We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch ”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #16 of 82 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Country Pub situated in Wiltshire, between Devizes & Marlborough. Caravan & Motorhome club Certified location site in the field behind the pub for members only.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

As ever the service was friendly and efficient in this charming buzzy pub frequented by locals and those that come from further afield. We both had the roast beef and the meal was superb. The vegetables were freshly cooked as where the properly roast potatoes. Most pubs do a roast very very few get to this quality. A must visit.

1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2018

We were walking the Kennett & Avon Canal and decided to go into All Cannings to find the Kings Arms - well worth the diversion - friendly staff with good food and s good range of beers. Genuine local pub with character and another Certified Location (Caravan) to try when next in the area. Sure things would be a bit more hectic when they had one of their music festivals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KirbsSoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

This is my local pub, has been since I moved here, and I am in there every week for a drink, but I think this was the first time I went for dinner. Their main dishes from the blackboard, offered plenty of choices, and 3 of us agreed that their cod with chorizo was delicious. The beef pie also hit the spot. The menu changes frequently, and includes pub staples from local farms, such as beef, sausages, gammon and so on, as well as fish and chips, so all tastes are covered. The pub itself is a warm and friendly local spot, with open fires in winter, and a clientele mainly from the village and surrounds, though proximity to the Kennet and Avon canal means that narrowboaters also pop in, along with Devizes folk and some out of towners. The pub also has a garden and small field behind for the few days in summer when you can sit outside in England, and actually enjoy it. This is a classic village pub - everything you could want really, and my only misgiving about writing this is that it may encourage too many other people to try it out, and perhaps crowd me out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinGinGin2014, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

A group of us from our classic car club met for lunch on Saturday at the Kings Arms and it was lovely. We sat across three tables up on the raised seating area with the nice view over the bar, and the smell of wood smoke was lovely. The steak and ale top crust pie was very nice, as were the locally sourced sausages on creamed mash potatoes and good looking vegetables! The pub is situated on a quiet Country lane in a peaceful village, plenty of room for parking. The staff were very nice too. It's a dog friendly pub which all adds to a nice atmosphere.

3  Thank Linsey_Jane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinGinGin2014, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Walking the Kennet and Avon Canal had us reach All Cannings on lunchtime so the Kings Arms it had to be. This place is a genuine local. We had a very friendly greeting, were promptly served our (much needed) beers and retired to a table to peruse the menu. I had expected to have to order at the bar but lo and behold a young lady quickly arrived at our table to take our order. We were only there for a snack (more walking to be done in the afternoon) but various differently filled ciabatta rolls went down very well and we were given a cheery "Goodbye" on the way out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank W-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinGinGin2014, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing