We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian food - brilliant proprietor”

Osteria di Casa Chianti
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 6, 2017

This restaurant is near Il Paluffo in the Chianti hills where we were staying. We walked there and back but there is ample parking for drivers. The service was excellent and speedy, the food and wine outstanding. The proprietor brilliant and very entertaining. The T-bone steak for 2 was magnificent, the carpaccio melt in the mouth, the pasta home made and delicious, desserts gorgeous. Atmosphere informal and very friendly. These people are experts. Well worth a visit. Popular so best to book.

Thank kasliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano C, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Kasliz,
It's a great satisfaction to read your enthusiastic message!
We're happy that you appreciated our steak and also our homemade pasta, made and served with fresh and local ingredients!
We hope to see you soon, to taste New and genuine flavours, like our Onion flan or our special plates with white truffle!
We send to you and to our Paluffo's friends a big hug!
Max and all Casa Chianti' Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2017

We ate here in Sept 2017, and enjoyed everything from the service to the food, and atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Thank Sharie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano C, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you very much, dear Sharie!
It's a great satisfaction to read your message.
We're happy that you appreciated our food, made with Local and fresh ingredients, like our homemade pasta with Truffle!
We hope to see you soon and we send you a big hug!
Max and all Casa Chianti' Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

I had hopes of eating pasta here with truffles--a specialty of the region--but to my disappointment, the brown truffles were not so redolent and the upselling of the more powerful white truffles felt acquisitive. The food is adequate, perfectly acceptable and if you order the Chianti Classico house red you won't go wrong. This is a place to go if you are tired and looking for a place to land. Our server thought to liven up our table of seven women by bringing limoncello in a huge flask. While amusing, it was clear that this is a place that caters to tourists (alas, me). As an alternative, try La Taverna del Fiorentino, about 15-minute drive away. Now that's Italian!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano C, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Ciao Linda,

thank you very much for your feed back.

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed the Chianti Classico, in fact it comes from a small winery from the area as well as all the raw materials we buy daily. In fact, all our customers are offered a tasting of various types of extra virgin olive oil from the most prestigious local farms.

Pasta, like bread, is made daily by our kitchen, and as mentioned, it is currently White Truffle Season that has a higher cost because it is more valuable given its intensity of taste, Black Truffle obviously has a lower cost but it also has a less intense taste.
This depends on the type of experience the customer wants to do.

I would like to inform you that our Osteria is open yearly, and as you also saw Sunday at lunch we were fully booked as almost every day of the week.

We served Limoncello in the prestigious "Glass of Happiness" because a couple got married in the next few days and so it's our tradition to drink all the customers from the Special Glass as a kind of shared happiness.

We are ambassadors of a territory, Tuscany and good food, prepared daily with love and passion, and daily we try to welcome our customers with joy and sympathy because this is our tradition of Chianti made of "simplicity".

A big hug to all New York friends!

Max and all the Osteria di Casa Chianti Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

It was suggested that we dine here by relatives who are local. We decided to email for reservations and we received a return email quickly. We were welcomed with open arms. The menu is extensive with lots of options. It was fun to try all the oils and vinegars they sell. The carpaccio with truffles may be the best I ever had.

Thank pamcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano C, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thank you, dear pamcap!
It'a great satisfaction to read your words!
We're happy that you appreciated our oil selection, that represents the tuscan flavour.
Like all our dishes, made with fresh and local ingredients, to make you taste a Real tuscan experience.
We hope to see you soon,
Max and all Casa Chianti' Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Outstanding service and a terrific evening meal! The homemade bread and focaccia is to die for and the same goes for the local olive oils (yes, plural!) that you can try during dinner along aromatic salts. We also got a small complementary dessert and went home with a bottle of local Limoncello. Five stars to this team!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CSPCSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano C, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you very much dear CSPCSP!
It's a great satisfaction to read an enthusiastic message like this!
We're happy that you appreciated our selection of local oils, that represents the taste of our Tuscany.
We hope to see you soon, to make you taste new and genuine flavour, like the taste of our homemade pasta with fresh truffle!

We send you a big hug,
Max and all Casa Chianti' Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria di Casa Chianti also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria di Casa Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing