We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk”
Review of Wildwood Park

Wildwood Park
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildwood Park is located in the rolling hills of central Pennsylvania on the outskirts of downtown Harrisburg. Its 229 acres are a haven for countless species of flora and fauna centered around the 90 acre freshwater wetland. A popular three-mile loop trail encircles the park with side trails and boardwalks for a total of six miles of trails. Its attractive Olewine Nature Center features engaging exhibits on environmental education. Established in 1901, during the City Beautiful Movement, Wildwood was part of a nationwide effort to improve urban life. In 1976, the Dauphin County Commissioners assumed ownership of the property. Now managed by Dauphin County Parks and Recreation Department, Wildwood Park is one of Pennsylvania’s premier centers for environmental studies, educational opportunities and outdoor recreation. It is a cherished retreat for nature lovers, bird watchers and exercise enthusiasts.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We take our dog there pretty frequently and he loves it. It's a nice 3 mile walk around the nature preserve. There are some side trails also if you want to do more.

Keep your car locked though! A coworker had some credit cards stolen out of her car while walking.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature center"
in 65 reviews
"bird watching"
in 16 reviews
"mile loop"
in 13 reviews
"great nature"
in 8 reviews
"highway noise"
in 8 reviews
"tow path"
in 3 reviews
"nature preserve"
in 6 reviews
"main trail"
in 6 reviews
"visitor center"
in 7 reviews
"natural setting"
in 4 reviews
"walking trails"
in 10 reviews
"great place for a walk"
in 7 reviews
"ducks and geese"
in 3 reviews
"quiet nature"
in 3 reviews
"nice walk"
in 10 reviews
"urban area"
in 3 reviews
"dog walkers"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 277 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice and very peaceful place to take the family on a walk out around lake. Very clean and neat birds to see.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

This was easy to locate right off the expressway and we visited around 9-10 AM during the week
There are three parking areas with some shaded parking.
The area has several trails (1/4 mi. to 2 miles) to walk with varied distances and levels of difficulty from flat-easy to difficult-slopes.
The little chipmunks are plentiful and scurry across the road and everywhere.
Along the path in one area is unusual driftwood and vine artwork.
The walkways are varied in composition with both unimproved soil trail (which can be muddy in wet weather), gravel, blacktop, and a wooden boardwalk.
The scenery is mostly marsh and wetland but we saw heron, turtle, and of course lots of chipmunks scurrying around right in front of you.
There is a single bathroom at one entrance that was clean enough for this type of venue.
It was a peaceful nature walk except for the sounds of road and highway on either side. But we were still able to enough the experience.
We were glad we stopped in and wish we’d had more than an hour to walk as we didn’t get to all the areas.
We printed a map online before we went and it made it easy to navigate.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

My daughter and I went to Wildwood Park just after some major rainfall. And although some of the boardwalks were closed for safety, we saw the park in a beautiful light. The trails are well maintained and marked. The folks at the visitor center are wonderful. We went through the kids section just for fun and had a marvelous time sitting and watching the birds.

It is a great place to enjoy a natural setting in the midst of a city.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank katywanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

It will take a bit to get used to the noise but the sights of waterfowl and turtles is worth it. Plus, the guides are excellent and the hidden art work is a wonderful surprize.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildwood Park also viewed

 

Been to Wildwood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing