We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
110
38
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
38
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water in town san juan small pool home away from home central america a wonderful stay jane sjds nicaragua ac bay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 168 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2015

The hotel was founded by honorary locals Mike Iacoboni and Jane Mirandette, who fell in love with the area many years ago and built the hotel to be a sanctuary for travelers and surfers alike. Mike and Jane are also deeply committed to the social development of the region. When we first encountered Mike, he was in front of the hotel helping some of the local schoolchildren with their homework. Jane opened the town’s first public library, and went on to found The Hester J. Hodgdon, which teaches those interested in starting a library how to do it.

The Hotel Villa Isabella is located in the quiet western part of town, easily within walking distance from the downtown harbor area. The hotel rooms are comfortably equipped with A/C units, fully functioning bathrooms, cable TV, daily maid service, full-serve breakfast, and complimentary coffee. The lobby and front porch are furnished with hammocks and rocking chairs for your comfort and relaxation. The grounds also feature a secure warehouse-sized garage for your rental car and surfboards, as well as an outdoor pool. A caretaker is on site 24/7 to ensure added security and assist with anything you might need. As Mike puts it, “Go and have your adventure out there, and know that you’re coming back to a safe haven here at the Hotel Villa Isabella.”

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Booking and when we arrived the hotel was full. The guy behind the counter offered us another hotel, Casa Marina, for a higher price without breakfast. After checking the reviews we did not take that hotel either because people got robbed. We decided to leave the hotel and find something else. Happy we did.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maar-itt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Hands down the best place in SJDS. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and very secure. It sits off of the road so it is quiet, yet it is in the middle of everything. Mike and Jane are very accommodating. The free coffee is great, and so is the breakfast. Can't go wrong here. It is the only place I stay and I have been to SJDS no less than a dozen times.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeM9368EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2015

Rooms and bathrooms are very good basic rooms (ours also had a fridge which can be a great help). The location is great (2-3 blocks from anywhere in town), and the front porch is where you'll meet half the ex-pats in town. They offer free coffee or tea to their friends and the porch becomes a place where friends gather and business is conducted. The lobby and the porch are also where the wifi is, so people drop by the utilize it for free too. There is a garage next door where they can store your car inside. Jane (one owner) runs the Library down the street( a charity she and some other ex-pats put together) with pride, and Mike (the other owner) has several other interests in town including the Marina Hotel 2 blocks away on the water. All the people were great and the knowledge of the area they shared was irreplaceable. Thanks to them ALL!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMSpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here a few years back now but it ranks high in our places in Nicaragua. We had a nice big room upstairs for the four of us (two teenagers and two adults). The pool was a welcomed addition as we found it HOT!
It there weren't so many places to visit in the world, we would go back.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews