We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
11
18
8
10
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
18
8
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store nice campground delaware river port o potties campers canoe potty rv milford
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 65 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We were camping with 7 adults in our 40's/50's and a 14-year old on 2 sites at the river. Just about all State Parks throughout the country are "dry" but if you are responsible and respectful, I have never in my years of camping had any problems. I realize this campground is monitored by Federal Rangers, but figured their policy was pretty much the same. Wrong. We were sitting around the campfire having a few alcoholic beverages around 8pm or so. All of a sudden, 2 Park Rangers came out of nowhere and asked if we had any alcohol. They then pointed to a bottle of beer we carelessly left on a table and asked where the rest of the alcohol was. Long story short, they had us pour out every single bottle of alcohol from the coolers. Every. Single. Bottle. Treated us like children. I got a citation since I had paid for the campground. We got over it after a while and we were finally enjoying ourselves again. Perhaps a bit childish and careless, we had a 1/2 bottle of rum in one of our cars and had some of that. We were not out of control or anything like that. Then the Rangers showed up again. Like they were stalking us. They said they were listening to our conversation and heard us talking about having a drink. They went through every one of our coolers - finding nothing. Rudely told us to sit down and not move. Threatened to evict us right then and there. The 14-year old was now crying and extremely upset. They would not let his mom comfort him and told her to get him under control. Then they put the flashlight right in his face and asked what was wrong. Really? Wtf was wrong with them??? We got two more citations and were evicted from the campground. They said they were being nice by letting us stay the night. Right. The site itself was pretty nice, but the Rangers were out of control and on a mission to ruin someone's night. I don't know how they sleep at night. Clearly they don't have kids themselves.

Stay if you don't drink and like to whisper around the campfire. Otherwise, stay clear.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank MB08809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

After we realized Kittatinny Campground was not our camping style, they helped us find another campground to stay and called around. We packed up and headed to Dingmans that only had one site left on a busy weekend. Office staff was nice. We have a 36 ft TT and it fit in the site no problem and there was plenty of room in the site where you don't feel like you were on top of your neighbors. It is a little tight turning it in bec the campground road is narrow. Very spacious, wooded sites (my kind of camping). I believe we were in site #17 towards the beginning of the campground loops. There is water and electric. Dump station is by the bathrooms. The bathrooms look new in a log cabin looking building. Reading other reviews, we were never bothered by a ranger and we were around the campfire til 1am telling stories. We plan on going back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PrincessJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Campsites are COVERED in poison ivy as are most access points to the river. Bathrooms were dirty. And we were told by store staff that alchohol was "permitted in solo cups". Not the case! Park rangers approached us as we were campfire side giving sitations for open alcohol. Almost like a set up. Park ranger proceeded to yell at my 2 year old for playing with a flash light, make him cry and then tell me to "get him under control." When the manager of the store was asked about the event, we were told "the camp ground has nothing to do with the rangers."---Not a good place at all. Unless you like dirty, to be harassed and leave with itchy rashes.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank airsealand433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We were approached by the park rangers at this site for too much noise. We were telling camp stories around a campfire. The ranger who approached did not identify himself and proceeded to berate us and threaten us for this offense. The children were crying as well as some adults. Some of us packed up immediately and left the campsite. This seemed excessive for a noise issue at a little after 10 pm. Turned a family and friends trip in to a total nightmare. If making smores around the campfire is what you desire stay clear of this place. Choose another site

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank camper12332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

First time here. You may choose river spots instead of the forest. Restrooms are in bad condition. River is good. Tent spots are good. You may stay in the river. You better bring some food. I am planning to go for participating a canoe activity.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank yasin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews