We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
Plenty of space for dining al fresco on the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty of space for dining al fresco on the terrace
Independent entrance Swing seat on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Plenty of space for dining al fresco on the terrace
Independent entrance
Swing seat on the terrace
Swimming pool
The kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room viewed from the kitchen
Kitchen viewed from the dining room
Kitchen window
The kitchen viewed from the dining room
The dining room
The dining table seats 10.
The living room and staircase
The living room
The living room
Bedroom 2 (double)
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
The upstairs bedrooms all have a ceiling fan with remote control.
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3 (1 double + 1 single beds or 3 singles)
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 with 3 single beds
Bathroom 3
Bathroom 3
Bedroom 4 (double or twin beds)
Bathroom 4
Bathroom 4
Bathroom 4
Bathroom 4
View of the Elsa valley
Mist in the Elsa valley
Sunset in Val d'Elsa
Ground floor plan
Living room and staircase
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Certaldo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
The4Woody...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Words cannot do justice to this holiday home. The photos on this website do not do it justice. The farmhouse is truly exceptional. It is huge and comfortable and Charley and Anne have thought of everything to make it perfect. It has all the rustic charm you could hope for and it has all the modern comforts with a magnificent kitchen, great bathrooms, central heating, Wifi, the list goes on. The views have to be seen to be believed, honestly you will not find better views anywhere. We loved eating out on the terrace and looking out over the rolling hills. The house is private and quiet and you feel like you own Tuscany when you look out over it! Even though it was very private, Charley was on hand whenever we needed him and provided us with maps to help us find parking in Florence, did our clothes washing for us, looked into postage for us, he was amazing! The location is brilliant, many day trips to be had from here across all of Tuscany. We did some by car and some by train, both were fine. The nearby towns are quiet and beautiful but still with great supermarkets and restaurants. San Gimignano only a half hour drive away is a must-see. I could rave about this house for pages- just go there and see for yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDE W
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sublime Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our group of five recently stayed at L'Antica Cisterna, and were delighted by its location, views and our wonderful relaxing week. It's position over the Elsa Valley makes it ideal for getting to Florence, Siena, and the various hillside towns like San Gimignano, Certaldo, Castellina and others. Plus its overlook means that guests are treated to the most sublime Tuscan views. Make sure you leave lots of time for sitting on the patio, drinking some wine or coffee, and taking in that view!

The villa is generous in its space - four bedrooms and three bathrooms, with a large kitchen and dining table. Charly was very helpful with maps and suggestions and our various requests. We also highly recommend Ghibellina Tours, where Giacomo organised a day long winery and oil grove/mill tour which was a highlight.

We'd hoped for a memorable and delightful week and we went hope happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitoes were an issue, and lack of screens meant they were an issue inside
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayewinte...
Aberlour, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday rental in the beautiful countryside of Tuscany”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a large group of friends and family which occupied the whole house and the next door converted barn for our wedding. We were lucky to hold our wedding reception at the villa and thanks to Charly and Ann it was such a memorable experience. The aperitif and meal was organised by Charly and Ann with a traditional Italian four course meal to die for!!! Everything we had hope for!!
The villa itself is amazing with beautiful furniture and unique features. Its location is perfect for driving to Certaldo, San Gimignano, Florence and Siena . The countryside is beautiful and makes for a perfect place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views you never get tired of and the location of the rental.
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll be back. Charly & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tomentosi...
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful setting - incredible views - lovely! The very best of Tuscany.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Three generations of Smeetons thoroughly enjoyed our time in Tuscany. Well equipped and appointed house. The pool a huge plus and we all loved the elderly cats. Note: you MUST have your own transportation. We rented two cars between the nine of us. Grocery shopping is possible in nearby towns, and the train service from Certaldo to Sienna and Florence is good (parking in those two wonderful cities is impossible!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay here.
While we agree that the train service is good, we would be happy to direct future guests to good parking in Florence and Siena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P C
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Highly recommended. Amazing views, beautifully decorated house, great location and very kind hosts, what more can one ask for. We spent 3 days in May and were very sorry we couldnt stay longer. The villa fit our group of 9 perfectly, we greatly enjoyed breakfasts on the terrace, cooking in the roomy kitchen and sitting by the pool after a long day exploring nearby towns (dont miss montereggioni and colle val d'elsa!).will hopefully be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing