We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Veranera - Playa El Coco(Playa El Coco)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Pacifico Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
US$70
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$35/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

HC Liri Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
113
91
32
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
91
32
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterattached cafecentral locationclean roomsno natural lightthe open air restaurantnice roomtaco stopnice rooftophuevos rancherosgreat acreception staffwould stay here againroom rateincluded breakfastcute hotelbreakfast burrito
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 255 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

Great service, excellent food, nice presentation, reasonable price. Outdoor breezy patio atmosphere but covered for shade. Nice music. Hot as hell but all four of us Gringos loved it. Fish of the day seabass, tuna tartar, coconut shrimp, cold beer, Michelada. Antonio, our server was great. And as a bonus: secured free wifi.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at Barrio Cafe Hotel in order to experience SJDS at night. We arrived quite early from a nearby property and were unable to check in early. We walked around town and laid on the SJDS beach. Having just left 3 days at a surfing beach, we were not terribly attracted to this one. Calm waters but seemingly dirty or muddy. We eventually checked into the hotel which was very clean. Our room at two queen beds but not a lot of room otherwise. The bathroom was not any bigger than what you find on a cruise ship. Despite the smallness, the bed and room were quite comfortable. We had a small balcony overlooking a busy street and you could see the bay a few blocks away. Breakfast was included and it was delicious! This is a good value hotel. Nothing fancy but a decent atmosphere and a quality eatery. I would stay here again, but not for long stays. It is defiantly worth the price.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mainelycarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

First you have to understand San Juan is a surf and fishing town. It's noisey, it's a little crowded, and it has lots of young people just like small Baja towns in Mexico. So it's all relevant. If you are looking for 5 star resort accommodation don't stay anywhere in San Juan. This hotel was clean, the restaurant was very good albeit expensive for Nicagragua. These are basic rooms. A bed, a shower, and AC. It was safe. Internet was decent, but I saw some reviews that said they could not work. Don't come to San Juan to work. Go to Libera. Bottom line I would stay here again. Very well situated for getting around and very close to the water.

Room Tip: Get room 7 or 8 if you can
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TVS762001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my cousin. The hotel is in the centre of town and walking distance to most things. The restaurants has really good food bit it's a bit pricey. The breakfast is big and really good. You can choose from 6-7 items. The waiters are really nice and friendly. We had some issues with the staff at reception and something that should have been resolved pretty much on the spot ending up being a bit of a pain and inconvenience. We couldn't make it to the hotel for the first night we booked and instead of being charged only 70% for the missed night we were charged 100%. If we didn't catch that, the staff wouldn't have told us. They need to be aware of their cancellation policy. Clearly, the person who was at the reception at that time didn't know. Anywya, it took a couple of days to get refunded. We had to call booking to speed up the process. In the end, we got the money back. I would recommend the hotel but just make sure you know what you're being charged for.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank aradic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Great location right in the middle of San Juan del Sur. Rooms are very clean and well equipped with hot water, A/C, TV, fan, etc. Breakfast is included. The restaurant is really good, we went for dinner and it was excellent. Not sure if they have a parking lot...we had to park in the street but they kept an eye on the car.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews