We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service ”
Review of Golden Sea

Golden Sea
Ranked #21 of 79 Restaurants in Brighouse
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Asked for table for 7. Told they do not do big party's. Asked for a table for 3 and a 4, told chef cannot accommodate so many people! Seriously, how does this place survive? Do they not want customers????

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2018

A friend invited my hubby and myself to a meal here i have to say we had a fantastic meal excellent hot food very pleasant staff,excellent service.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shanghai30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

Blink and YOU WILL miss the Golden Sea. Fortunately we had the restaurant recommended to us by family so knew exactly where it was. We were greeted by smiling friendly staff who were patient while we chose from the menu as we had a 7 and 10 years old with us so had to explain the menu. It was in English but bless them first timers to Chinese food. Everything came piping hot, freshly cooked and very tasty. Nice clean loos as well. Interesting to see they served 'take away' which proved to be popular although it was the same price as eating in ?? However both courses were lovely and the little ones had clean plates as did we too. Always a sign of a decent meal. A small gripe is the fact that a little more heating would benefit as I noticed other customers were feeling the cold too. As this is a take away too it would be a good idea to have a website so the menu could be chosen before entering which would speed up the process but all in all have no hesitation in recommending GOLDEN SEA and we will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tellitasitis213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from our first visit for a meal and would like to say we had a fantastic meal, excellent hot food with great service. All at a very reasonable price.
As a family who eat Chinese a lot, often in Manchester we could not fault this restaurant and will definitely be going back. Must be one of the best ones in this area and we have been to most.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I write this review with a bit of a heavy heart to be honest. We went here on a Wednesday evening at around 2000 and were the only people in the restaurant. Now the first thing to say is the service was excellent throughout (well we were the only people in I suppose), but honestly, we were very nicely looked after. The decor and tables are all a bit tired I'm afraid and feels like it hasn't had much investment in quite some time.
The food was a mixed bag as well, the salt and pepper squid starter was excellent as was the steak in ginger and spring onions on a sizzler. The hot and sour soup however was not hot (chilli hot that is) and was a pretty small portion that seemed a bit mean for the only two guests! The Szechuan chicken was also a bit too bland for me so was something of a disappointment.
Overall the low review is because of a distinct lack of any atmosphere (other restaurants in this area are often very busy at this time on a Wednesday), the decor which needs refreshing (might get away with it if the restaurant was full) and the mixed standard of the food. I'm afraid that we won't be going back which is disappointing after we were looked after nicely. Hey ho.......

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarkH130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Sea also viewed

Elland, West Yorkshire
 
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Liversedge, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Golden Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing