We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. No bed bugs.”
Review of Super 8 Clearfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Clearfield
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Clean. No bed bugs.”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel was clean and most important - NO BED BUGS. Here are my pros and cons:

PROS:

1) The motel is set up so that all the rooms are inside the building rather than the balcony kind. That's better security.
2) I was able to park very close to the entrance. It was fairly well lit.
3) Nice location - right off the highway and near a gas station, Arbys, and McDonalds.
4) Clean. Rooms are a bit musty, but are indeed clean. I didn't see any bugs, including roaches, spiders, or the dreaded bed bugs (and I searched!)
5) The continental breakfast includes waffles and french toast.

CONS
1) The front desk actually signed someone in under my reservation and initially charged my card! When I arrived at 9pm, I was told I had already checked in. Obviously, I had not. The woman was able to take the charge off of my card. I still worried though this other desk received my personal information, even if the woman assured they would not have. Really, a simple name check would have shown it wasn't the right room.

2) Because the other guest took my room, they didn't have the queen I had ordered. I instead got 2 full beds. The woman did take $5 off.

3) Check out was very slow. The computer apparently wasn't working right, and it took between 10 to 15 minutes just to check out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    265
    69
    20
    4
See reviews for
279
179
72
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Connecticut. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The desk clerk even found us a discount on our room rate. The room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was provided. it included fresh waffle, sweet rolls, french toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea.
It's also easy to find just off the freeway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Traveling cross country for the second time. This chain can be inconsistent but this location is great and newly renovated, which helps a lot. But clearly the management here cares and lots of details are thought of. Great breakfast, comfortable beds, it has it all. And it's clean and not scary like some other Super 8's out there. I didn't feel like I needed a shower after a shower, if you know what I mean. After you check in drive or walk across the street to the Dutch Inn for some food. It's an experience and affordable.

Room Tip: We were in the back and had a great breeze through the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atkinson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, low price - perfect for a stop from the highway (1Minute from exit).
A minus for the smell of cigarettes in the hall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaheleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. Both times the staff has been friendly. The rooms are clean and the internet is great. Breakfast is good for a super 8. Room was nice and quiet and its easy to get on and off the highway. If you are just passing through, gas is quite expensive in Clearfield, i would recommend filling up a few exits east or west on 80.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The motel is great. It is very clean and comfortable. Right off the freeway. The staff is friendly and takes the time to visit with guests. I would definitely recommend the Super 8 in Clearfield, PA. The town, though, is really spread out in an odd manner. Very easy to get shot off around a mountain and possibly lost forever. Travelers don't have to worry about that since the motel's location is near plenty of food establishments. They allow pets for $5 more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bittersweet1
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stopped by this motel on the way home and stayed for a single night. The woman who checked us in was very nice. The room I stayed in was very clean for such an inexpensive hotel, and it was much better than I was expecting. There was a flat screen tv, and a nice counter top in the bathroom. The room I stayed in had 2 queen beds in it and cost approximately $70. If you get a king-sized bed in your room, it costs a little bit more. The going rate on the door says rooms cost about $88/night, but it appears that they give everyone stopping in some sort of discount.

There is a continental breakfast with toast, cereal, and coffee. I believe there is even a waffle maker. I didn't have any, but it seemed like a pretty standard continental breakfast at a motel.

All in all, I would recommend staying here. It is very clean, and the staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittersweet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearfield hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Clearfield
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearfield
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Clearfield
Comfort Inn Clearfield
#6 of 9 in Clearfield
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
#8 of 9 in Clearfield
4 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Clearfield
Hampton Inn Clearfield
#4 of 9 in Clearfield
356 reviews
2.6 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 9 in Clearfield
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clearfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clearfield

Property: Super 8 Clearfield
Address: 14597 Clearfield Shawville Hwy, I-80 & Route 879 - Exit 19, Clearfield, PA 16830-6111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clearfield 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Clearfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Clearfield Hotel Clearfield
Super Eight Clearfield
Clearfield Super Eight
Clearfield Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing