We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“decent hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casablanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was here for a brief stay and I would return if I came back to SJDS. The location is great, right on the beach. Many bars and restaurants in the area. The hotel is run by friendly people who seem to want to help although not everyone speaks English. The night guard was very helpful one evening when we where trying to find a particular restaurant. Rooms are plain and simple, fairly small and the beds are reasonably comfortable.


Prices are high, but SJDS is expensive so I suppose it is par for the course.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The staff are great and the breakfast was great. Rooms clean and plenty of towels. The staff set us up with horseback riding and deep sea fishing. Well two dreams came true..running a horse through the surf on an empty beach and catching a 40 pound DORADO. It was good eating...Gerald

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wal60ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We felt right at home the moment we walked through the door. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The area is known for it's restaurants and bars. You can wonder aimlessly like we usually do and find the most amazing places. We asked the front desk for a good local spot and they gave us great advise. The decor is eclectic Moroccan in a modern style. The rooms are clean well appointed and artistic. We are from California and like the smaller boutique hotels so this place was right up our alley.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

I stayed here with a friend of mine, and you couldn't ask for a better location in San Juan Del Sur. Right on the beach, next to all the bars and party spots in town. The Staff was awesome, super helpful. There isn't hot water, but from what I understand there aren't any hotels/hostels in San Juan Del sur with hot water except Pelican eyes. If you're looking for a place to crash right by the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jscarpulla415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights, room was very very small, Once we open the door, bed is just in the front of us. No space at all, we couldn't open the refrigirator without moving our luggage(we just brought small trolley).Only bath towel provided, no face towel nor small towel. Every morning we were asked if room require cleaned up. If it's the "hotel", every day cleaning and linen change should be mandatory. One day, althoujgh we requested room to be cleaned up, house keeper did nothing but just put new bath towel on the bed. Beds have not made up, floor and bath not cleaned up.
Front person could not provide necessary information about tour or taxi rates. They leave before 7pm, after it, only security guy left and couldn't help anything about travel advise.
Breakfast was advised to start from 7:30, but at 7:30 is the time kitchen staff start to arrive, taken more time until breakfast served.
Very noisy in the night because bar along with the beach road kept making big sounds of music.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Casablanca in January 2009.

While the hotel was very convenient to the beach attractions, the bathrooms, pool, etc. were very dirty. See the pictures attached.

The rooms were definitely not worth the rate they charged.

Reception staff was friendly, but did not know the bus schedule to take a side trip to Granada.

Free breakfast was bland, with same food every day.

The hotel has a small, but beautiful atrium with trees, where the staff served breakfast.

The hotel had WIFI, but intermittent and very slow.

The air conditioners cooled the room to an acceptable level. The showers had heated shower-head for hot water (called "suicide shower-heads"), which is very dangerous.

Both Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because the music thumping from the bars - although that is not because of the fault of the hotel.

In general, the hotel is acceptable, but there are many other cheaper, cleaner options available in town.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA CLARITA,CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Arrived in San Juan Del Sur with no reservations, checked out other hotels and decided to stay at the Casa Blanca. The receptionist showed us a room that was available on the second floor for $80.00 a night. It was clean, had a/c,safe,refer,and decent size bathroom. After going down stairs to check in, I realized my cell phone was not working. The nice lady behind the counter let me borrow her personal cell phone so I could call back to States and let my wife I arrived safely. The next morning they had a free home cooked breakfest. We had only booked the room for one night, but we stayed another 2 nights because of the room and location. They have a great outside patio for relaxing and to people watch. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIVERYETI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#6 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#9 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.8 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.2 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#17 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing