We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff friendly and hospitable”
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

I ended up stuck in Erie in the massive snow storm that hit after Christmas.

The hotel is simple, clean, and affordable, and also pet friendly (with no fees). There are no frills, but the premise was clean and safe and the room was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank LizzieWanderer125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for allowing us to provide you shelter from the winter craziness! We broke records this year with our snow fall, and are glad to have been able to provide such a welcoming and safe place for our guests. I went out with our maintenance and another employee and we brushed off cars, and shoveled them out so that our plow could clean up the lot everyday.
We're happy to hear that you ended up back home safe, and hope that next year the winter is a little more milder and that you'll have easier travels if you're in the area!
Hope you have a wonderful remainder of the season and thank you for your kind words!
Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

This is a decent, clean and good value Motel. The staff are quite courteous and attentive and overall a good place to stay. The only drawback was the breakfast coupon for McD's is a little disappointing because that place is very busy and dirty, not an enjoyable experience getting your food. The only stain on a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilboWaggins35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you so much for considering our hotel such a nice place with a nice price! We're happy to be able to provide our guests such quality service when they stay with us! We try to keep our staff motivated with constant dialogue and contests with prizes for performing GSR's at our front desk.
I'm sorry that you were not able to find the McDonalds voucher useful during your stay. We understand that not all guests will love our breakfast option. We are limited in options for our guests due to our property lacking a kitchen and McDonalds have been very open to working with our various needs for setting up the voucher.
I hope that you will not let this dissuade you from staying with us in the future as we would love to see you again!
We wish you a wonderful winter season and hope to see you on your next trip through Erie!
Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Had to make an unexpected stop during a major snowstorm and came upon the Red Roof as it was right off the highway. It was clean and affordable. Was able to walk right next door to McDonalds so I didn't have to drive anymore in the snow. The staff was great and they worked hard to keep the walkways and the parking lot clear of snow or at least as much as they could during the storm.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you for allowing us to provide you with a little respite during our recent blizzard! We're glad you made it safe to the property. We do our best to keep our guests happy during the snowstorm. Whenever our plow was in the parking lot I would go out with my team and brush off and dig out cars so that we could move them to a plowed spot.
We're happy that our efforts did not go unnoticed and hope that your return drive home was a stress-free one, and we wish you a wonderful holiday season!
Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Large beautiful room with hard wood floors. Great lighting. We stayed in a handicap room, very large doorways. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, never heard the highway noise. Parking was right outside the room. Would stay again!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank mkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you so much for writing a review about how much you enjoyed the room! We're glad that our ADA accessible room was to you liking! The room is available to anyone that needs a little extra in the bathroom as they do have additional support bars around the shower and toilet. The rooms are also just for anyone that is not a fan of stairs as you've mentioned you can pull your car right up to the room. They also come equipped with a microwave and a mini fridge in case guests have any medication that needs kept cold. All in all we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope you have a wonderful holiday season!
Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We selected this hotel because it is pet friendly. Sometimes, pet friendly hotels are beaten up (not by the pets but just older). Not in this case. The room was clean and had excellent amenities and everything seemed to be quite new. The front desk receptionist was helpful and nice. Breakfast was a voucher to a next door McDonalds. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face away from I-90
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you so much for considering us such a quality pet-friendly hotel! We do our best to stand out from the competition by keeping it simple and focusing on room cleanliness and our customer friendliness. When our guests report issues to us we put the room out of order right away and leave it out until the problem is resolved.
We're very grateful for your recommendation and hope to see you again!
Thank You and we hope you have a wonderful holiday season,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Great location close to I-90; clean, good air quality, adequate HVAC, nice shower, decent bed and pillows, and breakfast voucher for McDonald's (right next to hotel) included. Great value if you're just looking for a simple, clean room to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_One1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you so much for considering us such a nice value for the area! We do our best to keep our entire housekeeping focused on maintaining our rooms. It's easy to miss something in a room, so we make sure to have our rooms inspected by another housekeeper to keep our guests satisfied when they come to check in.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope that you keep us in mind if you find yourself in the Erie area again! We appreciate you choosing us and hope you have a wonderful winter season!
Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

I found the front desk and cleaning staff at this hotel very friendly. I didn't know what the area was like here when planning our trip but felt very safe in this clean hotel.

I think it was rather genius that the free breakfast with my stay was actually a voucher to the McDonalds next door. Definitely a step up from the average hotel breakfast and a great way to get us on our way.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

I am very glad that you decided to give us a try! We love showing our guests just how great our hotel can be. Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of our rooms! My housekeeping staff love hearing feedback on their work and use the comments as fuel to strive for an even better hotel. We're also glad that you enjoyed our McDonalds voucher so much! They are available for every registered guest in each room before 10:30am every day! I hope the next time you are in town you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
21.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
4.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
5.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range: C$68 - C$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing