We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KITTANNING
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here on trip to see the state Capitol building and Harrisburg. The place is immaculately clean and very quiet. Awesome beds. Coffee and tea always available. A five minute walk to the Capitol and the State Museum. Innkeeper was knowledgeable of the area, and congenial. Breakfast was standard fare, but tasty. Baked oatmeal with strawberries and the usual breakfast fare of juice, yogurt and bagels. A nice view of the Susquehanna. Even though on a busy street out front, it was quiet and no street noise to speak of. Secure parking. Place is reasonably priced and a good value.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a view, but the back rooms are quiet. Common rooms downstairs are spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY NY USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

i lived across the river decades ago and always wondered what it would be like to live in a river front town house. I now know. This newly refurnbished four bedroon inn is a delight.
The home has been lovingly restored with touches of modernity. Simple, attractive and up to date decor makes this a great contrast to the country village inns we have been used to.
Our room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and large French windows.
The staff is attentive to your needs and the breakfast special, a strata, delish!
Wish I could have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I found City House on an internet search when planning a trip to the Harrisburg area. It was a perfect place to stay! We spent 5 nights there and hated to leave! It is a perfect hub for traveling in and around Harrisburg. It's 30 min. from Gettysburg and Lancaster, as well as many other great destinations. The accommodations and service were impeccable. Nearby downtown restaurants were wonderful. It's also within walking distance of the state capital. A tour there was one of our favorite stops..... beautiful! We hope to return to Harrisburg in the future and stay at City House again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The charm and authenticity of the City House was exceeded only by the warm reception and constant attention the we received. The B&B fronts the river where you can walk or jog forever along the beautiful greenway. We walked to a local pub for a drink and then to our restaurant that night. This has to rank as one of our best experiences at a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMurray, PA USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

In Harrisburg for birthday and wedding. Lovely B&B.
Proprietor very friendly. Breakfast excellent. Water,
cookies & coffee or tea available all day.

Room Tip: We stay in Bryce, in-laws in Helen both very satisfactory. Big showers in both rooms. Quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
0.9 km away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,095 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#11 of 50 in Harrisburg
429 reviews
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City House Bed and Breakfast

Property: City House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 915 N Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17102-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is located in the heart of Pennsylvania’s capital city, Harrisburg. Located along the banks of the picturesque Susquehanna River, this beautiful and charming urban retreat is handcrafted with fireplaces, stained glass, hardwood floors, and arched entryways. Enjoy the comfort of home with the convenience of a central city location.City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is designed for your relaxation and comfort. Enjoy the coziness of a crackling fire while resting in our spacious living room with lovely river views. Unwind from your day and relax with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book or tend to business details in a quiet, tranquil setting. Wake up to a guaranteed hot shower in your private, newly-renovated bath.Guests of City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg are within walking distance to the capital complex and the State Museum. We are also steps away from the downtown business district, which features a plethora of fine dining options, in addition to coffee shops and many art galleries, and the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. Enjoy the best of downtown Harrisburg, a short stroll from City House bed and breakfast.It’s also just a short walk to City Island, which offers a variety of recreational activities, such as running, walking, biking, and in the summer months, kayaking and boating. City Island is also home to Metro Bank Park, where the local minor league baseball team, the Harrisburg Senators, play.City House bed and breakfast is a perfect resting spot after a business travelers’ long day. But pleasure travelers, parents of area college students, and relocating professionals also will find our accommodations suit their needs perfectly. We provide the services you require in the comfort you desire, a home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing