We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tai Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xiangyue Banna Resort Hotel(Jinghong)(Great Value!)
US$16
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$72
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$15
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$40
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Yourantai B&B(Jinghong)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
7
16
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
16
11
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 36 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Our tour company picked this hotel for us but I wanted to warn others who might have the freedom to choice their place of stay in Jihong. Our guide books had a warm review of the Tai Garden Hotel but it did not meet the guide book's description.

The rooms were pretty worn out. The carpet was very stained and the bath grout had significant mold. The breakfast buffet was also pretty poor. How does a tropical region not provide fresh tropical fruit for breakfast?!

The region is a popular tourist area. I'm positive you could do better than staying at the Tai Garden aka Dai Garden Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marymarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This hotel was not our best experience in China, but apparently at the moment in Xishuangbanna, there are no international style hotels and this is as good as it gets.

A standard Chinese four star room, rock hard beds, clean(ish) - the carpet needed replacing, and the mini bar had been removed (usually they are in situ, but empty). TV had two English channels, CCTV 9 and HBO. The hotel also has an outside pool but we were advised, by our guide, not to use it.

We turned up for dinner at 7:00 on our first night to be told that both restaurants were unavailable for guests, as they had been booked for private parties. A number of staff here speak good English and they did pull out the stops to make up a table for us in the lobby bar (located outside the lifts) and find us a menu. The location was not congenial, but the food was good, despite limited choice.

Unbelievably, it was the same the second night. So this time we walked across the road to its five star, sister hotel “New Tai Garden” only to be told, by the same staff we had seen the night before, who obviously work in both establishments, that these restaurants were also booked for private parties and we were escorted back across the road, to the same seats outside the lifts.

If you do stay here then take a short taxi ride to Mantin Road, where you will find a number of western speaking restaurants and café’s (mainly Thai).

Breakfast is served buffet style in one of the restaurants, where food can be cooked to order, but I was surprised that despite being in the tropics and there being a wide variety of fresh fruit available in the market, the only fruit available here was water melon.

The beauty of Xishuangbanna is its weather not its hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We just stayed at Tai Garden Hotel and actually I am quite happy with that. The reception is nice (although we are travelling with a friend and a driver, and also my father speaks perfect chinese so I cannot indicate wether they speak English very well).

The rooms were actually very clean, the bathrooms were much cleaner than in a 4 star hotel in Kunming were we stayed the night before. The bathrooms have a rain-shower, and a normal shower (and luckily not one of this fixed showerheads like they have sometimes in the U.S or in e.g. 4 stars hotels in Kunming or Beijing. Flatscreen TV, large bed, aircondition, rich minibar, but no drinking water free of charge on the room.

Like in another evaluation on trip advisor, the rooms are in deed open and empty. There are only a few guests here.

Internet is for free and provided with a cable (that is already in the room in one of the desk drawers. In the beginning I had problems to connect to the internet, but an actually English speaking guy from the staff came quickly and solved the problem very professionally and friendly. Since we were just staying for a night and went on early the next day I did not get to try the swimming pool. Close to the hotel there is a nice outside restaurant of the minority Hani, great ananas rice and the waiters are singing and toasting with the guests.

All in all a decent hotel for a few nights, basically we just stayed there on a road-trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2008

This hotel is named Tai Garden by the hotel itself. (This is not the first Chinese hotel Tripadvisor misspells or mislabels.) It is one of about a dozen properties at the three and four-star level in Jinghong. Complicating the booking situation are confusing names. There is the Tai Garden Hotel and the New Tai Garden Hotel, across a boulevard from each other. The former is rated four stars by China, and the new property is rated at five stars.

Most booking sites make no distinction, and the descriptions frequently are of the New Tai with pricing and reservations for the older Tai Garden. Since Jinghong and these properties are far from the well-worn western-tourist path in China, you should deal directly with the properties to attempt to get what you want. We dealt with ctrip.com which itself was confused.

Having seen great references to the Tai Garden, we booked seven nights. It turned into one night only, as we checked out as early as possible the next morning. The first room we were shown had a huge diagonal crack in the wall facing the beds, about five feet long and an inch wide at times, with buckled plaster and wallpaper. In the hotel information packet it talked about earthquakes. Hmm. Room Two was thoroughly saturated with cigarette smoke. The front desk manager told me we did not specify a nonsmoking room, so we should not expect anything specific. Further, she said a little room spray would solve the problem for a seven-night stay. Are you getting the picture?

Room Three had the dirtiest carpeting I have seen in over forty years of staying in hotels around the world. We took this room out of despair. We saw literally dozens of unoccupied rooms with the doors wide open, awaiting guests, but were made to wait for this third room. The hotel’s free slippers were a necessity.

The front desk manager would not make an effort to improve the situation, and refused to notify the general manager that we were totally dissatisfied. She simply could care less. However, I cared enough to spend the rest of the daylight looking for a new hotel for the next day. We checked in a few minutes after the hotel booking credit-card guarantee went into effect or else we would have walked.

We looked at the Crown and Sightseeing Hotels. You will find a separate review for the Sightseeing Hotel. The Crown Hotel is managed by the same company which operates the Tai Garden and New Tai Garden. We looked at several rooms and discovered that although the property is rated three stars, it has four-star rooms in one of its spread-out buildings. The large pool did not have any lounge chairs, only fixed fiberglass chairs under open-roofed structures. Basically, this was the same pool situation as the Tai Garden. However, based on the spacious grounds and nice four-star rooms, we would have stayed here if we had not found better at the Sightseeing.

There are several other new properties that look good in Jinghong. The newest hotel will be the Golden Zone Hotel, to open sometime in 2008 and certainly worth a look. Also the New Tai Garden looks like it could be satisfactory based on the grounds and new facility. (It was fully booked for the first several nights of our stay, so was not an option.)

The best thing about the Tai Garden was its morning buffet Chinese breakfast included in the rate. The custom-made Dai noodles were excellent with a choice of spices, herbs and flavorings. Otherwise, be warned to avoid this property. The sleeping rooms and management are totally unsatisfactory.

Stayed: January 2008
6  Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 12, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews