We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
vacation

Great campground,Nice staff and great sites only downfall was no place near by to put in our... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2017
robbiedavis42
,
Fairgrove, Michigan
A break from the freeway

We were travelling north on the I-81 and, instead of pulling off into one of the private... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2017
Rosalind P
,
Greensboro, North Carolina
Read all 123 reviews
  
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
57
43
16
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
43
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews appalachian trail large pool no pets lots of picnic tables family reunion picnic area for sale visitor center stream campground stevens bathhouse playground woods fishing spigot chambersburg
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We found this tranquil, tree-shaded, state campground to be a blessing after seven hours of traveling south from NY state. We missed a sign and made the mistake of taking the first right turn rather than the second right after entering the campground, which turned out to be a dead end road. We eventually found our way across a little bridge over a burbling creek before we entered the campsite area. The melodious creek runs next to the campground and provides water music to many of the campsites. The back-in campsites were arranged beside the road that looped with a counter clockwise traffic pattern with the bathrooms at the top of the loop. There were only a few campsights that were actually creekside. We had electric only hookup and the bathrooms were quite dated. There was a dishwashing sink on the back of the bathroom building which was a nice feature. Water could be carried from a central spigot.

The part of the campground we were in will be closed next season (summer 2019) for upgrading the facilities. The park was in the upgrade process on another section of campsites this year. There was firewood and ice available for sale by the camp host. The other areas of the park had a large tree-covered area with plenty of picnic tables and lots of parking. There were several hiking trails that made us dissapointed that we were just overnighting rather than staying a few days to enjoy what the park had to offer.

Thank Road_Warrior32034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

People were super nice, we got right in on the 4th of July and there was lots for the kids to do. There was a public swimming area that did cost $6 a person. However, there were so many ponds and creeks for the kids to play in. Plus there was a small pond for the kids to fish at. Super nice state park!

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Caledonia State Park is a good place for a day visit. If you go in the summer, there is a beautiful, large swimming pool. The pool includes a good changing area. It was very refreshing. Caledonia has nice hiking, including the Appalachian Trail, which passes through the park. There is a large picnic area.
But, we did not like the campground. We were in the Hosack Run loop. Most of the sites were so close together that it felt very un-private and claustrophobic surrounded by RVs. If you are tent camping, it is hard to find a smooth, level spot. Some of the sites on the outer edge of the loop looked more private, but they would be an inconvenient walk to the bathhouse.
So, we would go back to Caledonia for the day, but we won't camp there again.

Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

This is a review of the golf course only. I gave 3 stars because I didn't want to bring the review of the park down, but the golf course rates only 1. It has the potential to be something special, but it would require that someone put a ton of money into it. I've played here a couple of times at different times of the year, and basically, there are no fairways. If you land it what is supposed to be a fairway and actually find your ball on something resembling grass, you're special. The greens are in horrible shape as well, but that isn't always so bad for poor putters like myself because even though you might be completely offline, a bump or ridge might nudge your ball the right direction. The condition of the tee boxes match the rest of the course. I actually lost my footing on one and nearly clobbered on of my playing partners with a wayward shot.

On the plus side, the place is pretty cheap, though probably more than what you think you should pay for a course in this kind of shape. Given its location in the mountains, perhaps it's the best they can do.

The course is pretty narrow, so straight hitters will fair the best (but don't they always).

Would be nice to see someone really put something into this place, and it's not bad to experience once, but if you don't have an 'A' game (as I don't), the condition of the course isn't going to help your score.

Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Pulled in with our class B Rental RV and friendly camp host there for advice and to pay. Stunning little stream next to campground. We did not fish, but there were a lot of fisherman around. Looked like great flyfishing. The area is so stunning. Very close to Gettysburg. We will definitely return!

2  Thank MajeeSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018

A water park, streams, camping area, picnic area, and miles of trails! Come and enjoy the beauty of Pennsylvania! Close proximity to Gettysburg, I-81, and historic Chambersburg.

Thank travelinggiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

I try to get out in the woods several times a week. Caledonia is a beautiful park and offers many levels of trails including the Appalachian trail and it's literally just off my backyard!

Thank mhoglund8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Great campground,Nice staff and great sites only downfall was no place near by to put in our Kayak... :(

Thank robbiedavis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We were travelling north on the I-81 and, instead of pulling off into one of the private campgrounds as we usually do, we decided to stay overnight at this park, It was a good decision. An extremely helpful ranger gave us a map and told us to choose a site. We chose a site in the Chinquapin Hill campground where no pets are allowed - I like the idea that there is this choice; no chance of being disturbed by barking dogs. We had to use the levelers to level our camper van as the sites are in a hilly area. We had electric hook-up but no water at our site #42. The bathhouse was reasonably clean but the showers are of the "save water" variety and one had to hold open the handle for a water flow. We hiked the Ramble Trail suggested by the ranger as suitable for the time we had available. The clean well-marked trail follows a creek and there are wooden bridges over it and short boardwalks in low-lying areas - unfortunately it is close to the road and there is a lot of traffic noise. Another time I would hike out the AT a set amount of time and return.

1  Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We decided to take the kids to the park and play in the creek. The streams are 30 to 40 ft wide and shallow but clean water. Look for all kinds of cool things. Cook you burgers and hotdogs for lunch on the charcoal grill. There is a very large pool also.

Thank LewisB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews