We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
141
50
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
141
50
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary champagne adirondack chairs bus trip large suite sunset toast beautiful view of the lake fire pit last minute trip onsite restaurant second bedroom get away upon check common areas cottage dock bunkhouse wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 214 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2021

With Covid about, options for celebrating my wife's birthday were limited. She suggested the Poconos and I found Silver Birches. We booked a large suite overlooking the lake, Room 14, and it was spacious and comfortable. Being Covid-careful, we ate our meals in the room, but the breakfast worked out fine, the coffee was tasty and the views of the lake, the night time stars and surrounding area were wonderful. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we thank them for leaving us a birthday treat in the fridge. It was nice that the crowds were sparse, the snow was fresh and the sun was out .We look forward to returning to the Silver Birches in the spring or summer for more outdoor activities.

Room tip: Room 14 was nice, but there were some very loud drunk people below us and the sound carried right up the through the floor and the walls.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattski0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2021

Dear Mattski0604,

We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay at Silver Birches. We're honored that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. Thank you for taking the time to share a review. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the resort's lakeside location and were comfortable with all the safety measures we undertake. We'll be sure to relay your kind compliments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Wallenpaupack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2021

5 stars does not even begin to do this place justice. My boyfriend booked us a weekend trip through Airbnb. When we arrived, we were greeted by 2 of the kindest women in the hospitality industry we have ever come across. We were given complimentary champagne, complimentary breakfast passes for every morning we were there, activity sheets, places to go, things to do, etc. We were also UPGRADED to a cottage, and when I tell you this place was absolutely gorgeous, again an understatement!! We woke-up with hot coffee, snow, and stared at the peaceful lake right form our front porch. We will 1000% be returning in the summer to see the activities they have during the warmer months, but all in all, i beyond HIGHLY recommend Silver Birches!!!

Room tip: Book a cottage right on the water!
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tylerann1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2021

Dear tylerann1116,

We're thrilled to hear you had a great getaway to Silver Birches! Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We'll be sure to share your kind compliments with our staff. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our lakeside location. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2020

Planned on getting married here but due to covid we were unable to get married on our initial date. They had stated if we couldn’t get married on our initial date due to covid we would receive a full refund. We reached out to silver birches numerous times via phone and email and they continually ignored all forms of contact. It was not until we got a lawyer involved did they respond and that was after two attempts by our lawyer and finally suit being filed. We thankfully received a refund because the law was on our side. This “business” is extremely UNPROFESSIONAL and non empathetic. To completely ignore people who have paid thousands of dollars for a wedding that got canceled due to a worldwide pandemic is absolutely pathetic. Do not support these crooks.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Sunshine0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2020

Dear Sunshine0550,
We’re sorry you were unable to have your wedding at Silver Birches Resort. As you know, your original date was cancelled due to the pandemic. We took great care to work with all of our couples to reschedule their nuptials. We were unable to host your wedding at the venue because your guest list exceeded the state’s restrictions on gatherings. After a thoughtful review of the circumstances your deposit was refunded. This has been an exceptionally difficult time for everyone, but we worked very hard to adapt and make the process as easy as possible for our guests. We apologize if we fell short in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2020 via mobile

We love this resort! We always have fun going- it’s low key and everyone is nice. This time we went we saw a lot of trash on the grounds and some employees were just sitting around instead of up keeping the grounds. The pool is also in need of some serious upkeeping/remodeling. It doesn’t cost much to have new nice furniture around the pool and to fix the fence. These little things would make the resort shine like it should. Hoping to stay there again- we love the shuttle to the ledge and Settlers Inn- the driver Jerry was awesome!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Morganx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2020

Dear Morganre,
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Silver Birches. We love to welcome back our returning guests. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your concerns with our staff. Your comments are surprising and as you know, not the typical experience since we’re continually upgrading and making improvements to the property. We’re glad you took advantage of the shuttle to enjoy our sister properties. We’ll pass on your kind compliments to our driver. Please come again soon. We look forward to seeing you again at Lake Wallenpaupack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2020

The property overall is nice. However, their website indicates a complete renovation of sleeping rooms and shows a renovated room but they are not all renovated. We were put in two different rooms and neither had been renovated. I was absolutely disappointed. The first room #9 is from 1975. The second room Bunk House 25 was not much better. Looks like maybe they did some painting but not much else. VERY disappointed for $275 / night. Website is misleading.

Rose at Registration did her very best to accommodate but with no availability, she was not able to get us what we drove 12 hours to get. Very disappointed in our accommodations.

Overall, the place needs some TLC. Upon arrival and heading to the beach area, there were old champagne glasses, masks, water bottles, and cigarette butts from the previous night. There were also a bunch of cigarette butts around the outdoor fireplace from the night before. This stuff needs to get cleaned up every single day. Gross !!! Get someone to walk the grounds and pick up.

Had dinner at the DOCK one night and enjoyed a fantastic penne pasta with lobster and shrimp with tomatoes that was FANTASTIC !!!

My husband went for breakfast (free) two days in a row and he said both days were terrible. Eggs were cold, toast was cold - this is just unacceptable. If we had paid $13.95 / day I would have blown my top. Who wants cold food !!!! Unacceptable.

To note, after Labor Day, there are no boat rides available and many places are shut down. Very disappointing because the weather was still fantastic. Such a shame.

Hats off to the staff. They were all very nice. The bartender at the pool, the waitresses at The Dock, the Registration ladies - all very nice.

Room tip: Be very specific and ask for a RENOVATED ROOM.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NewBride2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Dear NewBride2020,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Silver Birches. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed. We appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns with our staff. Your comments are surprising, as that’s not the typical experience of our guests. We strive to provide an outstanding getaway to every guest. We apologize if we fell short. Silver Birches dates to 1920 and enjoys membership in the prestigious Historic Hotels of America program. All of the rooms were renovated in 2016 and are regularly updated. We work very hard to maintain the vintage lakeside atmosphere and historical integrity of the buildings while still offering our guests every modern amenity. We truly believe that’s part of the property’s charm. It’s wonderful to hear you were happy with the service. We’ll be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out to our manager, Rose at rjanisheski@settlershospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews