We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$35
PricelineUS$35
Agoda.comUS$35
TripadvisorUS$35
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
145
64
38
39
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
64
38
39
65
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 351 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

I’ve been here before with my kids, we love the pool and skate park. I’ve never spent the night but I’m tempted by the cute cabins and friendly staff. Around sunset there are monkeys in the trees right behind the cabins. It’s clean and has a nice atmosphere. Food and drinks are a bit pricey but it was really quiet so I think they need to charge a bit more while Nicaragua continues to recover.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lizcarbajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2019

Was charged additional charges and when complaint was made was told that I was ignorant and and imbecile that didn't understand the charges. The place itself as well is too recluded and if it rains you are going to be stuck there since you have to cross a small river to get there.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Thanatos1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

Dear Guest

You said you had a great time to the staff, then after your stay you sent us an email about an extra charge.

We explained to you multiple times that you went to our website, filled out the info and booked it through PayPal, so there is no way we can charge you extra. We did not have your payment info.

We explained that it could be if you are using PayPal as a third party connected to your bank account, that your bank will charge you a fee. We asked you to show us the bank statement so we could explain, but you avoided it and told us that by trying to help, that we were technically calling you the names you mentioned above because we were trying to help explain to you how bank fees or PayPal fees work.

Your review is not accurate to your stay, the resort and your review is on potential things that could happen but never happened to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

Surf Ranch is a nice place to stay when you go to San Juan del Sur. During the day you can have a relaxing/fun time with some drinks in that beautifully designed pool and some other activities they have for you, it’s just a few minutes car drive to get to the town at night, BUT I have to say that the best part of the experience was the staff. During my stay, I had the chance to meet Randy, Alexander and Magdalena, they were extremely nice, friendly, helpful and even fun to spend time with! A great example of what a great customer experience should be! Please give those three a round of applause and a promotion for the great job they do!

Other than that, my only suggestion is for the owners to invest in an area for kids... Other guests kids were driving us nuts “playing soccer” without respecting others space in the pool.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carlosrJ1441OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019
Google Translation

Gracias por la increíble y honesta reseña.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2019

My fiance and I stayed at Surf Ranch for 3 nights and loved it. The property is beautiful, the pool was nice, the rooms were clean. We really had no complaints. The staff were especially friendly, both the bartenders we met were awesome, very chatty and fun, helpful and gave us some recommendations for when we went into town. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AmandaC8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Thank you for the amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

I stayed overnight on my way to Costa Rica. The room was large and modern. The staff very helpful and friendly- I had 4 pets with me and forgot their food and the hotel manager gave me some!
They have a good restaurant with a great 2 for 1 daily Happy Hour. They did not charge a pet fee, which is a real savings for me.
They have 24 hour guards which is good as their location is a bit off the beaten track.
I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back again if in SJDS.

Room tip: Choose a terrace room.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dolly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews