We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
51
51
19
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
51
19
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cracker barrel parking lot big lots turkey sausage paper plates very nice place to stay bed was very comfortable quiet location hard boiled eggs recommend this hotel workout room clean rooms fridge and microwave definitely stay here again king room the breakfast area oatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 135 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Stopped overnight while traveling through on I81. Very outdated. Doesn't look at all like the photos on their website. Must have been taken when was brand new. Very old and shabby looking. My big turn off was that their rules and regulations were posted on every bit of free wall space along with the consequences if rules are broken. Very costly-$170 after tax add ons for senior rate. we stay at this brand of hotel often and this one needs some help.

Room Tip: don't stop here. Travel on a little further down the road.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frackville, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Very sorry you feel that way. Our hotel is not shabby and the photos are quite accurate with the exception of the brand new duvet covers on the beds. All new mattresses and linens have been purchased within the last 6 months and new photos have not been taken.

It is quite frustrating that people don't have common sense and you have to post things like "please, no coffee near the keyboards. After replacing a few you realize people don't get it. "Must have shoes at breakfast". Really, we all want to look at bare feet and if you step on something right away it's our fault. Most hotels and restaurants have a no shoes no shirt policy.

As for consequences, the only sign with a consequence is that we need your license plate number or your car may be towed. In the winter we have snow removal. Another reason being if someone hits a red Fusion at midnight and there are 3 Fusions in the parking lot guess what? You have to call all 3 and hope you get the correct one on the first shot. Maybe there are one too many signs but when something happens you hear "It wasn't posted, no one told me"

i can assure you if you stay at our newly remodeled properties we don't even come close. We are NOT modern by any means and when we start the upgrade, sadly, all our marble floors will be coming out to make way for hard wood. We run a safe, clean hotel and that is what is most important to our guests. I'm sorry you had a bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We stopped here for one night on our way to the Outer Banks and it was the perfect spot. The rooms were clean, the staff was very accommodating and the free breakfast in the morning was beyond what I would normally expect.

The hotel is set away from the street so there is no additional car or foot traffic, but there is a Cracker Barrel in almost the same parking lot, which was very convenient for a quick meal.

We had our baby with us and were able to fit the Pack & Play in the bathroom (although it's not big enough to actually close the door) so we could still watch television and move around without disturbing her.

The room includes a nice sink/kitchen area with a fridge and granite countertops, which was very convenient.

We will stay here again on our way back up to New England!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victoria02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I grew up in the Frackville area and was visiting family for the weekend and needed a last minute place to stay (reserved on the phone while driving there). This hotel was super clean, incredibly comfortable bed, had friendly staff, and delicious hot breakfast. Bonus is that Cracker Barrel is steps from the front entrance. We will definitely stay here again when visiting family.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces woods/mountain - that's preferable to the parking lot
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frackville, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

I am so pleased that you were able to stay with us and enjoyed your time here. Thank you for the great comments. We want all our guests to be happy and our housekeepers strive for cleanliness. Thank you for the review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

the people here are very nice very pleasant hotel is very clean there breakfast is always fresh and good.coffee always fresh and available 24 hours and right next to it is crackle barrel they have awesome food and they have a country store inside which has a little of everything in it it is awesome all the old time candy and mints candles clothes toys alittle of everything.the hotel personnel are very nice always an i love staying there when im in town visiting.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank frannys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frackville, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thanks for the great review. Happy to hear you like having our coffee available 24/7. Very kind of you to review our hotel; Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

We spent the night here on our way home from vacation. Our room had a new mattress that was very comfy. The workout room was better equipped and larger than most Holiday Inns of this size. A Cracker Barrell is located across the parking lot if you are tired of driving.

While it is just off the Interstate, the access road is strange and winding. We didn't have a problem locating HI. The mall above it closed and is almost torn down. There was a Big Lots there. We found a few snacks and drinks for the road at Walmart that was less than 5 miles away.

Breakfast had lots of variety. Staff was friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KatWat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frackville, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

I am so happy you maneuvered the twists and turns and found our property.It's great to hear you had a pleasant stay and would return. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews