We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, A Great Find!”
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delaware Water Gap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The Deer Head Inn is awesome. This is why I love the US. You can go to a small town and find a great bar with great jazz! Mary, the owner/manager was so friendly and helpful. We decided to go there with our daughter who has a food allergy and Mary made sure we had nothing to worry about. Our server was the same way.

The jazz band, the Cota Cats were fantastic. Coming from NYC we didn't know what to expect, but they were kickin', fantastically talented and great for a night of jazz.

Go if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Great Jazz Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Risk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2017

Good food and great music JAZ JAZ JAZ That's what it's all about.My grandson and I had good burgers and a night of GREAT JAZ Our first visit but not our last.A $10 cover each was well worth it. If your in the area stop in for good food and Great music.One of the oldest places for jaz in the country.

Room Tip: Need to call for hotel info.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank ejs1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Found this in Oct 2009 for a place to stay for East Stroudsburg Univ homecoming. Best off the beaten path place to stay. tons of history at the Inn and in town. Simple accommodations, good food and great Jazz. Be mindful of the expectations of a Jazz club, this is true deal. No chatter, no loud banter. This is true to what you should expect of the longest continuing club in the country. We come back here each year. It's great for a couple BUT NOT FOR KIDS.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WestCoaster508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This Inn has been around a long time, the foundation has settled leaving some area floors uneven but I felt it added to the experience. A live 3 piece jazz band playing during a delicious meal. Breakfast is full dining and fabulous with a live guitarist. The rooms and Baths modern and very comfortable.

Room Tip: have stayed in both rooms 302 and 304. very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TCraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

A group friends went to support the daughter of a friend who is a rising jazz singer/song writer and was performing for the night. The music was awesome and the sound system was pretty good. The food I must say was average nothing to write home about, and the prices were good, over all it was a nice time. The service was good the waitress was pretty attentive and friendly. The decor was typical for the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank alfredo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The building dates from the mid-19th century, perhaps 1853, so it is old, but the rooms have been updated in keeping with the sense of the building. We have stayed here several times, and this time in suite 301, which features a four-poster bed in a room with pocket doors so guests could seal off the room if desired, and a living room area with a comfortable sofa that is also a sofa bed. Bathroom is modernized and works well, good shower. Two doors to bathroom so guests could enter from bedroom or living room. My favorite room and I will stay here again. we come every year for the Jazz festival the weekend after Labor Day.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank viageira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The wife and I stopped in while vacationing. Enjoyed the different musicians playing as well as the singer! Very good atmosphere. We also had dinner. The selection was limited but adequate. I didn't notice any handicap accessible entry. My wife did have a difficult time handling all the stairs. But nevertheless she enjoyed herself. This would be a place we would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware Water Gap
1.1 km away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
116 reviews
5.7 km away
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
#5 of 8 in Stroudsburg
365 reviews
3.6 km away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,242 reviews
11.7 km away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Address: 5 Main St, Delaware Water Gap, PA 18327
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Delaware Water Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Delaware Water Gap
Price Range: $112 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving breakfast on weekends and dinner Thursday through Sunday and the last Monday of every month. The Deer Head Inn, the oldest continuously running jazz club in the country. The inn boasts 10 rooms each with private bath, 2 of which are suites. Our menu of eclectic American Continental is bound to satisfy everyone. We serve both classic dishes as well as adventurous faire. We are open Thursday-Saturday 5:30 PM to 11:00 PM and Sundays 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM. We have live music Thursday thru Sunday, and the last Monday of every month. Breakfast is served on Saturdays from 8 am to noon and Sundays 8 am to 2 pm. Reservations are strongly suggested. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Head Hotel Delaware Water Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing