We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Three Magpies

Three Magpies
Ranked #18 of 83 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Decided on stopping here, rather than the C&CC site just down the road, even though we are members. Lovely food, good selection of beers. Only downside, I chose the cheese platter, three cheeses, no choice, Brie ( good, had been left out of fridge), Cheddar ( very disappointing, have had tastier from Lidl), Stilton, acceptable. Jess who served up was an absolute gem, pity more waitresses have not got such a lovely demeanour.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Slasher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2018

Camped the night and came in for evening meal . Lovely menu. Jess was our waitress , lovely sense of humour and very attentive . Good amazing , hands up for Jess and chef a very enjoyable night xx

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We once again stayed on the lovely camp site 5 minutes from The Three Magpies. This time, we had the family with us. Daughter, son-in-law, grandson 5 and very grumpy granddaughter 3. We reserved a table as a Saturday night. The staff were very helpful and obliging. The little ones played out in the gardens until the food was ordered. When it came it was all excellent. My only comment would be that I wish there was a smaller steak choice on the menu than a 10oz! Excellent but way beyond my capabilities. Son-in-law did help out!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018

We spent two nights at the moorings close to The Three Magpies and ate in the pub on both occasions. The staff are exceptionally friendly and welcoming. They’ll also welcome your dog to a designated area of the pub. The food is lovely and inexpensive. If you get a chance, try the plum and apple crumble – it’s yummy. Oh, and their cheese board is lovely too.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EAClack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Having had this place recommended we were amazed at the rude, boorish and frankly arrogant manner of a barmaid who transpires is the landlady. She was more interested in returning to her glass of white wine and crisps rather than deal with a fairly innocuous query as to what soft drinks they had available in bottles rather than 'the gun'. We did not stay a moment longer and found out through speaking with locals that they avoid this place due to this common behaviour. Wadworth Brewers ought to do something about this to preserve their fine reputation as the Landlady of the Three Magpies brings their reputation into disrepute.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
1  Thank Dougie_Cleeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Magpies also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to Three Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing