their $219 per person (kids stay free) special --- that is a bargain!

Room Tip: The hotel is right in the midst of EVERYTHING. If you get a condo, you have to drive a distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We visited the Seven Springs Mountain Resort this summer as part of a family reunion. Here’s our experience in a nutshell:

Accommodations
We stayed at the resort’s hotel and chose a room called the “family queen.” We chose this specific design because it provided two separate “bed areas” -- one for the kids and one for us. Each area within the bedroom had its own television, dresser and door. The areas were separated by the bathroom. The room, however, was extremely small and looked a little bit outdated. Our bedspreads and wall paper, for example, looked like they had been there since the 1970s. Our aunt and uncle, conversely, rented a room called the “Grand Suite.” The room was considerably more expensive, but it was very spacious and had been nicely updated with a more contemporary flare.

Customer Service
The staff provided adequate customer service. We had a fast and efficient check in and check out. The concierges were readily available to answer questions and provided thorough details regarding information outside of the hotel premises. Housekeeping services need improvement. Our room never looked like it had been vacuumed. Also, as other reviewers have mentioned, they begin their cleaning process around 8 a.m. Make sure you place your do not disturb sign on the door the night before.

The Activities
There was plenty to do for everyone. The number of activities was impressive and exceeded our expectations. The Toboggan, Zipline, Alpine Tower, Alpine Slide, BMX Biking, Tubing, a concert series, a rib festival, children camp, indoor mini golf, and a nicely-maintained small bowling alley, were all within a few feet from the hotel. There’s plenty to do for everyone. The activities can be a bit pricey, if you are staying there longer than a weekend. Guests may purchase activity bands that allow them to access many of the activities without having to purchase individual tickets for each. The bands cost about $30 each per day. I got the impression that the hotel was designed to feel like an “indoor small town” so that guests vacationing during the winter months have plenty to do inside.

The Restaurants
To us, the dining experience was the most impressive part of our stay. Our children have multiple food allergies and eating out while on vacation is always a stressful process. But, the resort prides itself in serving this particular segment of the population and they did it very well. Chef Adam at the Slopeside and Timbers restaurants was very knowledgeable and empathetic. He met with the kids and talked to them about their particular likes and dislikes and how the kitchens could please and accommodate by serving them nutritious and delicious foods they could eat. The staff prepared special breakfast, lunch and dinner for them without adding any extra costs. To us that was a priceless gesture, especially because they did it during very busy times of the day.

Overall
Overall, we recommend the resort for travelers who are willing to drive for a weekend get-away. Even though we had a positive experience, enjoyed the food and the natural beauty of the area, we believe the destination itself, during the summer months, was not unique to justify flight expenses. I would not recommended it as a destination vacation. Sophisticated travelers looking for high end accommodations and atmosphere will not find this resort suitable. Families looking for a weekend getaway and willing to overlook the outdated and ordinary accommodations might have a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ultraselective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel this past week and was thoroughly impressed. The room was more than I expected and had a balcony overlooking the ski slopes. Everything you need is all right there. I have to make note of how wonderful the front desk staff was. It was extremely busy at the hotel that day and the desk staff all still had smiles and were very informative/helpful. This makes a great getaway for a few days.

Golf course was very nice too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Mixed a busienss trip in with a family stay and had a nice time. Plenty to keep kids busy. Restaurants are good/pricey, but to be expected. Rooms are clean but not spotless. I am a picky cleaner though (behind things/baseboards/so forth). The property is a bit of a maze to get to conference center...be prepared to walk a bit from the lodge to conference center. I would return if rates were on special, and would not hesitate to hold a business function here (the staff did excellent job with catering and managing the event).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I logged more than 70,000 miles just this year (and it's only August), and stayed in many different hotels around the world. I have NEVER seen worse than Seven Springs Resort. Just everything a hotel can do wrong, they do it wrong.

We were at Seven Springs Resort for a family reunion - and thank god everyone was so understanding - otherwise, we would've ruined our gathering. And, we may have picked the wrong dates to stay there because they were having sheetz convention - so they probably did not care about other people who stayed in the hotel. Three major reasons why this place was a huge disappointment.

1. Incredibly overpriced. If you are a skier, and you love the mountain. You probably can stay at SS for that reason..ONLY. The hotel is worse that many of the chain inns (days inn....or something like that). The rooms are so outdated - I felt like I was staying in a MOTEL. For what we paid the entire weekend - we could've stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Pittsburgh
2. Dirty. Cleaning people start knocking on your door from 8am - I have never seen this happened in other hotels. But, if you are in the room - they ask 'You need anything?' Duh?!?! Yes, you are supposed to come in and clean the room (vacuum and etc.) They not once vacuum the room the entire three days of our stay.
3. People who work there are so miserable. Seven Springs Managers.. please train your service people. It is a resort!!!! which means everything, every restaurant, and everyone must be integrated and synchronized!! They have three restaurants in the main area. If you eat at one place and want to go drink at another place. GOOD LUCK getting a nice service. We were left in the table more than 30 minutes..so..we went over to the bar..and served ourselves. We also had a incredibly rude waitress lady - who yelled at us for pointing out her mistake on the bill.

In conclusion, I have never experienced such a poorly run hotel in my entire travel experience. This place need a lot of work on both infrastructure and their service and people. If you are a savvy traveler, no doubt that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HurTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champion
11.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
16.7 km away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
18.3 km away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
18.3 km away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
18.8 km away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#6 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Springs Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Springs Mountain Resort

Address: 777 Water Wheel Dr, Champion, PA 15622-4007
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Champion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Price Range: $184 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Springs Mountain Resort is the perfect place for family vacations that create lifelong memories. Each year the family-friendly resort hosts more than one million overnight and day guests who enjoy a vacation that includes the finest skiing, snowboarding and golf that Pennsylvania has to offer, the exhilaration of the new Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tours, sporting clays and the ultimate in relaxation at the luxurious Trillium Spa.Seven Springs is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.With more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space available, Seven Springs hosts more than 1,000 meetings, conferences and banquet groups each year. Seven Springs Mountain Resort can accommodate more than 5,000 overnight guests in its perfectly appointed 414-room, 10-story high-rise hotel, nearly 1,200 condominiums and town homes, 11 cottages and 15 chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Springs Mountain Resort
Seven Springs Pa
Seven Springs Resort Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Hotel Champion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing