We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice. A good night's sleep”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stayed twice. A good night's sleep”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I have stayed twice at this hotel. Once I was on the second floor and once on the fourth floor. I am a memeber of the wyndham by rewards program and the first time I got in really late and there were probably not rooms on the fourth floor.

Both nights I slept well. Lots of pillows. Bed was fine. The fourth floor room had a king sized bed and a bigger bathroom area, which was nice.

Good breakfast with starbucks coffee (I think). Fresh fruit, made to order omlets.

Overall a nice stay. I am in the area for work periodically, and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your great comments about your room. We are also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are going to pass all of these comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a great job.

Once again thank you for your time. We hope that you will come stay with us again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    207
    162
    121
    81
See reviews for
254
82
61
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I am in the area for business, and will be for the coming weeks. Since I am on the road about 2/3 of my week, bedding and comfort are very important to me. I chose this hotel because based on the website it seemed like an "at home" kind of place, with complimentary breakfast (free with my corporate rate) and "Wyndham Be-Well" bedding.

Little did I know that "Be-Well" bedding means a mattress comparable to a conference room table, and a single blanket barely enough to keep me warm at night. Half the television channels had "no signal" and when I called to complain they said they would have someone check on it, and I still have heard nothing nor seen any results after 2 and a half days. The room also smelled like smoke, despite it being a non-smoking hotel. This was not just in my room either. 2 colleagues had the exact same complaints after the first night. To be fair the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly (though not particularly helpful).

I'll be back in town next week and I'm staying at one of the other hotels down the road

Room Tip: There are non. They are all out of date. But if you can ask for one that looks out the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time tor review our hotel. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay. We have passed your comments about your room and bed on to to our management team. We use these comments to better serve you and future guests.

Once again we are very sorry for your recent stay. We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I recently had a baby shower at the Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge and it was great. The staff worked well to coordinate the event and met all my needs and expectations. The food was excellent. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking to host an event.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueJello3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your event that you had a the hotel. We are very happy that we could accommodate the baby shower. We hope that you will consider us for future events.

The Wyndham Garden Exton is a convenient location for your meeting, convention or milestone event. Located in the heart of Chester County near Valley Forge and Lancaster in the Philadelphia suburbs. We have more than 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including two spacious ballrooms, three additional meetings rooms and an Executive Boardroom, along with our Tented Pavilion and Rose Garden Gazebo adjacent to the outdoor pool

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The staff were all most accommodating, the food excellent, and our room was well appointed and comfortable. I would recommend it highly to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments about your stay. Thanks for commenting about your food. Your comments about your service will be passed on to our staff.

Thank you again for comments. We hope to see you again, on your next visit to the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed at the Wyndham for three nights, only needed a place to crash. Hotel has bar and restaurant, indoor and outdoor pool but did not use any of these. Free parking. Checked in late, check in was smooth and quick, (ran into the wedding party in the bar), room (west wing) was ready with Wyndham request snack inside and AC on. Wyndham web site says hotel is recently renovated. Lobby looks renovated and modern. Hallways look average, carpet looks new, all the room doors look old and original. The "room" we stayed in looked renovated, except for the wooden furniture looking a bit beat and old 70s wall o windows, new carpet, clean fresh walls, nice Wyndham bed and linens, flat screen TV. We had king with sofa. Room size is average. However the bathroom looked original from the 70s with green tile, old counter top, old wallpaper peeling on edges, loose towel racks and slow draining tub. Functional but old. Web site also says every room has a refrigerator but we never found ours. We just kept our cooler we brought loaded with ice. WiFi (free) signal was a bit weak in the room but seemed to work just fine. Housekeeping took our hand towels that were still hanging up after first night and didn't leave any new ones but other than that service was fine. Starbucks is next door and shopping center is about half mile away. Would probably stay again as long as the rate is competitive and lower than the newer hotels near by.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently working on renovating our hotel. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for your concerns about the bathroom in your room. We have passed these comments on to our staff. We are starting to correct such problems in the bathrooms. We are sorry that you did not have a refrigerator in your room. Refrigerators are only offered in our executive king rooms and executive double rooms only.

Thank you again for your time . We hope you will consider us again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pitsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for a wedding nearby. There were many complaints from our party of over 40. Ours started with the reservation people who offered no help when I asked which rooms woul better accommodate a cot saying only that, "all rooms are the same size." I opted for the king + pullout. Then they told me they couldn't guarantee that we'd get a cot as they are first come first served. When we got to our room it was obvious a cot wouldn't fit. The manager did offer the double queen but my husband is tall and needs the king so we stayed in our room. There were no linens for the pullout. There were only three towels so we called housekeeping for more- three times without getting them. The next day, after being out of our room for eight hours, there had been no housekeeping service. Others who stayed were put on hold for over 20 minutes when they called the front desk to have their A/C checked- that happened twice. We were given complementary breakfast and a $50 adjustment on our bill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gibsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our goal is to provide a great customer experience for everyone. Your concerns about your room have been passed on to our staff. We really appreciate your comments. These comments will help us improve our service for future guests, and you.

Once again we are very sorry for your stay. We hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Close to 276. The lobby is great. The halls are old and worn. The rooms are good. Not new but still in good shape. Great beds, very comfy. The doors to the rooms really need replacing. There was a gap in my door and they just look old. A bad first impression of your room. The hotel is near lotst of shopping and restaurants. The Exton mall is nearby. Basically a good find by my travel agent and a good price. Free parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time tor review our hotel. Your concerns about the room will be addressed. We strive as a hotel to provide a great stay for everyone. Your comments help us improve on that.


The Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Chester County. We are just a short drive from historic sites such as Philadelphia, Valley Forge National Park, Lancaster County, and Reading, Pennsylvania.

For those who love to shop, the hotel is located near such popular shopping venues such as the Court and Plaza at King of Prussia, the Exton Square Mall, the Philadelphia Premium Outlets, QVC Studios, Vanity Fair Outlets in Reading, and the numerous outlets in Lancaster County.

We hope you will come see us again, on your next visit to Exton! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exton
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites West Chester Exton
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Exton
Hampton Inn Exton
#2 of 8 in Exton
548 reviews
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Exton / West Chester
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Exton
6.3 km away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 815 N Pottstown Pike, Exton, PA 19341-1561 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Exton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge Hotel Exton
Hotel At Chester Springs
Chester Springs Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing