We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Once in a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback

Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rancho Chilamate offers guided horseback rides for adventurous travelers looking to get up close and personal with Nicaragua. The ride leaves from the ranch through the local community, into open fields and over hilltops for spectacular views, crossing the river several times for excellent wildlife viewing (almost guaranteed to see monkeys) and then to the secluded beach for a refreshment break and more riding adrenalin.This solar-powered private ranch caters to smaller, more intimate groups to ensure only the best of service. Let's Ride!
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
“Once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2016

My stay at Rancho Chilamate was after spending time with staff volunteering for local animal community. Every member of RC was hard working, gracious and genuine. I was honored to be able to spend night at ranch and ride. Rancho Chilamate is not only committed to guests, but also to the local community. I thank you all for an incredible adventure-riding, excellent food, and professional,friendly,convivial friendship.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank obxcorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best experience ever! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We went for a sunset ride with Rancho Chilamate and it did not disappoint. We booked it on a whim but we are so happy that we did as it was an incredible way to spend an evening and the perfect end to our travels in Nicaragua. Everyone working at the ranch is the best and we wish we could give up our jobs and go and work there too!

The horses are so healthy and happy, and it was a joy to see such well looked after animals. From start to finish everything was arranged perfectly and done to ensure that we had the best possible experience. From galloping in the waves to rum shots on horseback to riding back in the moonlight, we wish we could do it all over again (and again and again)!

Thank you so much for such an amazing experience, we love you guys and hope to come back one day!

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maudie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Had really high hopes for this ranch after reading the reviews, but I have to say I was absolutely disappointed, especially for 75$.. Barely got any time at the beach, both horses they put me on we're awful to ride(one was just out of control) I found the guides to be rude and it was generally just an awful experience. Compared to the hours of beach riding I got for 30$ at the ranch through my hostel, I would never go back to Rancho Chilamate

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sooooo much fun!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2016

I am not an experienced rider at all, but I have always wanted to ride a horse on the beach. We were totally taken care of, and riding on beach was AMAZING! I wish it was longer! My horse was the best, WHISKEY! Thanks Whiskey and thanks to all the folks at Rancho, see you in the future sometime! P.S. VERY reasonable on price too! Thanks!

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Hood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Highlight of my trip to San Juan del Sur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016

Rancho Chilamate was the highlight of my trip to San Juan del Sur. The staff were all welcoming, friendly, and knowledgable. The pick-up location was conveniently located in SJDS, and the cowgirls provided snacks/drinks upon arrival. The ranch is absolutely gorgeous, and riding on the beach was a one-of-a-kind experience. The photos look, great, as well. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Eric9224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing