We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Onda Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Onda Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is the best place in San Juan del Sur by far. My boyfriend and I have been traveling throughout Central America for several months and the rooms, cleanliness, price, view, facilities, location and hospitality make this one of the best places we have found during our travels. Baba, a young Frenchman, opened the place recently and has done wonders. It is very well constructed, modern, clean and the perfect location.

We stayed in one of the top floor teak-wood rooms; we had a very comfortable, brand new bed with open air windows and a very nice private bath. In most hostels in Central America, you just tolerate the rooms and hostel knowing you won't be spending much time there, but over and over we stated how we did not want to leave! Most of our time in San Juan del Sur was happily spent in Buena Onda. Between the beautiful ocean view, comfy hammocks and rocking chairs, and the view of the stars at night from our bed, it was an incredible place to just relax. There is a nice terrace with views over San Juan del Sur and the bay -- and with the breeze it stays quite cool for such a hot city.

I would recommend this place to anyone -- friends, family, parents, retired, etc. It is perfect for all ages and all desires. There is a kitchen that is clean and well organized for guest use. There is a small bar that includes ice-cold beer that is run on an honor tab system. Baba also has a stereo system set up where you can plug in your own USB or iPod for music while you relax and the hammocks and read or have some drinks at night. I could say a lot more -- but it was incredible and Baba just made it that much better. He is sincere, laid back, friendly and willing to give you any advice about the area that you need. Stay here, period.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
105
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Buena Onda Hotel is a steal for the price. Inexpensive, clean, and beautiful. Located just 5 blocks from the beach, it has beautiful views of San Juan del Sur. The rooms are large and comfortable and the showers have nice water pressure. The proprietor, Baba, is a welcoming host and will tell you to just keep track of what you take out of the refrigerator and pay him when you depart. Guests have access to a kitchen with burners, griddle and fridge. Baba's house special is a pound of grilled lobster tails, rice and salad for twelve dollars. Absolutely incredible, best meal I had while in Nicaragua. This is one great place to come back to after a long day at the beach or exploring the hillsides of southern Nicaragua. Will never stay at another place in San Juan, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are larger and for two people with one bed. The rooms on the lower floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent a few days in an upper floor double room. The hostel is new, very clean, inexpensive and nicely constructed and furnished. Additionally, the friendly atmosphere made us feel very comfortable; almost like home. So we spent a lot of time in a hammock or rocking chair on the terrace where you can enjoy a drink and the awesome sight over the town and the sea.
The hostel offers free use of the kitchen and beers at a good price. The short uphill walk from the town center to the hostel is easy and definitely worth doing for the scene and ambiance you get for it.
We highly recommend Baba's Buena Onda Backpackers! Loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Once you enter the front door to this new hostel, you immediately feel welcome. "Baba" the owner is most likely the warmest, friendliest hostel owner I have met during my travels and the hostel in itself is very nice with a lovely view over the sea. The short walk uphill from the town is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sturmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

buena onda backpackers is the only place to stay in san juan del sur. a short, safe walk up the hill from town and your their. the top terrace has one of the best views in town. nice cool breeze to swing in the hammocks or rocking chairs. free kitchen, rooms with private baths and views. great vibe with cheep beer and drinks on hand at all times. if you need anything at all just ask Babba the owner and he will get it for you. Great afforadable rooms and Babba is the friendliest guy in san juan. I was very lucky to find this place. my firend and i arrived in town with no place to stay. looked at 6 or 7 places that were really expensive and not as nice. hands down the best place to stay in san juan dle sur is buena onda backpackers.

Room Tip: everything from dormitorys for 3 or privat rooms with queens sized beds. youll spend most of your ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robA5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

So lucky i found this place. everywhere else was full and twice as expensive. I ran into the owner Baba on the street and he walked me and my friend to Buena Onda. It is very new building that has a wonderful view, great common area with hammocks, a great kithen, and all the tonas you can drinks. for 7 dollars a night its proabably one of the best deals in San Juan Del Sur

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2006

We stayed at an eco-friendly, all-inclusive home in the hills overlooking San Juan del Sur. This was probably one of the most awesome vacations of our lives. I suppose this was truly a vacation. Most of our vacations are marathons to see how much history, art, and views we can cram in. At Casa Buena Onda we were not permitted in the kitchen, laundry, or near any cleaning equipment. There was even a driver provided for our daily jaunts. We simply were expected to relax and enjoy ourselves. The Nica food even satisfied our two young children who are picky eaters. The price was right, the service charming, the weather ideal, the views stunning, and the accommodations beautiful. The definition of relaxation while not hurting the environment. You can find Casa Buena Onda and Casa Buena Vista on [----]. Check it out, see what you think. We were blown away.

Helpful?
2 Thank kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
8.3 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.4 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.3 km away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 km away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Backpackers

Property: Buena Onda Backpackers
Address: Barrio frente sur, San Juan del Sur 99999, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, calm, and welcoming space for travelers. Enjoy the amazing view from the rooftop terrace and have a drink in a hammock ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Backpackers Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing